valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

Corebridge Financial, Inc. (CRBD) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$27.00 ComplexityHigh Updated
$21.50 $77.50
bear $21.50 base $56.00 bull $77.50 margin of safety $27.00 market price* $20.50
Business condition attached to the margin of safety Full-year 2026 operating cash flow, now that the variable annuity business has been handed to another insurer, confirms owner earnings of at least about $2.2 billion; the first half of 2026 showed roughly break-even operating cash flow (-$53 million), which matches the seasonal pattern of prior years only if the second half rebounds as it did in 2025.
Corebridge Financial is a large US retirement and life insurer spun out of AIG (IPO September 2022). It sells fixed and fixed-index annuities, registered index-linked annuities, group retirement plans (VALIC), and life insurance, and earns its money mainly from the spread between what it earns on roughly $300 billion-plus of invested assets and what it credits to policyholders, plus fees. Its largest holders are Nippon Life (about 24.6%), Blackstone (about 12.5%) and AIG (about 10.1%), and in February 2026 Nippon waived the restriction that had limited AIG's ability to sell down its remaining stake. How we measured earnings. Because this is an insurer, interest is a normal cost of doing business, so we valued the cash the owners keep after interest and did not subtract the company's roughly $10.9 billion of debt separately. We started from operating cash flow, removed swings in receivables, payables, taxes and other working-capital items, and deducted stock compensation ($58 to $88 million a year). Capital spending is not reported separately and is immaterial. On that basis owner earnings were about $2.70 billion in 2021, $1.20 billion in 2022 (rate shock, IPO year, large Fortitude Re funds-withheld outflows), $2.54 billion in 2023, $2.32 billion in 2024 and $2.65 billion in 2025. Reported net income is far noisier ($1.0 billion in 2023, $2.2 billion in 2024, a $390 million loss in 2025) because accounting for market risk benefits and the Fortitude Re embedded derivative moves with markets without moving cash; we did not rely on it. As a cross-check, dividends plus buybacks were $2.2 billion, $2.3 billion and $2.6 billion in 2023, 2024 and 2025, closely tracking our owner earnings of $2.5 billion, $2.3 billion and $2.6 billion. The level we used. We measured from 2023 through 2025, the period after the IPO and the accounting change for long-duration contracts, and treated 2022 as a distorted trough and 2021 as a pre-IPO year with one-time Fortitude Re transactions. The median of those three years is about $2.54 billion. We then cut that by about 10% (to about $2.3 billion) for the base case because the company has ceded 100% of its individual variable annuity business (about $50 billion of separate-account and $5 billion of general-account liabilities) to Corporate Solutions Life Reinsurance Company, effective August 1, 2025 for one legal entity and January 2, 2026 for the other, and sold SunAmerica Asset Management to Venerable on January 1, 2026. That business is gone from future earnings but was inside 2025 and earlier. We could not isolate exactly how much cash flow it produced from the filings, so the roughly 10% haircut is our estimate, not a reported number. Last year's owner earnings grew about 14% in total (about 27% per share, helped by buybacks); the base case assumes no growth in year one and a lower level than 2025, so it does not lean on that pace continuing. What we credited. No growth is credited in any case. Sales of new annuities and the company's asset-management build-out are not locked in, and earnings did not rise steadily from 2023 to 2025 ($2.54 billion, $2.32 billion, $2.65 billion). What is credited is the persistence of a very large in-force book of annuities, retirement-plan and life contracts that the company has kept renewing through a decades-long history under AIG and through the 2022 rate shock. Per-share values below use about 448 million shares, reflecting the roughly 52 million shares repurchased in the first half of 2026 (about 446 million shares were outstanding at July 31, 2026), so the shrinking share count is already reflected and is not counted again as growth. Bear case: about $21.50 per share. Owner earnings fall back to roughly $1.1 billion a year, the 2022 level after also losing the variable annuity earnings, and that persists for 10 years before fading to zero over the following 10. This is built from the 2022 record, when rising rates and the Fortitude Re transactions cut owner earnings to $1.2 billion. Business value is about $10.4 billion; the company owes no separately deducted debt under this method; less about $0.7 billion for outside owners' interests in consolidated subsidiaries, leaving about $9.6 billion. Further named exposures live here: $24.1 billion of liabilities ceded to Fortitude Re (a single reinsurer whose failure or dispute would fall back on Corebridge), $6.3 billion of private equity fund holdings, and debt of about $10.9 billion at roughly 5% cost, which the earnings above would still service (interest paid was $584 million in 2025). Base case: about $56 per share. Owner earnings of about $2.3 billion flat for 15 years, then fading to zero over the following 10 years as the in-force book runs off. Business value is about $25.9 billion; less about $0.7 billion of outside interests, leaving about $25.1 billion, or roughly $56 per