valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

LINCOLN NATIONAL CORP (LNC) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$40.00 ComplexityExtreme Updated
$26.00 $118.70
bear $26.00 base $87.00 bull $118.70 margin of safety $40.00 market price* $39.83
Business condition attached to the margin of safety Lincoln's year-end 2026 statutory filings show its main insurance subsidiary's RBC ratio still at or above the company's stated target after the December 31, 2026 expiry of the negative-IMR capital relief, with no new common equity issued and dividends from the insurance subsidiaries to the holding company of at least $600 million for 2026.
Lincoln National (Lincoln Financial) is a U.S. life insurer with four businesses: Annuities (variable, fixed and indexed annuities), Life Insurance (universal life, including an older block of policies with lifetime secondary guarantees, plus MoneyGuard and term), Group Protection (employer-paid disability, life and dental coverage) and Retirement Plan Services (workplace retirement plans). It earns the spread between what its roughly $143 billion investment portfolio yields and what it credits to policyholders, fees on account values, and underwriting margins on group and life policies. How we measured earnings. A life insurer's operating cash flow is not a useful earnings figure: it swings by billions of dollars a year with reserve, reinsurance and collateral movements. We start instead from net income available to common shareholders, which already charges interest, preferred dividends and stock compensation, and remove, after tax, the non-cash swings from investment gains and losses and from the fair-value remeasurement of annuity guarantees. Those two items largely offset each other through Lincoln's hedging program but can move reported profit by $2 billion to $4 billion in a year. We also removed one-time items: the 2017 tax-reform deferred-tax benefit, goodwill and intangible write-offs, and the cash paid to close the 2023 Fortitude Re reinsurance deal. On this basis the business earned about $1.37 billion in 2016, $1.78 billion in 2017, $1.52 billion in 2018, $1.34 billion in 2019, $0.87 billion in 2020, $1.47 billion in 2021, a loss of $1.27 billion in 2022 (the year of a roughly $2 billion universal-life reserve charge), $0.75 billion in 2023, $0.86 billion in 2024 and $1.35 billion in 2025. Because realized investment losses are excluded, bond defaults show up in this measure only later; that risk is carried in the bear case. Starting point. Today's business is not the business of 2016 to 2021: in 2023 Lincoln reinsured a large block of life and annuity reserves to Fortitude Re, in 2024 it sold its wealth management business, and in June 2025 it sold a 9.9% stake to Bain Capital, lifting the diluted share count to about 196 million. We take the 2023 to 2025 median, $857 million, as the measured level. Earnings rose 57% in 2025, and the first half of 2026 produced about $0.9 billion on the same basis (roughly $0.6 billion in the first quarter and $0.3 billion in the second), so recent results corroborate a level above the median. The base case starts year one at $1.05 billion, a step up far smaller than last year's actual growth and a level the business has already exceeded in 2025 and in the first half of 2026 under current conditions, rather than carrying the strongest recent figures forward. Base case, $87.00 per share (about $17.1 billion): $1.05 billion a year, with runoff of the older life and annuity blocks offset by new business (2025 deposits were $21.1 billion against $12.5 billion of withdrawals), and one further $500 million after-tax reserve or assumption charge in year four, because Lincoln has taken material charges in 2019, 2020 and 2022 and its secondary-guarantee universal-life block is still on the books. The same level continues after year ten, because Lincoln's distribution and underwriting franchise has written new business every year for over a century. No growth is credited: dollar earnings were no higher in 2025 than in 2016. Bear case, $26.00 per share (about $5.9 billion of value spread over roughly 15% more shares): earnings start at $700 million, near the 2021 to 2025 average once the 2022 loss is counted, and shrink 2% a year as the legacy universal-life block ages. In year two a reserve charge the size of 2022's ($1.3 billion after tax) hits. In years four and five a credit cycle modeled on 2008 to 2009, when Lincoln took more than $1 billion of investment losses a year, raised capital from the Treasury and sold common stock at depressed prices, costs $1 billion a year after tax in credit losses on a portfolio now tilted toward private credit and alternative assets through the Bain Capital partnership, with spread