2025
$0.58
▼
OE = continuing-operations CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex, computed by backing the B Medical Systems (held-for-sale/discontinued) business out of Azenta's consolidated cash-flow statement. Consolidated CFO (FY2025, Oct'24-Sep'25) = $72,181K. B Medical's estimated CFO = net loss $(79,542)K + D&A $3,768K + non-cash loss on assets held for sale $93,118K + working-capital effect (from Sept'25 vs Sept'24 held-for-sale balance-sheet deltas) $6,042K = $23,386K. Continuing-ops CFO = 72,181-23,386 = $48,795K. Consolidated working-capital movement (AR+Inventory+AP+deferred revenue+accrued warranty+accrued comp+LT income tax receivable+other, per CF statement) = $(22,837)K; less B Medical's WC effect $6,042K = continuing-ops WC movement $(28,879)K. SBC (consolidated, B Medical portion immaterial/not separately disclosed) = $20,881K. Capex: consolidated $33,857K less B Medical capex $2,356K = continuing-ops capex $31,501K. Maintenance capex: capex_ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over FY2023-2025 continuing-ops = 5.43%; growth capex = 5.43% x (593,821-573,448 revenue growth) = $1,107K; maintenance capex = 31,501-1,107 = $30,394K. OE = 48,795-(-28,879)-20,881-30,394 = $26,399K. Diluted shares = 45,896K. OE/sh = $0.575. Revenue, D&A, capex and B Medical segment figures per FY2025 10-K (accession 0001437749-25-036931), Note 3 Discontinued Operations. This is the most recent of the 3 years (FY2023-2025) used as the owner-earnings anchor for this pure-play life-sciences (Sample Management Solutions + Multiomics) business, following Azenta's Feb-2022 sale of its semiconductor automation business and its announced (Q1 FY2025) divestiture of B Medical Systems.
2024
$0.39
▼
OE = continuing-operations CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex, with B Medical Systems (now held-for-sale/discontinued) backed out of Azenta's consolidated FY2024 (Oct'23-Sep'24) cash-flow statement, as restated in the FY2025 10-K (accession 0001437749-25-036931). Consolidated CFO=$49,743K. B Medical estimated CFO = net loss $(140,531)K + D&A $7,810K + non-cash goodwill/intangible impairment $111,317K + working-capital effect (assumed ~$0; FY2023 B Medical balance sheet not disclosed so this component could not be isolated - noted as a data-quality limitation) = $(21,404)K. Continuing-ops CFO = 49,743-(-21,404)=$71,147K. Consolidated working-capital movement (AR, inventory, AP, deferred revenue, accrued warranty, accrued comp, other) = $3,039K; B Medical WC assumed $0 (same limitation); continuing-ops WC movement = $3,039K. SBC (consolidated, B Medical portion not separately disclosed/immaterial) = $14,467K. Capex: consolidated $37,392K less B Medical capex $3,344K = continuing-ops capex $34,048K. Maintenance capex: capex_ratio=5.43% (mean FY2023-25 continuing-ops capex/revenue); growth capex = 5.43% x (573,448-551,486)=$1,193K; maintenance capex=34,048-1,193=$32,855K. OE=71,147-3,039-14,467-32,855=$20,786K. Diluted shares=53,175K (down sharply y/y from large share repurchases funded by 2022 semiconductor-business sale proceeds). OE/sh=$0.391. This is the median of the FY2023-2025 window and is used as the owner-earnings anchor.
2023
$0.20
▼
OE = continuing-operations CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex, with B Medical Systems backed out of Azenta's consolidated FY2023 (Oct'22-Sep'23) cash-flow statement as restated in the FY2025 10-K (accession 0001437749-25-036931). Consolidated CFO=$5,834K. B Medical estimated CFO = net loss $(5,222)K + D&A $7,935K + non-cash contingent-consideration fair-value adjustment $(18,549)K + working-capital effect (assumed ~$0; FY2022 B Medical balance sheet not disclosed, noted as a data-quality limitation) = $(15,836)K. Continuing-ops CFO = 5,834-(-15,836)=$21,670K. Consolidated working-capital movement = $(29,038)K; B Medical WC assumed $0; continuing-ops WC movement = $(29,038)K. SBC (consolidated) = $9,376K. Capex: consolidated $39,436K less B Medical capex $11,569K = continuing-ops capex $27,867K; no prior-year continuing-ops revenue was available to compute a growth-capex carve-out for this first year of the window, so full capex was treated as maintenance capex (a conservative simplification, stated as a judgment call). OE=21,670-(-29,038)-9,376-27,867=$13,465K. Diluted shares=66,253K. OE/sh=$0.203. First year of the 3-year (FY2023-2025) post-transformation anchor window; FY2022 and earlier describe a different, larger business (combined with the semiconductor-automation equipment segment sold Feb-2022) and are excluded from the anchor.
2022
-$7.35
▼
Transition year - EXCLUDED from the valuation anchor. FY2022 (Oct'21-Sep'22) net income of $2,132,859K includes the one-time pre/after-tax gain on the Feb-1-2022 sale of the semiconductor automation business to Thomas H. Lee Partners; net cash provided by operating activities was nonetheless $(466,046)K, an unusually large outflow that appears driven mainly by cash taxes paid on that divestiture gain and related one-time settlement/transaction items, not by the ongoing life-sciences business. Simplified calc (WC movement not separately isolated for this excluded year): OE = CFO $(466,046)K - SBC $10,666K - capex $73,435K (all treated as maintenance, no growth-capex carve-out attempted) = $(550,147)K. Diluted shares=74,897K. OE/sh=$(7.35). This figure is a one-off accounting/tax artifact of the divestiture, not a representative earnings level, and is excluded from the anchor per the project's treatment of transformational years.
2021
$0.93
▼
Pre-transformation year - EXCLUDED from the valuation anchor; describes the old, larger Brooks Automation business combining semiconductor automation equipment (sold Feb-2022) with life sciences, and is not comparable to the current pure-play life-sciences company. Simplified calc from as-filed FY2021 (Oct'20-Sep'21, accession 0001558370-21-016314) consolidated figures, without separate working-capital isolation: OE = CFO $149,857K - SBC $27,456K - capex $52,805K (treated fully as maintenance) = $69,596K. Diluted shares=74,455K. OE/sh=$0.935.
2020
-$0.25
▼
Pre-transformation year - EXCLUDED from the valuation anchor; combined semiconductor-automation + life-sciences business. Simplified calc from as-filed FY2020 (Oct'19-Sep'20, accession 0001558370-20-013971) consolidated figures, without separate working-capital isolation: OE = CFO $37,866K - SBC $16,317K - capex $39,924K (treated fully as maintenance, a COVID-affected year with elevated capex relative to CFO) = $(18,375)K. Diluted shares=73,850K. OE/sh=$(0.249).
2019
$0.65
▼
Pre-transformation year - EXCLUDED from the valuation anchor; combined semiconductor-automation + life-sciences business (also includes a large one-time item in reported net income of $437,416K net income vs $90,898K CFO, likely a non-operating gain, not investigated further as this year is not used in the valuation). Simplified calc from as-filed FY2019 (Oct'18-Sep'19, accession 0001558370-19-011541) consolidated figures, without separate working-capital isolation: OE = CFO $90,898K - SBC $20,113K - capex $23,861K (treated fully as maintenance) = $46,924K. Diluted shares=72,386K. OE/sh=$0.648.
Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.