valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

OLD REPUBLIC INTERNATIONAL CORP (ORI) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$33.00 ComplexityHigh Updated
$38.28 $56.07
bear $38.28 base $48.30 bull $56.07 margin of safety $33.00 market price* $39.66
Old Republic International is a Chicago-based insurance holding company with two businesses. Specialty Insurance ($5.18 billion of net premiums earned in 2025, up 10.9%) writes commercial lines for businesses: commercial auto (42% of segment premiums), workers' compensation (17%), property (13%), general liability (8%), financial indemnity and home and auto warranty. Title Insurance ($2.59 billion of premiums plus $264 million of escrow and other fees in 2025) insures real estate titles, largely through independent agents, so its volume rises and falls with home sales and refinancing. In 2025 the company earned a 94.7% combined ratio (claims plus expenses per dollar of premium). Specialty ran at 93.2%, after 92.2% in 2024 and 90.2% in 2023. Net investment income on the bond-heavy portfolio was $708.7 million, up from $459.5 million in 2022 as maturing bonds were reinvested at higher yields. A mortgage-guaranty run-off business was sold on May 31, 2024 and was immaterial to results. How we measure earnings. For an insurer, operating cash flow swings with the growth of claim reserves and unearned premiums: money held for policyholders that will be paid out later. We remove those timing effects. We also exclude realized and unrealized gains and losses on the investment portfolio, after tax, because they follow the stock and bond markets rather than the business. Stock-based pay is counted as a cost. Depreciation of property, equipment and software ($35 million in 2025) is treated as the cost of maintaining the business, because the company does not report capital spending separately. In 2017 we also removed a one-time $63.1 million tax credit from the 2017 tax law. Measured this way, earnings per diluted share were $1.46 (2016), $1.25 (2017), $1.86 (2018), $1.84 (2019), $2.24 (2020), $3.08 (2021), $2.79 (2022), $2.63 (2023), $3.03 (2024) and $3.16 (2025). These match the company's own 'net income excluding investment gains' within about $1 million in 2024 and 2025. The rise reflects higher bond yields, strong commercial pricing after 2020, and a share count cut from about 303 million (2022) to 251 million (2025) through buybacks. Starting point. We use $2.91 per share, the median of 2020 to 2025. That window covers a full title cycle, from the 2021 housing boom to the 2023 to 2024 slump, plus the commercial insurance price cycle. It also reflects today's two-segment business and today's interest-rate environment. The 2022 to 2025 median is also $2.91. Earlier years, at $1.25 to $1.86, came from a larger share count, lower bond yields and weaker pricing. Recent results. Earnings per share on our basis rose 4.1% in 2025 (total earnings were flat, at $793 million versus $798 million). In the first half of 2026 they fell to about $1.44 per share from $1.64 a year earlier, a 12% decline. Both quarters were down. The combined ratio rose to 96.0% from 93.7%. The release of reserves no longer needed on older claims shrank to $30.6 million from $88.6 million. Commissions grew 10.7%, faster than premiums, which rose 6.1%. The $2.50 per share special dividend paid on January 14, 2026 (after $2.00 in January 2025) also reduces the invested assets that earn interest. Base case ($48.30 per share). Earnings run at $2.80 per share for the next two years, below both the 4.1% growth of 2025 and the starting point, reflecting the weaker 2026 underwriting. They then return to the $2.91 median the business has already earned under current conditions, and hold there. We credit no growth. The new specialty companies, the environmental insurance company announced in September 2025, and the pending acquisition of Everett Cash Mutual (an insurer of small farms, agreed October 23, 2025 and expected to close in 2026 after approvals) are recent initiatives without a long record, so they are left out. Premium growth driven by pricing is market-driven and also left out. Buybacks are not counted as growth, because the cash that funds them is already counted as earnings. After year ten, earnings stay flat in dollar terms rather than fading. Reasons: Specialty licenses in every US state and Canadian province, title plants and agent networks, and a long record of profitable underwriting. Bear case ($38.28). Pricing keeps softening and claims costs in commercial auto keep rising, including from social inflation (rising legal and jury-award costs), a pressure the company itself names in its reserving discussion. Specialty's combined ratio climbs to about 98% (versus 93.2% in 2025) as releases of old reserves stop and expenses stay high. Each point costs roughly $0.16 per share after tax. Title earnings are about halved by a weak housing market. Earnings fall to $2.15 per share for four years. A one-time strengthening of commercial auto reserves costs $0.96 per share (about $300 million before tax) in year