and fee earnings 20% lower. Restoring statutory capital through that cycle is assumed to require selling about 15% more shares at trough prices. After year ten earnings keep declining 2% a year. Specific near-term risks reinforce this case: the regulators' temporary permission to count negative interest-maintenance reserves as statutory capital is scheduled to expire on December 31, 2026, and new economic-scenario rules for reserves took effect in 2026 with related capital rules still being finalized. The bear value sits below Lincoln's tangible common book value (about $48 per share at June 30, 2026 including unrealized bond losses), so it does not rely on a franchise premium. Bull case, $118.70 per share (about $23.3 billion): the business sustains $1.4 billion a year, close to the 2025 level and below the first-half 2026 run rate, because Group Protection keeps its recovered margins and positive annuity and retirement-plan flows hold account values, with no further large reserve charges. It is held flat rather than grown, since no expansion is secured. Debt. Borrowing and policyholder liabilities are the raw material of an insurer, so these values are measured after interest and preferred dividends and debt is not subtracted a second time. For reference, Lincoln carried $6.5 billion of long-term debt at June 30, 2026, up from $5.9 billion at year-end 2025, plus preferred stock ahead of the common. The holding company depends on dividends from its insurance subsidiaries, which were $685 million in 2023, $595 million in 2024 and $845 million in 2025, to pay interest, preferred dividends and the common dividend of $1.80 a share (about $345 million a year). What could make this wrong. The key test is whether reported earnings become cash owners can receive. From 2023 to 2025 only roughly $130 million to $420 million a year was left at the holding company after interest and preferred dividends, with the rest retained to rebuild statutory capital after 2022. If that retained capital keeps being absorbed by reserve and capital rule changes instead of being released, value sits much closer to the bear case. The second recurring risk is Lincoln's history of large reserve charges on universal life with secondary guarantees. Since our early-October estimate, the second-quarter 2026 results were added to the picture and the base case now carries an explicit future reserve charge while starting from a slightly higher level that recent quarters support; the bear case now includes a full credit cycle with dilution. Base moved from $84.60 to $87.00, bear from $31.20 to $26.00 and bull from $126.80 to $118.70. Margin-of-safety price. We are moderately sure of the earnings level: three years since the reshaping all landed between $0.75 billion and $1.35 billion, but the measure excludes investment losses and Lincoln has a record of sudden reserve charges, so the range is wide. The worst plausible outcome is a credit cycle hitting a private-credit-heavy portfolio at the same time as a reserve charge and the expiry of the capital relief, forcing equity issuance at a low price; the business would very likely survive it, since its liabilities are long-dated and largely not runnable, but shareholders would be diluted. If we are wrong about earnings holding near $1 billion and about no new charges, the shares are worth something like $40 to $55; if we are wrong about the credit cycle too, about $26. The price assumes a four-to-five-year holding period, and the dividend of $1.80 is about 4.5% a year of the margin-of-safety price. From $40, the base case implies a recovery toward a value in the $70s within four years that, with dividends, works out to roughly 20% a year, and the bear case implies a loss we judge bounded rather than total. Above $40, a single reserve charge or credit loss could consume the margin. Because the capital relief expiry at the end of 2026 is a dated, observable event, the margin-of-safety price of $40 applies only once the year-end 2026 statutory capital picture confirms the capital held up.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $7.25 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). LDTI basis. NI to common=$1,086M (after $91M preferred dividends); realized loss $799M, market risk benefit gain $(372)M, debt-extinguishment gain $(94)M = $333M x 0.79 = $263M; OE=$1,349M; diluted shares=186.06M; OE/sh=$7.25. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000059558-26-000016.
2024 $4.95 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). LDTI basis. NI to common=$3,184M; realized gain $(269)M, market risk benefit gain $(2,677)M = $(2,946)M x 0.79 = $(2,327)M; OE=$857M; diluted shares=173.08M; OE/sh=$4.95. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000059558-26-000016.
