valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

MPLX LP (MPLX) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$31.00 ComplexityAverage Updated
$33.90 $58.00
bear $33.90 base $44.40 bull $58.00 margin of safety $31.00 market price* $58.16
MPLX owns pipelines, terminals, storage, and natural gas gathering, processing and fractionation assets. It is controlled by Marathon Petroleum (MPC), which owned about 64% of the units at the end of 2025 and supplied 48% of revenue in 2025, mostly through the crude oil and products logistics segment. That segment is built on long-term, fee-based contracts with minimum volume commitments, so MPLX is paid even if MPC ships less than it promised. The natural gas and NGL segment is centered in the Marcellus, Utica and Southwest (Permian) regions. How we measured earnings. We start from cash from operations ($5.9 billion in 2025), remove swings in working capital, subtract equity compensation (not reported as a separate line in the cash flow statement, so treated as zero), and subtract maintenance spending. Growth spending is estimated by applying the company's own spending-to-revenue ratio to revenue growth; everything else counts as maintenance. That approach is deliberately harsh here: it treats about $1.7 billion of 2025 spending as maintenance, while the company itself reports maintenance spending of only about $252 million (growth spending was about $2.0 billion, including investments in joint ventures). We kept the stricter method for consistency, so our figures are conservative. The result is owner earnings per unit of $4.32 (2021), $4.17 (2022), $4.32 (2023), $4.63 (2024) and $4.06 (2025). We use the median of these five years, $4.32, as the starting level. Earlier years reflect a much smaller partnership before the 2019 Andeavor Logistics merger and are not used. The 2020 figure ($2.98) is not used either because it reflects pandemic-year volumes. Growth check. Owner earnings per unit fell about 12% in 2025, mainly because we count the year's heavy capital spending (including Permian expansion) as maintenance while revenue grew only modestly. We do not assume that decline reverses; the base case starts at the five-year median with no growth. Depreciation and amortization ($1.35 billion) is added back through cash flow; because pipelines and processing plants need constant reinvestment, we deduct maintenance spending in full and give no credit for growth beyond what is secured. Base case: about $44 per unit. Owner earnings stay flat at $4.32 per unit for ten years, then fade to zero over the following 15 years. The support for durability is the take-or-pay contracts with MPC, contractual annual fee escalators on refining logistics assets (cited in the 2025 results) and a record of maintaining these assets from operating cash flow. We give no credit for the Northwind Midstream sour gas treating business (bought for $2.4 billion in August 2025, with expansion projects targeting over 400 MMcf/d by the second half of 2026) or for the BANGL pipeline (bought in July 2025 for $703 million plus an earnout of up to $275 million), because the filing does not give the earnings they will add. Those purchases were financed largely with debt, and long-term debt rose to $24.2 billion from $19.3 billion, so their interest cost is only partly in 2025 results. We treat the two as roughly offsetting. Bull case: about $58 per unit. The acquisitions and expansions already paid for contribute a full year, and fee escalators and rising use of existing capacity (for example, Utica gathering was 68% utilized and Southwest gathering 56% at the end of 2025) lift owner earnings 3% a year for ten years, followed by a 20-year fade to zero. Bear case: about $34 per unit. Owner earnings drop to $3.60 per unit, below 2025's $4.06, reflecting a full year of interest on the new debt and the November 2025 sale of the Rockies gathering and processing operations for about $980 million. They hold there for ten years, then fade to zero over ten years as MPC-dependent contracts (48% of revenue) are not assumed to be renewed on the same terms. What could make this wrong. MPLX depends heavily on one customer that also controls it. The debt load raises risk if rates stay high. The cost estimates rely on our capital-spending method, which we believe is conservative but could understate true earnings by more than $1 billion a year if the company's own maintenance figures hold. Cash flows from the latest quarterly report (June 2026) were not incorporated. The figures above describe value per unit and do not reflect the market price.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $4.06 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$5,909M; WC movement (sum of 'Changes in' lines: receivables 48, inventories -26, current liabs -12, related parties 126, ROU 3, deferred revenue -74, other -1)=+$64M inflow removed; SBC not separately reported in cash flow (treated as $0, immaterial); capex=$1,808M; capex ratio=9.82% (mean capex/revenue 2020-2025); growth capex=9.82% x revenue change $1,065M=$104.6M; maintenance capex (formula)=$1,703.4M; OE=$4,141.6M; diluted units=1,019M; OE/unit=$4.06. Filing-disclosed maintenance capex is only $252M; formula used per methodology. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001552000-26-000009.
