valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

ICAHN ENTERPRISES L.P. (IEP) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$0.35 ComplexityExtreme Updated
-$3.00 $4.13
bear -$3.00 base $1.09 bull $4.13 margin of safety $0.35 market price* $6.65
Icahn Enterprises is a limited partnership that owns an activist investment fund portfolio alongside a group of controlled businesses: about 70% of CVR Energy (petroleum refining in Kansas and Oklahoma, plus control of the CVR Partners nitrogen fertilizer business), Icahn Automotive Group (Pep Boys and related service centers and real estate), a real estate portfolio, Viskase food casings, WestPoint Home textiles and Vivus pharmaceuticals. The partnership's own debt of about $4.4 billion sits at the holding company, above all of these. Earnings record. Once the fund's buying and selling of securities is stripped out of operating cash flow (it is portfolio turnover, not earnings), the cash the partnership has earned for its unitholders after maintenance spending and refinery turnarounds was negative in six of the last seven years: roughly minus $1.2 billion in 2019, minus $1.5 billion in 2020, minus $0.4 billion in 2021, about zero in 2022, and minus $0.27 to $0.40 billion in each of 2023, 2024 and 2025. Adding back the interest paid to lenders gives the cash the businesses produced before debt service, and even that has been small: about $90 million to $440 million a year from 2021 to 2025, a median of about $120 million, against interest of $420 to $500 million a year. In 2025 owner earnings fell further, from minus $0.65 to minus $0.71 per unit, and the first half of 2026 brought another $814 million loss, mainly from hedge losses in the fund and refining hedges. There is no positive earnings stream to project, so we cannot value the partnership as a going stream of profits. Instead we value each piece at what the evidence supports, then subtract what the partnership owes. What it owns and owes. At June 30, 2026 the partnership's own estimate of net asset value was about $2.6 billion, or roughly $3.66 per unit on 711 million units, down from $3.17 billion six months earlier. That figure counts the fund stake at $2.0 billion, CVR Energy at market value of about $2.0 billion, real estate at $1.4 billion, the automotive group at $765 million (it has agreed to sell Pep Boys for $700 million), other businesses at about $500 million and holding company cash of $381 million, against $4.4 billion of holding company notes. The notes are 5.25% due 2027 (about $1.38 billion outstanding), 4.375% due 2029, 9.75% due 2029, 10% due 2029 and 9% due 2030. The low-coupon 2027 and 2029 notes must be replaced at rates closer to the 9% to 10% the partnership has paid on its recent issues, and the indentures currently bar new borrowing except to refinance. We treat the extra cost of refinancing at around 10% as additional debt of about $1.1 billion in the base case. Base case. The fund stake is marked about 15% below its stated value, reflecting the fund's repeated losses in recent years and its large net short position (13% net short at year-end 2025); CVR Energy at our own estimate of its worth; real estate and the automotive group modestly below stated value; the smaller businesses near stated value. That gives assets of about $6.3 billion against debt of $4.4 billion plus about $1.1 billion for the higher cost of refinancing, leaving roughly $0.77 billion, or about $1.09 per unit. Because the businesses' cash before interest (about $120 million a year) does not cover the interest bill, this case only works if the debt is paid down from asset sales such as the Pep Boys sale and fund redemptions rather than from earnings, which is why every case is built on what the assets would fetch. Bear case. A refining downturn of the kind seen in 2020, when refining margins collapsed and CVR Energy suspended its dividend, cuts the value of the CVR stake to our low estimate of about $400 million; the fund loses another third of its value, a loss of about $690 million, similar to the drop in the stake's stated value in the first half of 2026 alone (from $2.7 billion to $2.0 billion, largely from market hedge losses); real estate and automotive are sold at meaningful discounts in a forced sale; and the 2027 and 2029 notes are refinanced near 12%. Assets of about $3.9 billion against debt of $4.4 billion and about $1.6 billion for expensive refinancing leave the partnership owing roughly $2.1 billion more than it is worth, about minus $3.00 per unit. In that case unitholders would expect to be wiped out or heavily diluted. Bull case. The fund holds its value, CVR Energy is worth our high estimate on a normal refining year, real estate and automotive are realized at stated value including the Pep Boys sale, and refinancing happens around 8.5%. Assets of about $8.1 billion against $4.4 billion of notes and about $0.8 billion for the higher cost of refinancing leave roughly $2.9 billion, about $4.13 per unit. Growth. None is credited in any case. There is no contracted or repeatable growth mechanism; the record is one of shrinking net assets, and the distribution is paid mostly in new units, which has taken the unit count from 200 million in 2019 to 711 million today and transfers value rather than creating it. Margin-of-safety price reasoning. We