share. There is no separate debt deduction because interest is already an operating cost. Bull case: about $77.50 per share. Owner earnings of about $2.6 billion, close to the 2025 result, held for 25 years and then fading over 10. This needs nothing beyond the current franchise continuing as it has, with the variable annuity exit costing little. Business value is about $35.5 billion; less $0.7 billion, about $34.7 billion. What we could not fully reconcile and what could make this wrong. First-half 2026 operating cash flow was about negative $53 million against a positive $116 million in the first half of 2025. In 2025 the first half produced only about 6% of the full year, so a weak first half is normal for this company, but two or three more quarters are needed to confirm that the lower earnings base after the variable annuity exit holds. The 2026 buyback pace (about $1.55 billion in the first half) exceeds near-term owner earnings and is funded by capital freed up by the variable annuity transaction and excess holding-company cash, which cannot repeat indefinitely. Statutory capital rules could also mean not all owner earnings are distributable; the close match between owner earnings and actual shareholder payouts in 2023 to 2025 argues against that. Finally, owner earnings are built from operating cash flow that includes large, lumpy reinsurance and funds-withheld flows with Fortitude Re, so a single year can be off by hundreds of millions of dollars.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $4.91 ▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Financial (life/retirement insurer): OE is after interest, no debt subtracted. CFO=$2,021M; working-capital cash effect (premiums/other receivables & payables net +174, current & deferred income taxes net -343, other net -523) = $(692)M so ΔWC removed = -$692M; SBC=$67M; capex not separately reported (immaterial) so maintenance capex=$0; OE=$2,021M+$692M-$67M=$2,646M; diluted shares=539.3M; OE/sh=$4.91. Reconciliation: net loss $(390)M + non-cash items $3,474M + insurance liabilities/reinsurance/DAC/Fortitude Re lines ties exactly to reported CFO. Note year includes 7 months of the variable annuity business later ceded. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001889539-26-000022.
2024 $3.88 ▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Financial (life/retirement insurer): OE is after interest, no debt subtracted. CFO=$2,151M; working-capital cash effect (premiums/other receivables & payables net -167, current & deferred income taxes net +349, other net -412) = $(230)M so ΔWC removed = -$230M; SBC=$58M; capex not separately reported (immaterial) so maintenance capex=$0; OE=$2,151M+$230M-$58M=$2,323M; diluted shares=599.2M; OE/sh=$3.88. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001889539-26-000022 (also FY2024 10-K accession 0001889539-25-000014).
2023 $3.94 ▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Financial (life/retirement insurer): OE is after interest, no debt subtracted. CFO=$3,357M; working-capital cash effect (premiums/other receivables & payables net -265, current & deferred income taxes net -116, other net +1,134) = $753M removed; SBC=$60M; capex not separately reported (immaterial) so maintenance capex=$0; OE=$3,357M-$753M-$60M=$2,544M; diluted shares=645.2M; OE/sh=$3.94. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001889539-26-000022 (also FY2023 10-K accession 0001889539-24-000006).
2022 $1.86 ▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Financial (life/retirement insurer): OE is after interest, no debt subtracted. CFO=$2,621M (restated for LDTI); working-capital cash effect (premiums/other receivables & payables net +40, current & deferred income taxes net +912, other net +390) = $1,342M removed; SBC=$75M; capex not separately reported (immaterial) so maintenance capex=$0; OE=$2,621M-$1,342M-$75M=$1,204M; diluted shares=647.4M; OE/sh=$1.86. Trough year: rate shock, IPO year, $8.5B Fortitude Re funds-held outflow in operating cash flow. Source: FY2023 10-K accession 0001889539-24-000006; SBC and shares FY2022/FY2023 10-K.
2021 $4.19 ▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Financial (life/retirement insurer): OE is after interest, no debt subtracted. CFO=$2,405M (restated for LDTI); working-capital cash effect (premiums/other receivables & payables net +156, current & deferred income taxes net +169, other net -709) = $(384)M so ΔWC removed = -$384M; SBC=$88M; capex not separately reported (immaterial) so maintenance capex=$0; OE=$2,405M+$384M-$88M=$2,701M; diluted shares=645.0M (581.1M Class A + 63.9M Class B); OE/sh=$4.19. Pre-IPO year with Fortitude Re transactions. Source: FY2023 10-K accession 0001889539-24-000006 (restated 2021 cash flow), SBC FY2022 10-K accession 0001889539-23-000003.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States (nationwide, all regions: Northeast, Midwest, South and West; including Texas through VALIC retirement plans and New York through its New York-domiciled life insurer)
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis
Corebridge has been publicly listed only since its September 2022 IPO out of AIG, so its price history is short and a chartist has little multi-year structure to work with. The shares have generally traded in a wide, choppy range rather than a clean trend, with sharp swings around interest-rate moves. Without a full multi-year history, any trend or pattern call should be treated as low-confidence.
Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.