2024 $4.63 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$5,946M; WC movement=+$246M inflow removed (receivables 180, inventories -20, current liabs 5, related parties 84, ROU -3, deferred revenue -5, other 5); SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$1,056M; capex ratio=9.82% (mean 2020-2025); growth capex=9.82% x revenue change $652M=$64.0M; maintenance capex=$992.0M; OE=$4,708M; diluted units=1,017M; OE/unit=$4.63. Source: FY2025 10-K (FY2024 column), accession 0001552000-26-000009; FY2024 10-K 0001552000-25-000012.
2023 $4.32 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$5,397M; WC movement=+$130M inflow removed (receivables 14, inventories -19, current liabs -17, related parties 84, deferred revenue 107, other -39); SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$937M; revenue declined ($11,281M vs $11,613M) so growth capex=$0 and maintenance capex=$937M; OE=$4,330M; diluted units=1,002M; OE/unit=$4.32. Source: FY2025 10-K (FY2023 column), accession 0001552000-26-000009.
2022 $4.17 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$5,019M; WC movement=+$155M inflow removed (receivables 14, inventories -5, payables/accrued -33, related parties 40, other op -3, deferred revenue 108, all other 34); SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$806M; capex ratio=9.82% (mean 2020-2025); growth capex=9.82% x revenue change $1,586M=$155.7M; maintenance capex=$650.3M; OE=$4,213.7M; diluted units=1,010M; OE/unit=$4.17. Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001552000-23-000008.
2021 $4.32 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$4,911M; WC movement=+$183M inflow removed (receivables -199, inventories -24, payables/accrued 193, related parties 101, other op -2, deferred revenue 88, all other 26); SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$529M; capex ratio=9.82%; growth capex=9.82% x revenue change $2,458M=$241.4M; maintenance capex=$287.6M; OE=$4,440.4M; diluted units=1,027M; OE/unit=$4.32. Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001552000-23-000008.
2020 $2.98 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$4,521M; WC movement=+$204M inflow removed (receivables 62, inventories -12, payables/accrued 36, related parties 8, other op -5, deferred revenue 112, all other 3); SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$1,183M; revenue declined ($7,569M vs $9,041M) so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$1,183M; OE=$3,134M; diluted units=1,051M; OE/unit=$2.98. Goodwill/intangible impairment of $2,165M is non-cash and already excluded from CFO. Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001552000-23-000008.
2019 $2.76 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$4,082M (as recast for common-control drop-downs); WC movement=-$99M (outflow, added back; receivables 17, inventories -9, derivatives 2, payables -59, related parties -163, ROU 4, deferred revenue 100, other 9); SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$2,408M; capex ratio=35.99% (mean 2016-2019, pre-Andeavor-Logistics-merger era); growth capex=35.99% x revenue change $2,036M=$732.7M; maintenance capex=$1,675.3M; OE=$2,505.7M; diluted units=907M; OE/unit=$2.76. Different business scale than today; not used in anchor. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001552000-20-000007.
2018 $2.78 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$3,071M (recast for common-control drop-downs, while diluted units 761M are as originally weighted, so per-unit figure is overstated); WC movement=-$26M (outflow, added back); SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$2,111M; capex ratio=35.99% (mean 2016-2019); growth capex=$1,129.4M on revenue change $3,138M; maintenance capex=$981.6M; OE=$2,115.4M; diluted units=761M; OE/unit=$2.78. Not used in anchor. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001552000-20-000007.
2017 $1.97 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$1,907M; WC movement=+$175M inflow removed; SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$1,411M; capex ratio=35.99% (mean 2016-2019); growth capex=35.99% x revenue change $1,277M=$459.6M; maintenance capex=$951.4M; OE=$780.6M; diluted units=396M; OE/unit=$1.97. Much smaller pre-merger entity; not used in anchor. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0001552000-18-000020.
2016 $1.95 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$1,491M; WC movement=+$92M inflow removed; SBC not separately reported (treated as $0); capex=$1,313M; capex ratio=35.99% (mean 2016-2019); growth capex=35.99% x revenue change $1,629M=$586.3M; maintenance capex=$726.7M; OE=$672.3M; diluted units=345M; OE/unit=$1.95. Much smaller pre-merger entity; not used in anchor. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0001552000-18-000020 (FY2016 10-K 0001552000-17-000012).

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States: Appalachia (Marcellus and Utica shale regions), Southwest (Permian Basin, including Lea County, New Mexico), Bakken region; crude oil and refined products logistics serving Marathon Petroleum refining operations
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.