have little confidence in any earnings level, because there is none to anchor on, and only moderate confidence in asset values: the CVR stake and real estate are tangible, but the fund marks change by hundreds of millions in a quarter. The worst plausible outcome is a refining downturn plus further fund losses arriving as the 2027 and 2029 notes come due, with borrowing already restricted; the structure, with all of the debt sitting at a holding company whose subsidiaries are not obliged to send it cash, would probably not survive that without heavy dilution. The things we are most likely to be wrong about are the fund's value, the price CVR Energy would fetch, and the rate at which the notes can be refinanced; if all three go the wrong way, the units are worth nothing. Control rests with Carl Icahn and his affiliates, who own about 86%, and Mr. Icahn has pledged units against personal loans, so outside holders cannot force a sale of assets or a return of capital and must wait on decisions they do not control. During the holding period, a holder is paid in new units rather than cash unless they elect cash, and the cash paid out comes from a business that is not earning it. On that basis the margin-of-safety price is around $0.35 per unit, where the price is covered several times by the hard assets left over in all but the bear case, and where even a partial recovery of value over an assumed three-to-five-year holding period would imply well above a 20% annual return. Since our previous analysis, the stated value of the fund stake has fallen by about $730 million in six months, the unit count has risen by about 74 million through distributions paid in units, and the Pep Boys sale has been agreed. Our earlier figures were built on a different basis and are not comparable to these.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 -$0.71 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, on the IEP-attributable basis. CFO=$-313M; dWC=$-423M (all working-capital lines plus Investment segment securities purchases/sales, short-sale and derivative cash flows and securities receivables/payables, which are portfolio cash movements, not earnings; the realized/unrealized investment result stays in net income); adjustment to the IEP-attributable share $+27M (consolidated net income $-326M vs attributable to IEP $-299M); SBC=$0M (not separately reported, immaterial); capex=$341M, growth capex=0 (revenue declined), maintenance capex=$341M; plus capitalized refinery turnaround spend $197M treated as maintenance; OE=$-401M; diluted LP units=562M; OE/unit=$-0.71. Reconciliation: attributable net income $-299M + non-cash items $436M (D&A, disposal gains/losses, deferred tax, impairments/write-downs, deconsolidation and credit losses) - maintenance capex - turnarounds = $-401M, ties exactly. Recomputed: prior figure used total capex and left Investment segment securities trading cash in CFO (superseded basis). Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001104659-26-019821.
2024 -$0.65 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, on the IEP-attributable basis. CFO=$832M; dWC=$901M (all working-capital lines plus Investment segment securities purchases/sales, short-sale and derivative cash flows and securities receivables/payables, which are portfolio cash movements, not earnings; the realized/unrealized investment result stays in net income); adjustment to the IEP-attributable share $+97M (consolidated net income $-542M vs attributable to IEP $-445M); SBC=$0M (not separately reported, immaterial); capex=$280M, growth capex=0 (revenue declined), maintenance capex=$280M; plus capitalized refinery turnaround spend $53M treated as maintenance; OE=$-305M; diluted LP units=466M; OE/unit=$-0.65. Reconciliation: attributable net income $-445M + non-cash items $473M (D&A, disposal gains/losses, deferred tax, impairments/write-downs, deconsolidation and credit losses) - maintenance capex - turnarounds = $-305M, ties exactly. Recomputed: prior figure used total capex and left Investment segment securities trading cash in CFO (superseded basis). Source: FY2025 10-K (comparative column), accession 0001104659-26-019821.
2023 -$0.72 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, on the IEP-attributable basis. CFO=$3,736M; dWC=$3,978M (all working-capital lines plus Investment segment securities purchases/sales, short-sale and derivative cash flows and securities receivables/payables, which are portfolio cash movements, not earnings; the realized/unrealized investment result stays in net income); adjustment to the IEP-attributable share $+328M (consolidated net income $-1,012M vs attributable to IEP $-684M); SBC=$0M (not separately reported, immaterial); capex=$303M, growth capex=0 (revenue declined), maintenance capex=$303M; plus capitalized refinery turnaround spend $57M treated as maintenance; OE=$-274M; diluted LP units=382M; OE/unit=$-0.72. Reconciliation: attributable net income $-684M + non-cash items $770M (D&A, disposal gains/losses, deferred tax, impairments/write-downs, deconsolidation and credit losses) - maintenance capex - turnarounds = $-274M, ties exactly. Recomputed: prior figure used total capex and left Investment segment securities trading cash in CFO (superseded basis). Source: FY2025 10-K (comparative column), accession 0001104659-26-019821.