two. Earnings then recover only to $2.40, still about 18% below the starting point, and stay there. Bull case ($56.07). Underwriting holds near the 2023 to 2025 average and earnings recover to the 2025 level of $3.16 by year two. Specialty's recently formed operating companies keep growing earnings about 2% a year through year ten, to about $3.70 per share, then flat. Growing an insurer requires keeping capital in the business, so about 16% of earnings is withheld during the growth years. Debt. At June 30, 2026 the company carried $2.28 billion of debt, up from $1.59 billion at year-end, after issuing about $693 million of new senior notes in the first half of 2026. The existing notes are $550 million at 3.875% due August 26, 2026, $400 million at 5.75% due 2034 and $650 million at 3.85% due 2051. For an insurer we value earnings after interest has been paid and do not subtract the debt a second time. Interest paid ($69 million in 2025) is covered many times over, even in the bear case, so no maturity or covenant changes the outcome. Shareholders' equity was $6.07 billion at June 30, 2026. What changed since our August analysis. That analysis estimated $13.40, $45.65 and $63.72. It used higher, case-specific discount rates and deducted stock-based pay a second time from figures that already included it. It also subtracted net debt from earnings already measured after interest. We now discount every case at one fixed 6% rate and carry risk inside each case. That is the main reason the low-end estimate rose. Our bull case is lower because it no longer assumes a return of hard-market conditions. The base case moved up modestly despite the weaker 2026 results built into its first two years. Testing the case. The base case depends on the starting point. The strongest specific challenge is that Specialty's results in 2023 to 2025 included 2.3 to 5.7 points a year of releases from reserves no longer needed on older claims, and those releases fell sharply in the first half of 2026. Without any releases, 2025 earnings would have been roughly $0.45 to $0.50 per share lower. The $2.91 starting point sits below the 2024 and 2025 results, and the 2020 to 2025 window includes years with far weaker pricing, so we keep it. A permanent end to reserve releases combined with higher claims costs is what the bear case describes. Margin-of-safety price ($33.00). Values are fairly tightly bunched (bear about 79% of base), because the earnings do not depend on one product or contract. They do depend on commercial auto claims, which can surprise for years. From $33, the bear value plus about a year of earnings paid out as dividends implies roughly 23% within one year. The base value with three years of payouts implies about 20% a year. Above about $34 the bear case no longer supports a 20% one-year return, and the base case would have to be realized within about two years.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $3.16 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$1,164.3M (incl. $6.5M noncontrolling interest, excluded); dWC=$282.3M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$46.7M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $35.4M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $935.4M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $142.0M (pretax $179.7M at 21%) + D&A $35.4M - maintenance capex $35.4M = $793.4M; gap 0%. OE=$793.4M; diluted shares=251.31M; OE/sh=$3.16. Source: FY2025 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-26-000008.
2024 $3.03 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$1,233.4M; dWC=$363.4M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$33.2M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $39.3M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $852.7M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $55.2M (pretax $69.9M at 21%) + D&A $39.3M - maintenance capex $39.3M = $797.5M; gap 0%. OE=$797.5M; diluted shares=262.88M; OE/sh=$3.03. Source: FY2024 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-25-000042.
2023 $2.63 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$880.4M; dWC=$78.5M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$19.5M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $33.0M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $598.6M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $-150.8M (pretax $-190.9M at 21%) + D&A $33.0M - maintenance capex $33.0M = $749.4M; gap 0%. OE=$749.4M; diluted shares=285.47M; OE/sh=$2.63. Source: FY2023 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-24-000021.
2022 $2.79 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$1,170.6M; dWC=$288.0M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$9.0M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $28.3M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $686.4M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $-158.9M (pretax $-201.1M at 21%) + D&A $28.3M - maintenance capex $28.3M = $845.3M; gap 0%. OE=$845.3M; diluted shares=303.30M; OE/sh=$2.79. Source: FY2022 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-23-000014.
