valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

ACRES Commercial Realty Corp. (ACR) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$5.00 ComplexityHigh Updated
-$5.12 $12.73
bear -$5.12 base $3.06 bull $12.73 margin of safety $5.00 market price* $10.40
Business condition attached to the margin of safety Two consecutive quarters in which net income left for common shareholders is positive without help from property sale gains or credit-reserve releases. That would show that lending income covers the preferred dividends, the co-investor's share and the manager's fees.
ACRES Commercial Realty is a real estate investment trust that lends to owners of U.S. commercial property. Most of its loans are short-term, floating-rate first mortgages on buildings that are being renovated or filled with tenants. An outside manager, ACRES Capital, runs the company for a base fee of 1.5% a year on equity plus a possible incentive fee. At the end of 2025 the loan book was about $1.8 billion: 81.9% apartment buildings, 12.7% office, 3.2% hotels, and the rest mixed-use and self-storage. The loans are spread across the Southwest, Southeast, Pacific, Mountain, Mid-Atlantic and Northeast regions. The company also owns real estate, much of it taken back from borrowers, and has been selling it. How we measure earnings. A lender's cash flow statement is dominated by money going out as loans and coming back as repayments, so we measure what the common shareholder earns directly. That is net income left after preferred dividends and after the profit that belongs to outside partners. Credit losses and stock compensation count as real costs. We do not add back depreciation on the owned property, and we treat gains from selling property as real but limited to the property still left to sell. On this basis, earnings per common share were $1.97 in 2021, -$0.76 in 2022, $0.46 in 2023, $1.31 in 2024 and $0.14 in 2025. Before July 2020 the company had a different manager and a different portfolio, and 2020 lost $19.33 a share. The problem is what sits under those figures. The 2024 and 2025 profits came from one-off items. In 2024 there was an $8.6 million gain on converting real estate plus $7.5 million of property sale gains. In 2025 there were $11.7 million of property sale gains and a $7.7 million release of credit reserves. Without those items, common shareholders lost money in both years. Three things drive this: - The $232.7 million of preferred stock costs about $21 million a year, and it is paid before common shareholders. It comes in two series: the 8.625% Series C, now floating-rate, and the 7.875% Series D. - Net interest income fell from $56.7 million in 2023 to $33.2 million in 2025. Meanwhile overhead (administrative costs, management fees and stock compensation) stayed near $20 million a year, and the owned real estate lost about $4.7 million a year. - In October 2025 an investment fund linked to the manager paid $125.0 million for a 43.2% stake in the entity that holds a large part of the loan book. That partner's share of profit was $5.8 million in the first half of 2026. In the first half of 2026, net interest income recovered to $19.8 million, up from $14.2 million a year earlier. Even so, common shareholders lost $13.5 million, or $2.04 a share. That loss includes an unusually large $4.9 million stock compensation charge and higher other costs in the second quarter, which we could not explain from the filings available. Results have been negative for several quarters for reasons that look lasting, so we did not use the older, gain-supported level of earnings. How we value it. The company has paid no common dividend in 2023, 2024, 2025 or the first half of 2026. We therefore value the common shares at what their equity will be worth after ten years of projected profits or losses, discounted at 6% a year. The loans are short-term and repay principal, so we treat the equity left at the end as recoverable. The starting point is common equity of about $180.6 million, or $25.33 a share, at June 30, 2026, after deducting the preferred stock's $25-per-share liquidation value. Base case, $3.06 a share. Net interest income is about $45 million a year, reflecting the larger loan book already on the balance sheet at mid-2026. Overhead and property costs are about $26.5 million, the partner's share is $12.5 million and preferred dividends are $20.5 million. The remaining owned real estate is sold and the money lent out again, adding about $5 million a year once done. We add a few million dollars of sale gains over the next two years and about $5 million a year of credit losses, in line with 2022-2025 provisions. Common shareholders still lose about $2 a share a year, and equity per share falls from $25.33 to about $5.49 by 2036. Bear case, -$5.12 a share. Net interest income stays at the first-half 2026 pace of about $40 million, and costs stay at first-half 2026 levels. Credit losses run near $8 million a year for three years as the problem loans are resolved. At year-end 2025, three loans totaling $59.1 million were in payment default and two loans totaling $37.9 million were past maturity. Two modified loans totaling $125.7 million were rated 4 on the company's risk scale, with part of their interest deferred until payoff. Accrued interest receivable nearly doubled to $27.2 million during 2025, partly because of that deferred interest. On this path, losses use up all common equity within about seven years, and the company would end up owing preferred holders about $65 million more than it has. In today's money, the common shares appear to owe more than they