2025
$4.00
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2025: net income available to common $4,974M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $290M x 0.77 = $223.3M; + after-tax securities losses (19 pretax) $15M; OE=$5,212.3M; diluted shares=1,302.700M; OE/sh=$4.00. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-26-000030.
2024
$3.77
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2024: net income available to common $4,469M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $345M x 0.77 = $265.7M; + after-tax securities repositioning loss (6,651 pretax x 0.77) $5,121M; less after-tax gain on sale of Truist Insurance Holdings $(4,841)M; OE=$5,014.7M; diluted shares=1,331.087M; OE/sh=$3.77. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-26-000030.
2023
$3.78
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2023: net income available to common $-1,452M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $527M x 0.77 = $405.8M; + goodwill impairment (non-cash, non-deductible) $6,078M; OE=$5,031.8M; diluted shares=1,331.963M; OE/sh=$3.78. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-24-000010.
2022
$4.76
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2022: net income available to common $5,927M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $583M x 0.77 = $448.9M; OE=$6,375.9M; diluted shares=1,338.462M; OE/sh=$4.76. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-24-000010.
2021
$4.80
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2021: net income available to common $6,033M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $574M x 0.77 = $442.0M; OE=$6,475.0M; diluted shares=1,349.378M; OE/sh=$4.80. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-23-000034.
2020
$3.47
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2020: net income available to common $4,184M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $685M x 0.77 = $527.5M; OE=$4,711.5M; diluted shares=1,358.289M; OE/sh=$3.47. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-22-000008.
2019
$3.87
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2019: net income available to common $3,028M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $164M x 0.77 = $126.3M; OE=$3,154.3M; diluted shares=815.204M; OE/sh=$3.87. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-21-000032.
2018
$4.04
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 23%. FY2018: net income available to common $3,063M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $131M x 0.77 = $100.9M; OE=$3,163.9M; diluted shares=783.484M; OE/sh=$4.04. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-20-000045.
2017
$2.85
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 33%. FY2017: net income available to common $2,220M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $142M x 0.67 = $95.1M; OE=$2,315.1M; diluted shares=810.977M; OE/sh=$2.85. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-19-000017.
2016
$2.90
▼
Bank basis of OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex: starting from CFO, working-capital lines (LHFS, trading, derivatives, pension asset, tax-credit investments, other assets/liabilities, other net) removed; the credit-loss provision add-back is NOT taken because for a lender loan losses are an operating cost (charge-offs run through investing, not CFO); SBC is already expensed in net income (CFO add-back reversed); premises capex is not separately disclosed after 2022 so maintenance capex is set equal to depreciation (they offset); intangible amortization added back after tax at 33%. FY2016: net income available to common $2,259M (after preferred dividends and NCI); + amortization of intangibles $150M x 0.67 = $100.5M; OE=$2,359.5M; diluted shares=814.916M; OE/sh=$2.90. Source: XBRL from 10-K accession 0000092230-18-000021.
Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.