2025
$0.34
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000024090-26-000011. CFO=$17,986K. WC removed (short-cycle timing, not structural insurance economics): accrued investment income -695; due premiums 422; federal income tax receivable -476; commissions payable/other liabilities -1,332; other net -645; net WC=-2,726. Structural items kept inside CFO as core recurring operating cash flow (judgment call, applied consistently across all years in this series): net deferred policy acquisition costs -20,902 (cost of writing new business - domestic CLOA final-expense volume has grown sharply since Q3 2023), change in future policy benefit reserves -10,795 (legacy international/traditional block now in net run-off - matured endowment benefits rose to $76.1M from $52.9M as a concentrated cohort of decades-old endowment policies reaches maturity), change in other policyholders liabilities +32,022 (growing policyholder account balances - now the largest structural cash source), change in reinsurance recoverable -3,933. SBC=$2,774K. Capex (property/equipment)=$447K; revenue=$255,616K so capex is <0.2% of revenue in every year of the series and growth capex rounds to ~0; maintenance capex=capex. OE=17,986-(-2,726)-2,774-447=$17,491K. Diluted shares=51,456K (Class A, if-converted; all net income allocated to Class A). OE/sh=$0.34. VALUATION ANCHOR: median of FY2023-FY2025 (this year, FY2024 and FY2023) = $0.34/sh (~$17.5M). This 3-year window is used instead of the full 10-year history because FY2016-FY2022 describes a structurally different, faster-growing reserve book (future policy benefit reserves grew $30-77M/yr in that period vs. shrinking $0.4-10.8M/yr in FY2023-FY2025) that is no longer representative of the business today; FY2018 and FY2021 were additionally excluded as one-off tax-driven outliers (see those years methodology). Reconciliation check: each year ties exactly to the as-filed cash-flow statement (verified to the dollar), since the CFO figure and every reconciling line were taken directly from the filed statement rather than reconstructed from separate XBRL tag pulls.
2024
$0.33
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2025 10-K comparative column, accession 0000024090-26-000011. CFO=$31,918K. WC removed: accrued investment income -186; due premiums -457; federal income tax receivable 1,398; commissions payable/other liabilities 13,754; other net -1,414; net WC=13,095. Structural items kept in CFO: net DAC -23,867 (domestic final-expense sales accelerating sharply since Q3 2023), future policy benefit reserves -423, other policyholders liabilities +22,476, reinsurance recoverable -2,950. SBC=$1,517K. Capex=$663K (revenue $245,001K, growth capex ~0). OE=31,918-13,095-1,517-663=$16,643K. Diluted shares=50,748K. OE/sh=$0.33. In the valuation anchor window (FY2023-FY2025).
2023
$0.48
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2023 10-K (first year of LDTI adoption), accession 0000024090-24-000031. CFO=$22,056K. WC removed: accrued investment income -229; due premiums 565; federal income tax receivable -922; commissions payable/other liabilities -917; other net -1,616; net WC=-3,119. Structural items kept in CFO: net DAC -12,841 (rising - reflects accelerating new-business acquisition cost), future policy benefit reserves -4,062 (first year this line turns negative - legacy reserve block now shrinking as older policies mature), other policyholders liabilities +10,325, reinsurance recoverable +569. SBC=$588K. Capex=$442K (revenue $240,680K, growth capex ~0). OE=22,056-(-3,119)-588-442=$24,145K. Diluted shares=50,681K. OE/sh=$0.48. Included in the valuation anchor window (FY2023-FY2025): first year on the current LDTI basis and the year the legacy reserve run-off becomes visible, i.e. representative of the business as it exists now.
2022
$0.91
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2023 10-K comparative column (LDTI-restated), accession 0000024090-24-000031. CFO=$56,920K. WC removed: accrued investment income -934; due premiums -1,081; federal income tax receivable 161; commissions payable/other liabilities 12,652; other net -674; net WC=10,124. Structural items (net DAC, reserves, other policyholders liabilities, reinsurance recoverable) kept in CFO. SBC=$461K. Capex=$100K (revenue $232,524K, growth capex ~0). OE=56,920-10,124-461-100=$46,235K. Diluted shares=50,867K. OE/sh=$0.91.
