valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

ALTRIA GROUP, INC. (MO) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$25.00 ComplexityAverage Updated
$29.28 $67.16
bear $29.28 base $46.47 bull $67.16 margin of safety $25.00 market price* $75.11
Altria is the largest U.S. cigarette maker. Marlboro has been the best-selling U.S. cigarette brand for over 50 years, and the company also sells cigars (Black & Mild), smokeless tobacco (Copenhagen, Skoal) and, since the first quarter of 2026, on! PLUS nicotine pouches. It raises prices on a shrinking number of cigarettes, spends very little on plants (capital spending was $216 million in 2025 against $9.3 billion of operating cash flow) and pays most of the cash out: $7.0 billion of dividends in 2025. The quarterly dividend is now $1.06 a share, or $4.24 a year. What the business earns. We measure cash from operations after the cost of employee share awards, capital spending and swings in working capital. The working-capital adjustment matters here because the timing of state settlement payments moved cash by -$1.26 billion in 2017 and +$0.98 billion in 2018. On that basis Altria earned $8.9 billion in 2025, or $5.31 a share, up 8.6% from $4.89. Because lenders are paid before shareholders, we add back the $1.1 billion of interest Altria pays to get the cash the business itself produces ($10.05 billion in 2025) and then subtract the debt separately. Our starting level is the median of 2021 through 2025, $9.7 billion a year (about $5.81 a share on today's 1.67 billion shares). We leave out 2016 through 2018 because the U.S. corporate tax rate was cut in 2018 and settlement-payment timing distorted those years. Using 2019 through 2025 instead would give $9.5 billion, 2% lower. Non-cash write-offs, such as the roughly $2.1 billion NJOY impairment in 2025, are not charged against earnings, because the cash was spent long ago; the risk of more such losses sits in the downside case instead. A line-by-line rebuild of operating cash flow matched the reported totals to within $13 million in every year from 2016 to 2025. The pressure. U.S. cigarette shipments fell 10.0% in 2025 to 61.8 billion units, after falls of 10.2% in 2024 and 9.9% in 2023, and are 34% below 2021's 93.8 billion. Altria estimates the whole industry shrank about 8% in 2025, which it attributes in part to flavored disposable vapes (most of which it believes evaded FDA review) and to strained consumers; discount brands' share of the industry rose 2.2 points to 31.8%. Marlboro held 59.4% of the premium segment. What has covered the loss of volume is price: Altria raised Marlboro's list price four times in 2025, by $0.17 to $0.20 a pack. From 2021 to 2025 shipments fell 34% while net revenues fell only 10.5% (from $26.0 billion to $23.3 billion) and the cash the business produces rose 7%, from $9.4 billion to $10.05 billion. In the first half of 2026 net revenues were up 1.6% and operating cash flow up 4.0% from a year earlier, which supports that pattern but is two quarters, so it does not move our starting level. Altria has also written off two large bets on the future of nicotine: its JUUL stake ($8.6 billion in 2019 and $2.6 billion in 2020) and NJOY, acquired in June 2023 for about $2.9 billion, after a U.S. International Trade Commission ban on importing and selling NJOY ACE took effect on March 31, 2025. Growth path. Cash the business produces grew 5.6% in 2025 ($10.05 billion against $9.52 billion), and owner earnings per share grew 8.6%. Our base case starts year one at a 2.7% decline, below that trailing growth, so no reversal needs to be argued. We credit only the continuation of what Altria has done for many years: raising prices enough to offset most of the volume decline. We give nothing for on! PLUS, for the company's cost program (at least $600 million of cumulative savings by the end of 2029, which it says it plans to reinvest), for better enforcement against illicit vapes, or for buybacks. Capital spending is guided to $300 to $375 million in 2026 (the first half was $150 million), roughly $0.05 to $0.10 a share a year more than 2025; that is smaller than the 2.7% year-one decline in the base case, so we do not adjust for it separately. Base case: $46.47 a share. Cash the business produces falls 2.7% a year for ten years (from $9.7 billion to about $7.4 billion), the pace at which net revenues actually fell from 2021 to 2025, then falls 5% a year after that. We assume the price increases that have offset most of a roughly 10% annual volume decline keep working, but with no margin gains. After year ten we have no evidence of price increases keeping pace as the customer base shrinks, so the decline steepens and there is no floor. The business is worth $98.1 billion ($58.71 a share). It owes $20.4 billion net ($12.24 a share), leaving $77.6 billion, or $46.47 a share. Bear case: $29.28 a share. Volume keeps falling about 10% a year, as it has in each of the last three years, and consumers keep trading down to discount brands, so price gains cover less of the loss. Cash the business produces falls 6% a year for ten years (to about $5.2 billion, still well above the roughly $1.1 billion annual interest bill) and 8% a year after that. We also assume one more failed acquisition of about $3.0 billion ($1.80 a share), similar to the $2.75 billion cash cost of NJOY; Altria has now written off two such bets in seven years. The business is worth $72.3 billion ($43.32 a share). It owes $20.4 billion net and loses a further $3.0 billion, leaving $48.9 billion, or $29.28 a share. In that case the cash left for owners in year ten would be about $4.1 billion (the $5.2 billion above less roughly $1.1 billion of interest), against the $7.0 billion of dividends paid in 2025. Bull case: $67.16 a share. Pricing keeps pace