valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

HORACE MANN EDUCATORS CORP /DE/ (HMN) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$28.00 ComplexityHigh Updated
$36.18 $71.70
bear $36.18 base $61.35 bull $71.70 margin of safety $28.00 market price* $46.33
Horace Mann sells insurance and retirement products to one customer group: America's K-12 teachers and school employees. Through a dedicated agent force and payroll-deduction worksite marketing it writes auto and homeowners cover, individual life insurance, retirement annuities, and, since buying a supplemental-benefits business in 2019 and Madison National Life's group-benefits business in 2022, cancer, accident and group disability cover sold through school districts. The educator focus gives it loyal, repeat customers, but its auto and property book rides the same loss-cost and catastrophe cycle as every personal-lines insurer, and California, Texas, North Carolina, Minnesota and Georgia supply over 40% of premiums, several of them weather-exposed. Earnings measure. We measure what the business actually generates in cash: operating cash flow, minus the swing in insurance reserves and other working capital, minus stock compensation and the cost of maintaining its systems and offices. Horace Mann does not disclose capital spending separately, so we used depreciation of its property and equipment (about $11-13 million a year) as the maintenance figure. On that basis owner earnings per share were $1.14 (2016), $1.22 (2017), $0.26 (2018), $1.59 (2019), $3.94 (2020), $3.70 (2021), $3.03 (2022), $1.66 (2023), $3.92 (2024) and $4.29 (2025). Two judgements matter. First, the 2017 figure excludes a $99 million one-time accounting gain from the federal tax cut. Second, this measure runs above reported net income in most years ($3.90 a share in 2025) because it ignores bond-portfolio gains and losses and paper swings in partnership investments, and it adds back about $14 million a year of amortization on intangible assets bought with the acquisitions. Those intangibles ($134 million remaining at June 2026) are a wasting asset, so rather than treating that add-back as permanent we let earnings fade as it runs off. The reconciliation from net income ties to the dollar in each recent year. Earlier analyses used reported net income as the earnings measure, so prior figures are not comparable. Anchor. We use the median of 2020-2025, $3.81 a share. That window starts after the 2019 acquisition reshaped the company and covers a full personal-lines cycle: a benign 2020, the 2022-2023 surge in auto repair and property claim costs that pushed the auto combined ratio to 119% in 2022, and the rate-driven recovery of 2024-2025. Owner earnings rose 9% in 2025. First-half 2026 results (operating cash flow $285 million vs $272 million a year earlier, net income $82.8 million vs $67.6 million) support the current level. The base case nonetheless starts year one at $4.10, a decline from 2025's $4.29 and below the trailing growth rate. Debt. Horace Mann owes $594 million of senior notes: $300 million at 7.25% due 2028 and $300 million at 4.70% due 2030 (the latter issued in September 2025 to retire 4.50% notes). For an insurer, borrowing is part of the funding structure and its interest is already paid inside the earnings above, so we value earnings after interest and subtract no debt separately. The 2028 maturity is well covered: interest is about $36 million a year against $180 million of owner earnings, and the company refinanced its 2025 notes without difficulty. Base case ($61.35). Earnings of $4.10 and $3.95 in the next two years as the rate increases already earned in mature, then $3.81 for three years, fading to $3.60 by year seven as acquisition intangibles amortize away, and holding there. We credit no growth: premium growth has come from price increases chasing loss costs, and gaining customers among educators is not something the company has shown it can do at a steady, repeatable pace. After year ten the earning power persists because the franchise has lasted: it has served educators for decades, and it absorbed both the 2018 catastrophe year and the 2022-2023 loss-cost cycle without raising equity. Bear case ($36.18). One full loss cycle like the one this book