are worth by about $5.12 a share. Bull case, $12.73 a share. Net interest income rises to about $52 million as the loan book keeps growing. In 2025 the company made 15 loans with $757.3 million of commitments, and it earned $56.7 million of net interest income in 2023. Costs return to their 2023-2025 level, the owned real estate is sold and the money lent out again, and credit losses stay modest. Common shareholders roughly break even, and equity per share stays near $22.80. Even the bull case is worth about half of book value. As it is set up today, the business does not earn enough to cover the preferred dividends, the partner's share and the manager's fees. We could be wrong if lending income rises enough to cover those claims, if the floating-rate Series C preferred is replaced with cheaper money, or if credit losses exceed the $21.1 million reserve held at mid-2026. The company issued $150.0 million of 5.75% senior notes in 2021 that came due in 2026. We could not confirm from the available filings how they were repaid, and more expensive replacement debt would lower results. The margin-of-safety price is $5.00, and it applies only after the business shows two consecutive quarters of profit for common shareholders without help from property sale gains or reserve releases. If that happens, the bull case becomes the relevant value.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $0.14 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends $21,077K and NCI $6,660K; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$239K (includes $11.7M real-estate sale gain and $7.7M credit-reserve release); intangible amortization=$767K; OE=$1,006K; diluted shares=7,412,911; OE/sh=$0.14. CFO was $4.1M (gap vs earnings: sale gains in investing, non-cash reserve release, $12.6M rise in accrued interest incl. deferred interest on modified loans). Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001193125-26-098916.
2024 $1.31 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$9,123K (includes $8.6M gain on conversion of real estate, $7.5M real-estate sale gain, $4.8M credit provision); intangible amortization=$1,257K; OE=$10,380K; diluted shares=7,924,903; OE/sh=$1.31. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001193125-26-098916.
2023 $0.46 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$2,968K (includes $10.9M credit provision, $0.7M real-estate sale gain); intangible amortization=$998K; OE=$3,966K; diluted shares=8,566,058; OE/sh=$0.46. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001193125-26-098916.
2022 -$0.76 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$(8,799)K (includes $12.3M credit provision); intangible amortization=$2,100K; OE=$(6,699)K; diluted shares=8,811,761; OE/sh=$(0.76). Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000950170-24-027462.
2021 $1.97 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$18,036K (includes $21.3M credit-reserve release and $9.0M debt-extinguishment loss); intangible amortization=$1,200K; OE=$19,236K; diluted shares=9,763,217; OE/sh=$1.97. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000950170-24-027462.
2020 -$19.33 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains/losses included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$(208,063)K (2020 securities-portfolio liquidation losses and $30.8M credit provision; manager changed to ACRES July 2020); intangible amortization=$47K; OE=$(208,016)K; diluted shares=10,763,261; OE/sh=$(19.33). Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001564590-21-012662.
2019 $2.43 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$25,616K; intangible amortization not separately reported=$0; OE=$25,616K; diluted shares=10,556,785; OE/sh=$2.43. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001564590-21-012662.
2018 $0.67 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$6,973K; intangible amortization not separately reported=$0; OE=$6,973K; diluted shares=10,461,034 (split-adjusted); OE/sh=$0.67. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001564590-21-012662.
2017 $0.55 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and NCI; SBC and credit provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction. NI to common=$5,677K; intangible amortization not separately reported=$0; OE=$5,677K; diluted shares 31,075,787 pre-split = 10,358,596 after 1-for-3 reverse split; OE/sh=$0.55. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0001332551-18-000009.
2016 -$5.20 ▼
Financial-company basis (commercial mortgage REIT; CFO dominated by lending flows): OE = net income allocable to common (after preferred dividends and non-controlling interests; SBC and credit-loss provisions kept as costs; realized gains included; real-estate depreciation not added back, used as maintenance proxy) + amortization of acquired intangibles; no growth-capital deduction (common equity did not grow). NI to common=$(52,956)K; intangible amortization not separately reported=$0; OE=$(52,956)K; diluted shares 30,539,369 pre-split = 10,179,790 after 1-for-3 reverse split; OE/sh=$(5.20). Prior external manager era. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0001332551-18-000009.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States only. By loan balance at year-end 2025: South (Southwest and Southeast regions, including Texas, Florida, Georgia and South Carolina) about 45%; West (Pacific and Mountain regions, including California and Arizona) about 26%; Mid-Atlantic and Northeast about 21%; Midwest (East North Central and West North Central) about 8%.
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.