2023 $4.41 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). LDTI basis. NI to common=$(834)M; realized loss $4,311M, market risk benefit gain $(2,264)M, deferred-gain amortization $(38)M = $2,009M x 0.79 = $1,587M; one-time Fortitude Re closing operating cash $(1,438)M excluded as non-recurring; OE=$753M; diluted shares=170.74M; OE/sh=$4.41. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000059558-26-000016.
2022 -$7.35 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). LDTI restated basis. NI to common=$1,358M; realized gain $(840)M, market risk benefit gain $(3,246)M, deferred-gain amortization $(42)M = $(4,128)M x 0.79 = $(3,261)M; plus non-cash Group Protection intangible impairment $634M; OE=$(1,269)M (includes the Q3 2022 universal-life assumption-review reserve charge); diluted shares=172.70M; OE/sh=$(7.35). Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000059558-24-000013.
2021 $7.74 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). LDTI restated basis. NI to common=$3,778M; realized loss $867M, market risk benefit gain $(3,753)M, deferred-gain amortization $(38)M = $(2,924)M x 0.79 = $(2,310)M; OE=$1,468M; diluted shares=189.64M; OE/sh=$7.74. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000059558-24-000013.
2020 $4.48 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). Pre-LDTI basis. NI=$499M; realized loss $513M less deferred-gain amortization $41M = $472M x 0.79 = $373M; OE=$872M; diluted shares=194.47M; OE/sh=$4.48. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0000059558-21-000011.
2019 $6.65 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). Pre-LDTI basis. NI=$886M; realized loss $610M less deferred-gain amortization $31M = $579M x 0.79 = $457M; OE=$1,343M; diluted shares=202.11M; OE/sh=$6.65. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0000059558-21-000011.
2018 $6.93 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). Pre-LDTI basis. NI=$1,641M; realized gain $(141)M and deferred-gain amortization $(9)M = $(150)M x 0.79 = $(118)M; OE=$1,522M; diluted shares=219.55M; OE/sh=$6.93. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0000059558-21-000011.
2017 $7.87 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). Pre-LDTI basis. NI=$2,079M; realized loss $170M less deferred-gain amortization $23M = $147M x 0.65 = $96M; plus non-cash Life Insurance goodwill impairment $905M; less one-time Tax Act deferred-tax remeasurement benefit $1,300M; OE=$1,780M; diluted shares=226.22M; OE/sh=$7.87. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0000059558-18-000009.
2016 $5.76 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, applied to a life insurer: CFO less the balance-sheet 'Change in' block (DAC/VOBA, insurance liabilities & reinsurance balances, accrued items, tax accruals, other), trading-securities purchases/sales and one-time transaction cash = net income to common + non-cash investment items, tax-effected at the statutory rate. SBC is already expensed in net income and not added back (charged once). Capex not separately disclosed; depreciation/software amortization left in net income as the maintenance-capex proxy (growth capex = 0). Pre-LDTI basis. NI=$1,192M; realized loss $339M less deferred-gain amortization $73M = $266M pre-tax x 0.65 = $173M; OE=$1,365M; diluted shares=236.83M; OE/sh=$5.76. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0000059558-18-000009.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States, nationwide across the Northeast, Midwest, South and West, including New York through its New York-domiciled insurance subsidiary.
Historical growth strategy
Grew mainly through large acquisitions (Jefferson-Pilot in 2006, Liberty Life's group benefits business in 2018) and broad third-party distribution of annuities and life insurance through brokers, banks and advisers, with heavy share buybacks until 2022; since 2023 the strategy has shifted to repairing capital through reinsurance (Fortitude Re), divesting non-core units (wealth management) and partnering with Bain Capital on investments.
Chart analysis
A chartist would see a long-term downtrend: the stock peaked in the high $80s in early 2018, made a lower high in the mid-$70s in 2021, then broke down sharply in late 2022 after the reserve charge and suspension of buybacks, reaching a multi-year low near $20 in 2023. Since then it has built a base and climbed in a series of higher lows through 2024 to 2026 into the mid-$30s to low-$40s range. A chartist would call this a recovery inside a longer-term downtrend that needs to clear resistance in the mid-$40s, and eventually the 2021 high, to signal a true trend change.
Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of LNC. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.