has actually been through, arriving early: year one $3.60, then two years at roughly zero to $0.50 a share, modelled on the 2022-2023 episode, when reported earnings fell to $0.47 and $1.09 a share. On top of that comes a credit cycle on the $5.7 billion bond portfolio, with losses of about 1% of the portfolio (around $57 million pre-tax, roughly $1.10 a share after tax). Earnings then recover only to $2.35 a share, below the ten-year average of $2.48, and stay there. This bear value sits slightly above reported tangible book value of about $32 a share but below roughly $38 once the temporary market-value loss on bonds held to maturity is added back. In the 2022 trough the company stayed adequately capitalized and paid its dividend without issuing shares, which is why we do not model dilution. Bull case ($71.70). Rate adequacy holds: $4.40 a share for two years, then the 2025 level of $4.29 is sustained with no new loss cycle within the decade. No market expansion or margin expansion beyond what has already been achieved is assumed. Margin-of-safety price. Our confidence in the earnings level is moderate. The cash measure is clean and reconciles, but it has swung from $0.26 to $4.29 a share within eight years, and the three best years are the most recent. The worst plausible outcome is a severe catastrophe year in Texas or the Southeast landing on top of another loss-cost surge and a bond-credit cycle. Even that does not threaten survival: debt is modest relative to capital, maturities are staggered to 2028 and 2030, and the bond portfolio is mostly investment grade. The things we are most likely to be wrong about are whether the 2024-2025 margin recovery is permanent and how quickly the next cycle comes. If both go the wrong way, the shares are worth something like the bear case, in the mid-$30s. The dividend pays about $1.40 a share a year during the holding period, and the price assumes value is recognized within about three years. The margin-of-safety price is set where the bear-case value, plus three years of dividends, still implies a 20% annual return without relying on the base case. That is $28 a share, below tangible book value, so the price itself allows for the next bad underwriting cycle. What would make this wrong: a structural rise in catastrophe frequency in its core states that permanently lifts property losses above what rate increases can recover; losing the payroll-deduction and school-district access its distribution depends on; or a material reserve shortfall in the group and supplemental books acquired since 2019.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $4.29 ▼
Recomputed on the current CFO basis (prior record used net income, a superseded basis). OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$553.2M; dWC=$352.3M (insurance liabilities +125.3, amounts due under reinsurance +5.8, income tax liabilities +2.1, other operating assets/liabilities +219.1); SBC=$10.2M; capex not separately disclosed (inside 'Other, net' investing), proxied by P&E depreciation (D&A $27.1M less intangible amortization $14.3M) = $12.8M; capex ratio 0.64% of revenue (10-yr mean); revenue +$106.2M so growth capex $0.7M, maintenance capex=$12.1M; OE=$178.6M; diluted shares=41.6M; OE/sh=$4.29. Reconciliation: NI $162.1M + inv losses $13.0M + D&A $27.1M - equity-method income $5.0M - pension contribution $3.8M - other $2.7M - maint capex $12.1M = $178.6M, ties exactly. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000850141-26-000007.
2024 $3.92 ▼
Recomputed on the current CFO basis (prior record used net income, a superseded basis). OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$452.1M; dWC=$268.1M (insurance liabilities +82.8, amounts due under reinsurance +55.7, income tax liabilities +28.2, other operating assets/liabilities +101.4); SBC=$9.9M; capex proxy = P&E depreciation (D&A $26.4M less intangible amortization $14.5M) = $11.9M; revenue +$103.3M x 0.64% = growth capex $0.7M, maintenance capex=$11.2M; OE=$162.9M; diluted shares=41.5M; OE/sh=$3.92. Reconciliation: NI $102.8M + inv losses $17.3M + D&A $26.4M + equity-method loss $35.5M - pension contribution $1.4M - other $6.5M - maint capex $11.2M = $162.9M, ties. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000850141-26-000007.
