valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

Beacon Financial Corp (BBT) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$24.00 ComplexityHigh Updated
$32.80 $44.72
bear $32.80 base $36.67 bull $44.72 margin of safety $24.00 market price* $27.50
This is a Northeast U.S. regional bank holding company operating roughly 147 full-service banking offices across New England (Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire) and New York State, alongside a smaller wealth-management arm and a specialty equipment-finance unit. On September 1, 2025 the company completed a merger of equals between the legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp (the surviving legal entity, renamed Beacon Financial Corporation, ticker changed from BHLB to BBT) and Brookline Bancorp. Because of how the deal was structured for accounting purposes, Brookline's own historical results - not Berkshire's - became the company's reported history for 2023 and 2024, while 2025 blends about eight months of Brookline standalone with about four months of the newly combined bank. This is genuinely a new business only about one year old, so the valuation below leans most heavily on the first clean quarter of combined operations (the fourth quarter of 2025) and on adding together each predecessor's last full standalone year, rather than on the pre-merger multi-year history, which describes companies that no longer exist independently. On that basis, the combined bank's normalized owner earnings - cash generated by the business after removing stock-based compensation and the capital spending needed just to maintain the branch network - comes to roughly $2.20 per share today. Two accounting items are worth understanding because they make reported net income look choppier than the underlying cash economics: the merger created a $174 million core-deposit intangible that is now being amortized (a non-cash accounting charge with no cash effect, added back in this analysis), and the company recorded a one-time 'Day 1' credit-loss provision on loan commitments assumed in the deal, which inflated the 2025 provision line to $41.4 million from $21.6 million the year before. Neither item reduces the cash the business actually throws off. The base case assumes the bank holds its current earning power roughly flat - no growth is assumed beyond what the combined franchise is already producing, because nothing specific has been disclosed (no branch-expansion plan, no dated cost-savings target) to justify assuming more. That flat stream, discounted at a standard 6% rate, is worth about $36.67 per share. The bear case reflects two concrete, evidenced risks. First, both predecessor banks have recent histories of costly acquisitions: Berkshire took a $554 million non-cash goodwill write-down in 2020, and Brookline itself was integrating an acquisition (PCSB Bank) as recently as 2023. Second, the newly combined, larger loan book (loans were marked at a $9.1 billion fair value in the merger) carries real integration and credit risk that a bank this size did not carry alone. This case assumes earning power erodes by roughly 3% a year for four years - reflecting funding-cost pressure and credit costs that stay elevated rather than normalizing - before stabilizing at a lower, permanent plateau. That path is worth about $32.80 per share. Note that a repeat of a 2020-style goodwill write-down would hurt reported earnings but not this valuation, since it is a non-cash charge and does not touch the cash the business generates. The bull case assumes the integration goes well: branch and back-office overlap gets eliminated as planned, and the combined bank's earning power grows at roughly 4% a year for five years - consistent with the step-up already visible in the fourth quarter of 2025, the first full quarter of combined operations - before leveling off. That case is worth about $44.72 per share. Given this is a one-year-old combination with only one clean quarter of results to point to, a meaningful margin of safety is warranted. The margin-of-safety price is about $24 per share, roughly a 35% discount to the base case, to compensate for the added uncertainty of a business still being integrated. Two items could not be fully reconciled from the filings: the exact 2025 stock-based compensation figure (not separately broken out for the year, so the 2024 figure was carried forward as an estimate) and a large gap between reported operating cash flow and net income for 2025 that appears related to balance-sheet changes from the merger but could not be fully traced to a specific cause; both are noted plainly rather than built into the valuation.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $1.44 ▼
Transition year: approximately 8 months as Legacy Brookline standalone plus approximately 4 months as the combined Beacon Financial Corporation following the September 1, 2025 merger of equals with Brookline Bancorp (renamed from Berkshire Hills Bancorp; ticker changed from BHLB to BBT). CFO as reported was $224.444M, but it could not be reconciled within the project's 5% tolerance against net income plus identifiable non-cash items and disclosed working-capital tags (implied gap driven by unidentified reconciling items, likely balance-sheet repositioning/purchase-accounting cash effects from the merger) - flagged as a lower-confidence, merger-distorted year per project methodology (non-recurring event). OE instead estimated via the independent reconciliation route: NI $90.271M + amortization $15.225M (elevated due to a new $174.4M core deposit intangible from the merger) + provision for credit losses $41.392M (includes a one-time Day-1 CECL charge on assumed unfunded commitments) - estimated SBC $8.318M (2024 figure carried forward, not separately disclosed for FY2025) - maintenance capex $12.288M = $126.282M; diluted shares=87.702M; OE/sh=$1.440. This blended figure is consistent with a weighted average of the ~$1.03-1.09/share pre-merger Brookline run-rate and an estimated ~$2.10-2.25/share post-merger combined run-rate (see Analysis record for derivation). Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001628280-26-013247.