2021
$1.93
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2023 10-K comparative column (LDTI-restated), accession 0000024090-24-000031. CFO=$40,455K. WC removed: accrued investment income -60; due premiums 561; federal income tax receivable -44,678; commissions payable/other liabilities -15,450; other net 875; net WC=-58,752. Structural items kept in CFO: net DAC -9,295, future policy benefit reserves +3,890, other policyholders liabilities +20,247, reinsurance recoverable +214; also a $12,624K non-cash goodwill impairment add-back (correct per formula but flagged as capital destruction - reflected in the bear case narrative, not the earnings level). SBC=$646K. Capex=$1,007K (revenue $250,546K, growth capex ~0). OE=40,455-(-58,752)-646-1,007=$97,554K. Diluted shares=50,645K. OE/sh=$1.93. FLAG: another very large federal tax receivable swing (-44,678); treated as an outlier along with FY2018 and excluded from the valuation anchor window.
2020
$0.86
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0000024090-21-000012 (pre-LDTI basis). CFO=$48,834K. WC removed: accrued investment income 1,316; due premiums 1,347; federal income tax receivable -706; commissions payable/other liabilities 3,702; other net -3,043; net WC=2,616. Structural items kept in CFO. SBC=$2,223K. Capex=$221K (revenue $238,856K, growth capex ~0). OE=48,834-2,616-2,223-221=$43,774K. Diluted shares=50,940K. OE/sh=$0.86.
2019
$1.26
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2020 10-K comparative column, accession 0000024090-21-000012 (pre-LDTI basis). CFO=$72,223K. WC removed: accrued investment income 1,014; due premiums 669; federal income tax receivable 3,341; commissions payable/other liabilities 2,924; other net -1,707; net WC=6,241. Structural items (net DAC, reserves, other policyholders liabilities, reinsurance recoverable) kept in CFO. SBC=$2,099K. Capex=$511K (revenue $250,545K, growth capex ~0). OE=72,223-6,241-2,099-511=$63,372K. Diluted shares=50,349K. OE/sh=$1.26.
2018
$2.65
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2020 10-K comparative column, accession 0000024090-21-000012 (pre-LDTI basis). CFO=$84,620K. WC removed: accrued investment income 595; due premiums -560; federal income tax receivable -52,079; commissions payable/other liabilities 3,609; other net -752; net WC=-49,187. Structural items kept in CFO: net DAC, future policy benefit reserves, other policyholders liabilities, reinsurance recoverable. SBC=$410K. Capex=$724K (revenue $244,006K, growth capex ~0). OE=84,620-(-49,187)-410-724=$132,673K. Diluted shares=50,141K. OE/sh=$2.65. FLAG: this year's add-back is dominated by an unusually large federal income tax receivable swing (-52,079) coincident with a large non-cash deferred tax expense (+62,633), both consistent with one-time TCJA-related tax remeasurement/settlement. Treated as an outlier; excluded from the valuation anchor window.
2017
$1.75
▼
OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0000024090-18-000011. CFO=$93,012K. WC items removed (short-cycle timing): accrued investment income -1,159; due premiums 87; federal income tax receivable 11,808; commissions payable/other liabilities -6,753; other net 59; net WC=4,042. Kept inside CFO as core recurring insurance cash flow (not stripped): net deferred policy acquisition costs, change in future policy benefit reserves, change in other policyholders liabilities, change in reinsurance recoverable - these reflect writing/running off long-duration contracts, not AR/AP-style timing. SBC not separately disclosed this filing (=0). Capex=$1,326K; revenue=$252,627K so growth capex ~0; maintenance capex=capex. OE=93,012-4,042-0-1,326=$87,644K. Diluted shares=50,082K. OE/sh=$1.75. Note: FY2017 net income was -$38,127K (large deferred tax expense +20,687 and goodwill write-off +4,631, both non-cash and retained in CFO per formula) - does not affect CFO-based OE.
2016
$1.75
▼
OE = CFO minus working-capital movement minus SBC minus maintenance capex. CFO=$102,271K (FY2016 10-K, accession 0000024090-17-000008). Working-capital items removed (treated as short-cycle timing, not structural insurance economics): change in accrued investment income (-2,497), due premiums (-1,033), federal income tax receivable (9,287), commissions payable and other liabilities (6,434), other net (224); net WC=12,415. Items kept inside CFO as core recurring insurance operating cash flow (not stripped): net deferred policy acquisition costs, change in future policy benefit reserves, change in other policyholders liabilities, change in reinsurance recoverable -- these reflect the structural mechanics of writing/running off long-duration contracts, not AR/AP-style timing swings. SBC not separately disclosed in this filing (treated as $0). Capex (purchase of property and equipment)=$2,214K; growth capex ~0 (capex <1% of revenue, revenue basis $245,406K); maintenance capex=capex=$2,214K. OE=102,271-12,415-0-2,214=$87,642K. Diluted shares=50,082K. OE/sh=$1.75.
Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.