2023 $1.66 ▼
Recomputed on the current CFO basis (prior record used net income, a superseded basis). OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$302.1M; dWC=$213.1M (insurance liabilities +186.7, amounts due under reinsurance -12.5, income tax liabilities -15.0, other operating assets/liabilities +53.9); SBC=$9.5M; capex proxy = P&E depreciation (D&A $26.2M less intangible amortization $14.8M) = $11.4M; revenue +$110.3M x 0.64% = growth capex $0.7M, maintenance capex=$10.7M; OE=$68.8M; diluted shares=41.4M; OE/sh=$1.66. Reconciliation: NI $45.0M + inv losses $24.0M + D&A $26.2M - equity-method income $14.5M - other $1.2M - maint capex $10.7M = $68.8M, ties. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000850141-26-000007.
2022 $3.03 ▼
Recomputed on the current CFO basis (prior record used net income, a superseded basis). OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$171.5M; dWC=$25.5M per LDTI-restated presentation (insurance liabilities +334.2, amounts due under reinsurance -309.8, income tax liabilities +110.5, other operating assets/liabilities -109.4); SBC=$8.9M; capex proxy = P&E depreciation (D&A $27.6M less intangible amortization $16.8M) = $10.8M; revenue +$52.3M x 0.64% = growth capex $0.3M, maintenance capex=$10.5M; OE=$126.6M; diluted shares=41.8M; OE/sh=$3.03. Reconciliation: NI $19.8M + inv losses $56.5M + D&A $27.6M + equity-method loss $18.2M + goodwill impairment $4.8M + other $10.2M - maint capex $10.5M = $126.6M, ties. Note: reported NI was depressed by the auto/property loss-cost surge (auto combined ratio 119%), but the cash reserve build ran through insurance liabilities and is therefore removed with working capital; the cash figure overstates trough-year earning power and the valuation treats 2022-2023 together. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0001628280-24-007168.
2021 $3.70 ▼
Recomputed on the current CFO basis (prior record used net income, a superseded basis; whole series recomputed for consistency). OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$204.9M; dWC=$35.2M per LDTI-restated presentation (insurance liabilities +114.5, amounts due under reinsurance +7.4, income tax liabilities -91.2, other operating assets/liabilities +4.5); SBC=$8.4M; capex not separately disclosed, proxied by P&E depreciation (D&A $18.4M less intangible amortization $13.0M) = $5.4M; capex ratio 0.64% of revenue; revenue +$18.9M so growth capex $0.1M, maintenance capex=$5.3M; OE=$156.0M; diluted shares=42.2M; OE/sh=$3.70. Reconciliation: restated NI $170.4M + inv losses $11.0M + D&A $18.4M - equity-method income $41.5M + other $3.0M - maint capex $5.3M = $156.0M, ties. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0001628280-24-007168.
2020 $3.94 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$259.8M; dWC=$78.8M (accrued investment income -1.6, insurance liabilities +69.9, reinsurance recoverables +1.6, income tax liabilities +8.3, other operating assets/liabilities +0.6); SBC=$6.7M; capex proxy = P&E depreciation (D&A $23.4M less intangible amortization $14.4M) = $9.0M; revenue declined $120.1M so growth capex=$0 and maintenance capex=$9.0M; OE=$165.3M; diluted shares=42.0M; OE/sh=$3.94. 2020 auto results benefited from reduced pandemic driving. Source: FY2021 10-K, accession 0001628280-22-003979.
2019 $1.59 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$127.6M; dWC=$48.3M (accrued investment income +46.9, insurance liabilities -96.8, reinsurance recoverables +22.0, income tax liabilities +28.8, other operating assets/liabilities +47.4); SBC=$7.3M; capex proxy = P&E depreciation (D&A $15.6M less intangible amortization $8.8M) = $6.8M, growth capex $1.5M (revenue +$238.9M incl. realized gains x 0.64%), maintenance capex=$5.3M; OE=$66.7M; diluted shares=41.9M; OE/sh=$1.59. Note NI of $184.4M included $153.3M pretax realized investment gains (sale of equity securities) which CFO correctly excludes. NTA supplemental business acquired mid-2019. Source: FY2021 10-K, accession 0001628280-22-003979 (latest presentation of FY2019).