2021 $3.08 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$1,311.7M; dWC=$345.8M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$3.2M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $27.2M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $1,534.3M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $598.8M (pretax $758.0M at 21%) + D&A $27.2M - maintenance capex $27.2M = $935.5M; gap 0%. OE=$935.5M; diluted shares=303.67M; OE/sh=$3.08. Source: FY2021 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-22-000012.
2020 $2.24 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$1,185.0M; dWC=$485.2M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$2.1M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $26.9M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $558.6M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $-112.2M (pretax $-142.0M at 21%) + D&A $26.9M - maintenance capex $26.9M = $670.8M; gap 0%. OE=$670.8M; diluted shares=298.90M; OE/sh=$2.24. Source: FY2020 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-21-000021.
2019 $1.84 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$936.2M; dWC=$351.8M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$3.7M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $26.8M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $1,056.4M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $502.5M (pretax $636.1M at 21%) + D&A $26.8M - maintenance capex $26.8M = $553.9M; gap 0%. OE=$553.9M; diluted shares=301.23M; OE/sh=$1.84. Source: FY2019 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-20-000024.
2018 $1.86 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$760.5M; dWC=$172.5M (implied, after treating the 21% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$3.8M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $27.6M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $370.5M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $-186.1M (pretax $-235.6M at 21%) plus $2.8M after-tax convertible-note interest (if-converted, matching diluted share count) + D&A $27.6M - maintenance capex $27.6M = $559.4M; gap 0%. OE=$559.4M; diluted shares=301.02M; OE/sh=$1.86. Source: FY2018 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-19-000016.
2017 $1.25 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$452.8M; dWC=$62.2M (implied, after treating the 35% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$3.5M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $27.2M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $560.5M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $137.5M (pretax $211.6M at 35%) less $63.1M non-cash TCJA deferred-tax remeasurement credit plus $14.3M after-tax convertible-note interest (if-converted, matching diluted share count) + D&A $27.2M - maintenance capex $27.2M = $374.2M; gap 0%. OE=$374.2M; diluted shares=299.39M; OE/sh=$1.25. Source: FY2017 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-18-000012.
2016 $1.46 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex (insurer; working capital = changes in loss reserves, unearned premiums, receivables, DAC, reinsurance balances, taxes and other operating balances, i.e. float/timing). CFO=$637.3M; dWC=$185.0M (implied, after treating the 35% deferred tax on investment gains as non-cash); SBC=$3.1M; capex not separately disclosed, so maintenance capex = depreciation/amortization of property, equipment and software $29.6M (growth capex $0). Reconciliation (sec 2.3): net income attributable $466.9M less after-tax investment gains/(losses) $47.3M (pretax $72.8M at 35%) plus $13.2M after-tax convertible-note interest (if-converted, matching diluted share count) + D&A $29.6M - maintenance capex $29.6M = $432.8M; gap 0%. OE=$432.8M; diluted shares=296.38M; OE/sh=$1.46. Source: FY2016 10-K data (xbrl_values; latest-filed figure used), accession 0000074260-17-000016.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States (about 98.6% of 2025 direct premiums written): South (Southeast 22.1%, Southwest 14.1%), West (Western 14.5%, Mountain 8.0%), Midwest (East North Central 11.5%, West North Central 9.3%), Northeast (Northeast 11.7%, Mid-Atlantic 7.4%); Canada about 1.4%.
Historical growth strategy
Grows mainly organically through autonomous specialty underwriting companies that stay narrow and deep in particular niches, adding newly formed operating companies in recent years (including an environmental liability insurer announced in September 2025) and occasional acquisitions (the pending Everett Cash Mutual purchase). Title insurance grows with the housing market through agent networks. Excess capital is returned through regular dividends, special dividends ($2.00 per share paid January 2025, $2.50 paid January 2026) and share buybacks.
Chart analysis
Over the past 52 weeks the shares have traded between $36.65 and $46.76. A chartist would note a clear short-term downtrend: the stock slid from about $42 at the end of August 2026 to about $37.74 by September 25, 2026, with lower closes on most days, and now sits near the bottom of its yearly range. The 52-week low around $36.65 is the support level to watch; a decisive break below it would read as a new leg down, while a recovery back above the low $40s would be needed to repair the pattern.
Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of ORI. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.