with volume as it did from 2021 to 2025, when cash the business produces grew 1.7% a year, and the cost program's savings are kept rather than reinvested. We credit +1% a year for ten years (to about $10.7 billion) and a 4% decline a year after that. The business is worth $132.6 billion ($79.40 a share). It owes $20.4 billion net, leaving $112.2 billion, or $67.16 a share. Debt. All of Altria's long-term debt is fixed-rate, with a weighted average coupon of about 4.5%. Of $25.9 billion of face value at the end of 2025, $6.9 billion (about 27%) matures by 2030. At June 30, 2026 the debt had a book value of $24.6 billion but a fair value of $22.8 billion because its coupons are below current rates; discounting the actual coupons gives about $22.7 billion, so we use the $22.8 billion figure. We subtract it, net of $2.4 billion of cash and equivalents, to get $20.4 billion of net debt. Altria has not disclosed or tied any covenant to our cases; we found none that materially affects the outcome. What we left out. Altria owns about 8.2% of Anheuser-Busch InBev, worth $10.3 billion at the end of 2025 (about $6 a share) against a $8.3 billion carrying value. The $208 million of dividends it received from the stake in 2025 is already in the cash flow above, but we add nothing for the stake's sale value, because that is not cash the business produces and we have not established the tax cost of selling it. It is a cushion outside all three cases. Testing the case. The key assumption is that price keeps offsetting volume. We tested it against the filings: over 2021 to 2025 shipments fell 34% and cash the business produces still rose 7%, and cash taxes paid were steady ($1.9 billion in 2023, $1.7 billion in 2024 and $1.7 billion in 2025), so the earnings level is not being propped up by a tax timing gain. The FDA proposed banning menthol cigarettes in 2022; the proposal was withdrawn in January 2025, and Altria's filing says a final ban, if upheld, could materially hurt results. We model no ban because none is in force. Our earlier estimates were built on a different basis and are not comparable. Margin-of-safety price: $25. Earnings level: fairly sure, since owner earnings were between $8.2 and $9.1 billion in each of the last five years even as shipments fell 34%. Worst plausible outcome: price increases stop covering the volume decline. If cash the business produces fell 8% every year indefinitely, the shares would be worth about $26, and at 10% every year about $20, so the margin-of-safety price is set at the point where that outcome is still survivable, and the debt would not be the problem: it is all fixed-rate and the interest bill is a fraction of cash flow even in our bear case. The dividend could not stay at its current level in the bear case. Things we are most likely wrong about are pricing power, which is the case above, and capital allocation, where each further $3 billion loss costs $1.80 a share. A menthol ban or other FDA product standard, or litigation (about 48 Engle-progeny cases were pending in Florida state court as of January 2026), are outcomes no case models. The price assumes a three-to-five-year holding period, over which the shares pay $4.24 a year, which is 17% of $25; 2025 owner earnings per share of $5.31 covered the $4.16 declared dividend 1.28 times. At $25 the first-year cash to owners after interest in our base case is about $5.0 a share, roughly 20% of the price, and the shares would be worth $25 only if cash the business produces shrank about 8.3% every year forever, a far steeper decline than the 2.7% a year at which net revenues fell from 2021 to 2025. In our model, from $25 over five years the base value implies about 24% a year, and the bear value about 12%. That combination of yield now and a floor that is still positive is why the margin-of-safety price is $25 and not higher.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $5.31 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$9,290M; working-capital cash effect=$76M (receivables (86), inventories (27), accounts payable 34, income taxes 690, accrued liabilities and other current assets (359), accrued settlement charges (176); inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$62M; capex=$216M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$216M; OE=$8,936M; diluted shares=1,683M; OE/sh=$5.31. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000764180-26-000017; SBC: RSUs $51M + PSUs $11M. Replaces the earlier figure that did not remove working-capital movement (superseded basis).
2024 $4.89 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$8,753M; working-capital cash effect=$151M (receivables (106), inventories 102, accounts payable 116, income taxes 798, accrued liabilities and other current assets (550), accrued settlement charges (209); inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$56M; capex=$142M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$142M; OE=$8,404M; diluted shares=1,718M; OE/sh=$4.89. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000764180-26-000017; SBC: RSUs $50M + PSUs $6M. Replaces the earlier figure that did not remove working-capital movement (superseded basis).
2023 $5.11 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$9,287M; working-capital cash effect=$(47)M (receivables 6, inventories (15), accounts payable 38, income taxes 6, accrued liabilities and other current assets 280, accrued settlement charges (362); inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$58M; capex=$196M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$196M; OE=$9,080M; diluted shares=1,777M; OE/sh=$5.11. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000764180-26-000017; SBC: RSUs $47M + PSUs $11M. Replaces the earlier figure that did not remove working-capital movement (superseded basis).