2024 $1.03 ▼
Legacy Brookline Bancorp standalone (recast to post-merger share count), the year before the Beacon Financial Corporation merger of equals closed. OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex. Revenue declined YoY so maintenance capex=total capex=$4.985M. CFO=$104.954M; SBC=$8.318M; OE=$91.651M; diluted shares=89.302M; OE/sh=$1.026. Reconciliation check: NI $68.715M + amortization $6.746M + provision $21.644M - maintenance capex $4.985M = $92.120M vs. CFO-based OE $91.651M, a 0.5% gap. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001628280-26-013247.
2023 $1.09 ▼
Following the September 1, 2025 merger of equals with Brookline Bancorp, the transaction was accounted for as a reverse merger under ASC 805: Legacy Brookline was deemed the accounting acquirer, so its historical financial statements (recast to the post-merger share count via the 0.42 exchange ratio) became the registrant's historical financials for 2023-2024, replacing the previously reported Legacy Berkshire figures for these years. This FY2023 row is Legacy Brookline standalone (which itself completed the PCSB Bank acquisition in 2023). OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$116.597M; SBC=$7.498M (last available); capex=$12.357M treated fully as maintenance (no valid same-entity prior-year revenue to compute growth capex across the reporting-entity change); OE=$96.742M; diluted shares=88.451M (post-merger recast); OE/sh=$1.094. Reconciliation check: NI $74.999M + amortization $7.840M + provision $38.207M + other non-cash $(14.387)M - maintenance capex $12.357M = $94.302M vs. CFO-based OE $96.742M, a 2.6% gap, within tolerance. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001628280-26-013247, Note 2 Business Combinations.
2022 $2.22 ▼
OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex (Legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp, last full pre-merger year). Revenue declined YoY so growth capex=$0; maintenance capex=total capex=$1.495M. CFO=$110.739M; SBC=$7.338M; OE=$101.906M; diluted shares=45.914M; OE/sh=$2.220. Source: FY2024 10-K, accession 0001108134-25-000003. This year is used as the pre-merger Berkshire leg of the sum-of-parts pro forma anchor for the post-merger combined entity (see FY2025 record).
2021 $1.62 ▼
OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex (Legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp). CFO=$84.788M (latest restated figure; originally reported as $105.477M in the FY2021 and FY2022 10-Ks, revised down in the FY2023 10-K - latest restated figure used per methodology). SBC=$4.170M; capex=$1.606M, growth capex=$1.126M (revenue grew $51.325M), maintenance capex=$0.480M; OE=$80.138M; diluted shares=49.554M; OE/sh=$1.617. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0001108134-24-000003.
2020 $4.29 ▼
OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex (Legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp). Revenue declined YoY so growth capex=$0; maintenance capex=total capex=$7.208M. CFO=$227.641M; SBC=$4.727M; OE=$215.706M; diluted shares=50.270M; OE/sh=$4.291. Note: FY2020 also recorded a $553.8M non-cash goodwill impairment producing a GAAP net loss of $533.0M; owner earnings is unaffected because CFO already excludes this non-cash charge - a real example of the automatic non-cash add-back described in the methodology. Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001108134-23-000006.
2019 $1.95 ▼
OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex (Legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp). CFO=$111.525M; SBC=$4.812M; capex=$10.565M, growth capex=$0.411M (revenue grew $18.736M), maintenance capex=$10.154M; OE=$96.559M; diluted shares=49.421M; OE/sh=$1.954. Source: FY2021 10-K, accession 0001108134-22-000004.
2018 $4.53 ▼
OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex (Legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp). CFO=$222.254M; SBC=$4.759M; capex=$9.349M, growth capex=$1.433M (revenue grew $65.317M), maintenance capex=$7.916M; OE=$209.579M; diluted shares=46.231M; OE/sh=$4.533. Note: CFO this year was unusually high relative to net income ($105.765M), likely reflecting mortgage-banking/loan-sale cash activity typical of a commercial bank; excluded from the valuation anchor as a pre-transformation, non-representative data point. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001108134-21-000007.
2017 $1.59 ▼
OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex (Legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp). CFO=$78.091M (latest restated, down from $78.091M as originally filed - consistent); SBC=$5.102M; capex=$11.256M (latest restated from $12.528M originally), growth capex=$1.472M (revenue grew $67.089M), maintenance capex=$9.784M; OE=$63.205M; diluted shares=39.695M; OE/sh=$1.592. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001108134-20-000002 (latest restated figures).
2016 $2.73 ▼
OE = CFO - SBC - maintenance capex (pre-merger Legacy Berkshire Hills Bancorp). CFO=$98.142M; SBC=$4.621M; capex=$9.101M, capex/revenue ratio (mean 2014-2022)=2.19%, revenue grew $29.981M YoY so growth capex=$0.658M, maintenance capex=$8.443M; OE=$85.078M; diluted shares=31.167M; OE/sh=$2.730. Working-capital movement not separately disclosed under this filer's pre-merger tagging convention; treated as embedded/immaterial. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0001108134-19-000002 (latest restated figure for FY2016).

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
Northeast United States: New England (Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire) and New York State, served through a roughly 147-office retail and commercial banking network.
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.