valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

Minerva Neurosciences, Inc. (NERV) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$0.00 ComplexityHigh Updated
Business condition attached to the margin of safety FDA approval and a first year of roluperidone sales with positive cash generation, or milestone payments actually received from the seltorexant arrangement.
Minerva Neurosciences is a clinical-stage drug developer with no approved products and no revenue. Its lead candidate, roluperidone, targets negative symptoms of schizophrenia. The FDA issued a Complete Response Letter on the roluperidone application on February 26, 2024. The company is now running a confirmatory Phase 3 trial, with topline efficacy results expected in the second half of 2027 and relapse data in the second half of 2028. It also holds a contingent claim tied to seltorexant, a depression and insomnia drug developed with Janssen (Johnson & Johnson). In 2021 Minerva sold its seltorexant royalty to Royalty Pharma for $60 million and kept the right to up to $95 million of milestone payments, which depend on Janssen completing Phase 3 trials and winning regulatory approvals. How we measure it: we value a business on the cash it generates for owners after stock compensation and necessary investment. Minerva has consumed cash every year we could measure. Owner earnings were negative each year from 2019 to 2025, from about -$10.79 per share in 2019 to about -$1.75 per share in 2025. Cash used in operations was $13.5 million in 2025. Per-share figures are adjusted for the later reverse stock split. Working-capital movements and capital spending were not separately available in the structured data and are treated as zero, which does not change the conclusion because the earnings are negative on cash used and stock compensation alone. Reported 2025 net loss was $293.4 million, far larger than cash used, so we rely on the cash figure. Bear, base and bull cases: we assign $0 per share to all three. Every possible source of future value depends on something that has not yet happened: FDA approval of roluperidone after a trial that has not read out, or Janssen finishing Phase 3 and gaining approval for seltorexant so the milestones are paid. Approval, launch success and milestone triggers are not secured, contracted or the output of a repeatable process, so none is credited. We also credit no value for the cash on hand ($82.4 million at December 31, 2025, and an October 2025 private placement of up to $200 million of which $80 million was received up front) because that money is committed to funding the trial and operating costs, which the model shows as continuing losses, and it would be double-counting to add it to a business that consumes it. In the bear case the trial fails or is delayed, the money is spent, and the shares are worth nothing. Share count has also risen sharply (weighted diluted shares were about 8.5 million in 2025 and about 79 million in the second quarter of 2026), so each share's claim on any eventual success is smaller. What would make this wrong: a positive Phase 3 result in 2027 followed by an approval, or milestone payments from Janssen's seltorexant program, would create value the model does not include. Those outcomes are possible but not yet evidenced, so the valuation would be revisited once one of them occurs. Management believes cash is sufficient for at least twelve months from the date of the 2025 financial statements. The 2025 annual report also notes that Nasdaq had a one-year monitoring period, ending March 17, 2026, over the company's continued listing. Margin-of-safety price: $0. There is no earnings stream that can support a price today.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 -$1.75 ▼
OE = CFO − ΔWC − SBC − maintenance capex. CFO=$(13.51)M; SBC=$1.33M; working-capital movement not separately tagged (treated as $0); capex not reported ($0); OE=$(14.84)M; diluted shares=8.46M; OE/sh=$(1.75). Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001193125-26-101117.
2024 -$2.76 ▼
OE = CFO − ΔWC − SBC − maintenance capex. CFO=$(19.55)M; SBC=$1.33M; working-capital movement not separately tagged (treated as $0); capex not reported ($0); OE=$(20.88)M; diluted shares=7.57M; OE/sh=$(2.76). Source: FY2024 10-K, accession 0000950170-25-026055.
2023 -$2.57 ▼
OE = CFO − ΔWC − SBC − maintenance capex. CFO=$(14.78)M; SBC=$1.97M; working-capital movement not separately tagged (treated as $0); capex not reported ($0); OE=$(16.75)M; diluted shares=6.51M; OE/sh=$(2.57). Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000950170-24-018392.
2022 -$5.39 ▼
OE = CFO − ΔWC − SBC − maintenance capex. CFO=$(24.65)M; SBC=$4.11M; capex=$0.016M, revenue nil so growth capex=$0 and maintenance capex=$0.016M; working-capital movement not separately tagged (treated as $0); OE=$(28.77)M; diluted shares=5.34M; OE/sh=$(5.39). Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0000950170-23-006577.
2021 -$5.58 ▼
OE = CFO − ΔWC − SBC − maintenance capex. CFO=$(24.60)M; SBC=$5.22M; working-capital movement not separately tagged (treated as $0); capex not reported ($0); OE=$(29.82)M; diluted shares=5.34M (split-adjusted, per FY2022 10-K); OE/sh=$(5.58). Source: FY2021 10-K accession 0001564590-22-007853 and FY2022 10-K accession 0000950170-23-006577.
2020 -$8.51 ▼
OE = CFO − ΔWC − SBC − maintenance capex. CFO=$(33.82)M; SBC=$9.70M; working-capital movement not separately tagged (treated as $0); capex not reported ($0); OE=$(43.53)M; diluted shares=40.92M as reported, split-adjusted (1-for-8) 5.11M; OE/sh=$(8.51). Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001564590-21-011340.
2019 -$10.79 ▼
OE = CFO − ΔWC − SBC − maintenance capex. CFO=$(43.43)M; SBC=$9.17M; working-capital movement not separately tagged in structured data (treated as $0; CFO used as reported); capex not reported (treated as $0); OE=$(52.61)M; diluted shares=39.01M as originally reported, restated for the later 1-for-8 reverse split to 4.88M; OE/sh=$(10.79). Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001564590-20-009243.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
No product sales or revenue to date. Planned first market for roluperidone is the United States (FDA filing).
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.