2022 $4.76 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$8,256M; working-capital cash effect=$(586)M (receivables (21), inventories 14, accounts payable 92, income taxes (118), accrued liabilities and other current assets (129), accrued settlement charges (424); inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$50M; capex=$205M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$205M; OE=$8,587M; diluted shares=1,804M; OE/sh=$4.76. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000764180-24-000018; SBC: RSUs $41M + PSUs $9M. Replaces the earlier figure that did not remove working-capital movement (superseded basis).
2021 $4.44 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$8,405M; working-capital cash effect=$3M (receivables (18), inventories 57, accounts payable 163, income taxes (149), accrued liabilities and other current assets 165, accrued settlement charges (215); inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$40M; capex=$169M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$169M; OE=$8,193M; diluted shares=1,845M; OE/sh=$4.44. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000764180-24-000018 (cash-flow lines) and FY2021 10-K, accession 0000764180-22-000019 (CFO, capex, SBC: RSUs $34M + PSUs $6M). Replaces the earlier figure that did not remove working-capital movement (superseded basis).
2020 $4.24 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$8,385M; working-capital cash effect=$249M (receivables 20, inventories 2, accounts payable 53, income taxes (29), accrued liabilities and other current assets (15), accrued settlement charges 218; inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$35M; capex=$231M, growth capex=$8.4M (0.81% capex ratio x revenue rise of $1,043M) so maintenance capex=$222.6M; OE=$7,878M; diluted shares=1,859M; OE/sh=$4.24. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0000764180-21-000037; SBC from FY2021 10-K accession 0000764180-22-000019: RSUs $31M + PSUs $4M.
2019 $4.07 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$7,837M; working-capital cash effect=$(53)M (receivables (8), inventories 42, accounts payable (79), income taxes 89, accrued liabilities and other current assets 11, accrued settlement charges (108); inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$32M; capex=$246M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$246M; OE=$7,612M; diluted shares=1,869M; OE/sh=$4.07. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0000764180-20-000018; SBC from FY2021 10-K accession 0000764180-22-000019: RSUs $28M + PSUs $4M.
2018 $3.72 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$8,391M; working-capital cash effect=$1,075M (receivables 0, inventories (129), accounts payable 27, income taxes 218, accrued liabilities and other current assets (21), accrued settlement charges 980; inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$46M; capex=$238M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$238M; OE=$7,032M; diluted shares=1,888M; OE/sh=$3.72. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0000764180-19-000023; SBC: restricted stock/RSUs $39M + PSUs $7M.
2017 $3.38 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$4,901M; working-capital cash effect=$(1,854)M (receivables 10, inventories (171), accounts payable (55), income taxes (294), accrued liabilities and other current assets (85), accrued settlement charges (1,259); inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$55M; capex=$199M, growth capex=$0 (revenue declined) so maintenance capex=$199M; OE=$6,501M; diluted shares=1,921M; OE/sh=$3.38. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0000764180-19-000023; SBC: restricted stock/RSUs $49M + PSUs $6M.
2016 $1.98 ▼
OE = CFO - net working-capital cash effect - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$3,826M; working-capital cash effect=$(270)M (receivables (27), inventories (34), accounts payable 24, income taxes (231), accrued liabilities and other current assets (113), accrued settlement charges 111; inflow positive, removed from CFO); SBC=$44M; capex=$189M, growth capex not computed (2015 revenue on the current basis is not in the filing data; at the 0.81% capex ratio it would be under $11M even on a 5% revenue rise) so maintenance capex taken as total capex; OE=$3,863M; diluted shares=1,952M; OE/sh=$1.98. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0000764180-19-000023 (CFO restated to $3,826M from $3,791M originally reported); SBC: restricted stock/RSU expense $44M (PSU expense not disclosed for 2016 in that filing).

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States, sold nationwide across the Northeast, Midwest, South and West. Cigarettes, cigars, smokeless tobacco and nicotine pouches are reported on a domestic shipment basis.
Historical growth strategy
Altria has not grown by selling more cigarettes: its U.S. cigarette shipments fell from 109.8 billion units in 2018 to 61.8 billion in 2025. It has grown cash returns per share by raising list prices several times a year (four Marlboro increases of $0.17 to $0.20 a pack in 2025), cutting costs (an Optimize & Accelerate program targeting at least $600 million of cumulative savings by the end of 2029), repurchasing shares (diluted count from 1,845 million in 2021 to 1,683 million in 2025) and raising the dividend ($3.84 per share in 2023, $4.00 in 2024, $4.16 in 2025). It has also made large bets on next-generation nicotine products, with mixed results: a JUUL stake written down by $8.6 billion in 2019 and $2.6 billion in 2020, the June 2023 acquisition of NJOY (about $2.9 billion, roughly $2.1 billion impaired in 2025) and newer oral nicotine pouches (on! PLUS launched in the first quarter of 2026). It also holds an 8.2% stake in Anheuser-Busch InBev, a legacy of the SABMiller combination.
Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of MO. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.