2018 $0.26 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$200.9M; dWC=$174.4M per latest presentation (accrued investment income +4.4, insurance liabilities +203.4, premium receivables -10.0, DAC -0.8, reinsurance recoverables -21.3, income tax liabilities -3.4, other operating assets/liabilities +2.0); SBC=$8.3M; capex proxy (P&E depreciation) $7.4M, growth capex $0.1M (revenue +$20.0M x 0.64%), maintenance capex=$7.2M; OE=$11.0M; diluted shares=41.89M; OE/sh=$0.26. 2018 was a heavy catastrophe-loss year (NI $18.3M, diluted EPS $0.44). Reconciliation: NI $18.3M + net investment losses $12.5M + D&A $7.4M - premium amortization $10.1M - other $5.9M - maint capex $7.2M = ~$15M vs OE+SBC basis, within tolerance given goodwill items. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001628280-20-002596.
2017 $1.22 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex - non-recurring non-cash gain. CFO=$256.6M; dWC=$92.1M per latest presentation (accrued investment income -3.4, insurance liabilities +119.3, premium receivables -12.9, DAC -8.0, reinsurance +0.0, income tax liabilities -4.6, other operating assets/liabilities +1.7); SBC=$8.6M; capex proxy (P&E depreciation) $6.6M, growth capex $0.3M (revenue +$42.6M x 0.64%), maintenance capex=$6.3M; less $99.0M non-cash net income benefit from remeasurement of the deferred tax liability under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (included in NI and not removed by any reconciliation line); OE=$50.5M; diluted shares=41.57M; OE/sh=$1.22. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001628280-20-002596 (latest presentation of FY2017), DTL benefit per FY2017 10-K accession 0001628280-18-002567.
2016 $1.14 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (recomputed on current CFO basis, replacing earlier net-income-basis series). CFO=$211.4M; dWC=$149.4M (accrued investment income -2.2, accrued expenses +4.4, insurance liabilities +176.3, premium receivables -11.5, DAC -15.9, reinsurance recoverables -0.5, income tax liabilities -1.3); SBC=$8.1M; capex not separately disclosed (inside 'Other, net' investing) so proxied by property & equipment depreciation of $6.9M (net P&E roughly flat ~$65-75M over the decade); capex ratio 0.64% of revenue; revenue +$48.5M so growth capex=$0.3M, maintenance capex=$6.6M; OE=$47.4M; diluted shares=41.48M; OE/sh=$1.14. Reconciliation: NI $83.8M + D&A $6.9M + other non-cash - maint capex ties within tolerance. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0001628280-19-002351 (latest filing carrying FY2016 cash flow).

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States, concentrated in K-12 educator households nationwide; largest states California (15.4% of direct premiums), Texas (9.2%), North Carolina (7.6%), Minnesota (6.2%) and Georgia (4.9%), spanning the West, South and Midwest.
Historical growth strategy
Grows by deepening its niche with US K-12 educators: selling more products per household through a dedicated agent force and worksite marketing, raising auto and homeowners rates when loss costs rise, and adding adjacent educator-focused businesses by acquisition, notably the supplemental benefits business bought in 2019 and the group benefits business (Madison National Life) bought in 2022.
Chart analysis
A chartist would describe HMN as a long, range-bound stock: it spent most of the last decade oscillating roughly between the low $30s and mid $40s, with sharp breaks lower in the 2020 shutdown and again through the 2022-2023 auto loss-cost squeeze, each time recovering back into the range. The rally from the 2023 lows into 2025-2026 retested the upper half of that band; a chartist would watch whether price can hold above the old mid-$40s ceiling, which would signal a breakout from a multi-year base, or whether it again fails there and drifts back toward support in the mid-$30s.
Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of HMN. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.