2025
-$0.25
▼
From the printed cash flow statement (FY2025 10-K): NI=-$285,886K; CFO=-$19,618K. CFO included a one-time cash payment of $152,869K of accreted interest on the senior secured notes due 2026, paid in connection with redeeming/refinancing those notes this year (a lump catch-up of interest that had accreted since the 2023 note exchange, not a recurring annual cash cost) - this was added back for normalization: normalized CFO=-19,618+152,869=$133,251K. Other reconciling items (D&A $261,923K, net amortization of debt discount $77,942K, loss on debt modification $42,526K, impairment of assets $165,702K, gain on sale of properties -$117,730K, gain on insurance recoveries -$7,522K, equity in net earnings of investees -$36,760K, and other smaller non-cash items) reconcile CFO to net income and required no further adjustment. Working-capital movement removed (other assets -$2,653K + accrued interest +$7,591K + other liabilities +$32,639K) = +$37,577K. SBC=$3,411K. Maintenance spend = real estate improvements $146,823K + deferred leasing costs $4,313K = $151,136K, treated in full as maintenance (DHC remained a net seller of real estate; revenue growth this year reflects occupancy recovery at existing senior-living communities, not portfolio expansion). OE=133,251-37,577-3,411-151,136=-$58,873K. Diluted shares=240,286K. OE/sh=-$0.25. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001075415-26-000013. First full year with the elevated post-pandemic renovation capital program clearly declining ($235M in 2023 to $147M in 2025); used as the primary valuation anchor given the ongoing recovery trend.
2024
-$0.44
▼
From the printed cash flow statement (FY2025 10-K, 3-yr comparative): NI=-$370,255K; CFO=$112,223K (reconciling items include D&A $284,957K, net amortization of debt discount $103,437K, impairment of assets $70,734K, loss on sale of properties $18,938K, deferred leasing costs -$3,578K, other assets +$16,672K, accrued interest +$245K, other liabilities -$6,521K, and other smaller non-cash items). Working-capital movement removed (other assets + accrued interest + other liabilities) = +$10,396K. SBC=$2,747K. Maintenance spend = real estate improvements $201,702K + deferred leasing costs $3,578K = $205,280K, treated in full as maintenance (net seller of real estate). OE=112,223-10,396-2,747-205,280=-$106,200K. Diluted shares=239,535K. OE/sh=-$0.44. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001075415-26-000013 (comparative-year data).
2023
-$0.91
▼
From the printed cash flow statement (FY2025 10-K, 3-yr comparative): NI=-$293,572K; CFO=$10,483K (reconciling items: D&A $284,083K, net amortization of debt discount/issuance costs $11,811K, loss on debt modification $2,468K, impairment of assets $18,380K, gain on sale of properties -$1,205K, straight-line rent $1,095K, other small non-cash items, equity in net losses of investees $20,461K, deferred leasing costs -$9,834K, other assets +$10,672K, accrued interest -$6,570K, other liabilities -$22,106K). Working-capital movement removed (other assets + accrued interest + other liabilities) = -$18,004K. SBC=$1,840K. Maintenance spend = real estate improvements $235,007K + deferred leasing costs $9,834K = $244,841K, treated in full as maintenance (DHC was a net seller of real estate this year, not expanding). OE=10,483+18,004-1,840-244,841=-$218,194K. Diluted shares=238,836K. OE/sh=-$0.91. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001075415-26-000013 (comparative-year data).
2022
-$1.47
▼
CFO=-$40,353K. WC movement (other assets +$10,946K netted with other liabilities -$1,007K) = +$9,939K (removed). SBC=$0 (immaterial/not separately disclosed). Capex=$299,387K (peak post-pandemic renovation/repositioning spending), treated in full as maintenance since the company was a net seller of real estate (shrinking portfolio), not expanding. OE=-40,353-9,939-299,387=-$349,679K. Diluted shares=238,314K. OE/sh=-$1.47. Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001075415-23-000008. Trough year; not used in the valuation anchor.
2021
-$1.00
▼
CFO=-$63,323K. WC movement (other assets -$51,201K netted with other liabilities -$868K) = -$52,069K (removed). SBC=$0 (immaterial/not separately disclosed). Capex=$227,605K, treated in full as maintenance. OE=-63,323+52,069-227,605=-$238,859K. Diluted shares=237,967K. OE/sh=-$1.00. Source: FY2021 10-K, accession 0001075415-22-000007. Depth of the pandemic-driven senior-living downturn; not used in the valuation anchor.
2020
-$0.09
▼
CFO=$158,544K. WC movement (other assets -$27,858K netted with other liabilities +$22,660K) = -$5,198K (removed). SBC=$0 (immaterial/not separately disclosed). Capex=$185,585K, treated in full as maintenance. OE=158,544+5,198-185,585=-$21,843K. Diluted shares=237,739K. OE/sh=-$0.09. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001075415-21-000005. First full pandemic year; senior-living occupancy collapse; not used in the valuation anchor.
2019
$0.35
▼
CFO=$265,845K. WC movement (other assets +$12,267K netted with other liabilities -$52,422K) = -$40,155K (removed). SBC=$0 (immaterial/not separately disclosed). Capex=$222,417K, treated in full as maintenance (a large step-up in real estate improvement spending began this year). OE=265,845+40,155-222,417=$83,583K. Diluted shares=237,604K. OE/sh=$0.35. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001075415-20-000009. Not used in the valuation anchor (predates the pandemic-driven SHOP repositioning).
2018
$1.24
▼
CFO=$392,840K. WC movement (other assets -$3,586K netted with other liabilities -$1,513K) = -$5,099K (removed). SBC=$0 (immaterial/not separately disclosed). Capex=$103,804K, treated in full as maintenance. OE=392,840+5,099-103,804=$294,135K. Diluted shares=237,546K. OE/sh=$1.24. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0001075415-19-000013. Pre-SHOP-conversion era; not used in the valuation anchor.
2017
$1.09
▼
CFO=$419,304K (restated from originally reported $407,050K). WC movement (other assets -$5,197K netted with other liabilities +$48,072K) = +$42,875K (removed). SBC=$0 (not separately disclosed/immaterial). Capex=$117,213K, treated in full as maintenance. OE=419,304-42,875-117,213=$259,216K. Diluted shares=237,452K. OE/sh=$1.09. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0001075415-19-000013. Pre-SHOP-conversion triple-net-lease era; not used in the valuation anchor.
2016
$1.37
▼
CFO=$424,481K (restated; originally reported $426,807K). Working-capital movement (change in other operating assets -$1,548K netted with other operating liabilities +$992K) = -$556K (removed). SBC not separately disclosed/immaterial, treated as $0. Capex (real estate improvements)=$99,663K, treated in full as maintenance capex (pre-SHOP-conversion, triple-net-lease era; data doesn't support a reliable growth/maintenance split this far back). OE=424,481+556-99,663=$325,374K. Diluted shares=237,382K. OE/sh=$1.37. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0001075415-19-000013 (restated CFO), original FY2016 10-K accession 0001075415-17-000007. This predates the company's 2020-era conversion to a SHOP (senior-housing-operating) structure and describes a different, then triple-net-leased business; not used as part of the valuation anchor.
Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.