2022 $0.01 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, on the IEP-attributable basis. CFO=$1,055M; dWC=$555M (all working-capital lines plus Investment segment securities purchases/sales, short-sale and derivative cash flows and securities receivables/payables, which are portfolio cash movements, not earnings; the realized/unrealized investment result stays in net income); adjustment to the IEP-attributable share $-158M (consolidated net income $-25M vs attributable to IEP $-183M); SBC=$0M (not separately reported, immaterial); capex=$338M, growth capex=82 (capex/revenue mean 2.89% x revenue change +2858), maintenance capex=$256M; plus capitalized refinery turnaround spend $83M treated as maintenance; OE=$3M; diluted LP units=316M; OE/unit=$0.01. Reconciliation: attributable net income $-183M + non-cash items $525M (D&A, disposal gains/losses, deferred tax, impairments/write-downs, deconsolidation and credit losses) - maintenance capex - turnarounds = $3M, ties exactly. Recomputed: prior figure used total capex and left Investment segment securities trading cash in CFO (superseded basis). Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001558370-23-002068.
2021 -$1.39 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, on the IEP-attributable basis. CFO=$321M; dWC=$504M (all working-capital lines plus Investment segment securities purchases/sales, short-sale and derivative cash flows and securities receivables/payables, which are portfolio cash movements, not earnings; the realized/unrealized investment result stays in net income); adjustment to the IEP-attributable share $-18M (consolidated net income $-500M vs attributable to IEP $-518M); SBC=$0M (not separately reported, immaterial); capex=$305M, growth capex=150 (capex/revenue mean 2.89% x revenue change +5215), maintenance capex=$155M; plus capitalized refinery turnaround spend $5M treated as maintenance; OE=$-361M; diluted LP units=260M; OE/unit=$-1.39. Reconciliation: attributable net income $-518M + non-cash items $317M (D&A, disposal gains/losses, deferred tax, impairments/write-downs, deconsolidation and credit losses) - maintenance capex - turnarounds = $-361M, ties exactly. Recomputed: prior figure used total capex and left Investment segment securities trading cash in CFO (superseded basis). Source: FY2022 10-K (comparative column), accession 0001558370-23-002068.
2020 -$6.62 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, on the IEP-attributable basis. CFO=$-416M; dWC=$1,503M (all working-capital lines plus Investment segment securities purchases/sales, short-sale and derivative cash flows and securities receivables/payables, which are portfolio cash movements, not earnings; the realized/unrealized investment result stays in net income); adjustment to the IEP-attributable share $+815M (consolidated net income $-2,468M vs attributable to IEP $-1,653M); SBC=$0M (not separately reported, immaterial); capex=$199M, growth capex=0 (revenue declined), maintenance capex=$199M; plus capitalized refinery turnaround spend $159M treated as maintenance; OE=$-1,462M; diluted LP units=221M; OE/unit=$-6.62. Reconciliation: attributable net income $-1,653M + non-cash items $549M (D&A, disposal gains/losses, deferred tax, impairments/write-downs, deconsolidation and credit losses) - maintenance capex - turnarounds = $-1,462M, ties exactly. Source: FY2022 10-K (comparative column), accession 0001558370-23-002068.
2019 -$5.79 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex, on the IEP-attributable basis. CFO=$-1,460M; dWC=$104M (all working-capital lines plus Investment segment securities purchases/sales, short-sale and derivative cash flows and securities receivables/payables, which are portfolio cash movements, not earnings; the realized/unrealized investment result stays in net income); adjustment to the IEP-attributable share $+693M (consolidated net income $-1,791M vs attributable to IEP $-1,098M); SBC=$0M (not separately reported, immaterial); capex=$250M, growth capex=0 (revenue declined), maintenance capex=$250M; plus capitalized refinery turnaround spend $38M treated as maintenance; OE=$-1,159M; diluted LP units=200M; OE/unit=$-5.79. Reconciliation: attributable net income $-1,098M + non-cash items $227M (D&A, disposal gains/losses, deferred tax, impairments/write-downs, deconsolidation and credit losses) - maintenance capex - turnarounds = $-1,159M, ties exactly. Source: FY2021 10-K (comparative column), accession 0001558370-22-002150.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States (South, Midwest, Northeast, West; refining and fertilizer sales concentrated in the Midwest including Kansas, Oklahoma and Iowa); smaller sales in Europe, South America and Asia through Viskase food packaging
Historical growth strategy
Grows by buying controlling stakes in out-of-favour or distressed companies, often after activist campaigns, and holding them as consolidated subsidiaries, funded by the investment funds, holding company notes and, in recent years, new units issued through at-the-market sales and unit-paid distributions; value has come mostly from trading and activism rather than organic growth of the operating businesses.
Chart analysis
A chartist would see a long, persistent downtrend: the units peaked above $100 in 2013-2014, declined through the late 2010s, then collapsed after the May 2023 short report and the successive cuts to the distribution, breaking every prior support level. Since then the price has made a series of lower highs and lower lows into the single digits, trading below its long-term moving averages with no confirmed base or reversal pattern; rallies have faded. The trend remains bearish until the price can hold above its 200-day moving average.
Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of IEP. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.