valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

TEJON RANCH CO (TRC) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

ComplexityHigh Updated
-$7.07 $2.51
bear -$7.07 base -$2.27 bull $2.51 market price* $16.34
Tejon Ranch owns roughly 270,000 contiguous acres along Interstate 5 between Los Angeles and Bakersfield, California. Its cash comes from several small streams: the Tejon Ranch Commerce Center (TRCC), where it leases 32 acres to the Pastoria power plant ($4.7M of rent in 2025, with the lease expiring in 2030), collects communication and commercial rents, and occasionally sells land; joint ventures that own the Petro travel plaza with TravelCenters of America (Tejon's share of earnings was $6.1M in 2025), five fully leased industrial buildings with Majestic Realty totaling 2.8 million square feet, and the Outlets at Tejon, which loses money; royalties from cement rock, aggregate and oil, plus resale of banked water; almonds, pistachios and wine grapes; hunting, filming and grazing; and, since May 2025, Terra Vista at Tejon, a 228-unit apartment community. Against these sit corporate overhead of $10-14M a year and the cost of carrying three large planned communities: Mountain Village (approved for 3,450 homes), Grapevine (approved for 12,000 homes) and Centennial (19,333 homes). Los Angeles County set aside Centennial's approvals on December 2, 2025, after the Court of Appeal upheld a ruling against its environmental review, so that project now has to go through approval again. What the business earns. We start from operating cash flow, strip out working-capital swings, and subtract stock pay and the spending needed to keep farm equipment and orchards going (about $6.5M a year). On that basis the business has earned very little. The median over 2018-2025 is about $1.5M a year, or 6 cents a share, and the range runs from a $6.6M shortfall in 2021 to a $9.6M surplus in 2019. We use 2018-2025 because it starts after the 2017 rights offering that set today's share count and takes in a full farm-price cycle (the 2022-2024 almond and pistachio slump), both wet and dry water years, and the 2020 shutdown. Two accounting judgements matter. First, Tejon adds the interest on its credit line to the cost of its development projects instead of expensing it, so its operating cash flow is already before interest. We value it that way and then subtract the debt. Second, we treat spending on real estate development, on building Terra Vista and on water purchases as investment, not upkeep. What that spending creates is credited only where it already produces cash or comes from a routine the company has run for many years. In 2025 these earnings fell 38%, from $1.1M to $0.7M. Our base case nonetheless starts higher, for two dated reasons. Terra Vista began leasing in May 2025 and was about 71% leased by March 2026. And 2025 corporate costs were about $3M higher than 2024, mainly from a contested board election. Operating cash flow of $4.6M in the first half of 2026, against negative $1.7M a year earlier, fits that reading. Debt. At June 30, 2026 Tejon owed $95.9M on its AgWest Farm Credit revolving line and held $15.1M of cash and securities, so net debt is about $80.9M. The line has a $160M limit, matures on January 1, 2029, and costs SOFR plus 2.25%, before farm-credit patronage refunds of about 1-1.25 points. Borrowing has roughly doubled from $47.9M at the end of 2023, mostly to build Terra Vista and TRCC infrastructure. The line requires, among other covenants, debt-service coverage of at least 1.5 times at each year end. The company was in compliance at December 31, 2025. Base case. The 2018-2025 earnings level continues, with three additions and one charge. - Terra Vista is already built and adds about $1.8M a year of net rent once stabilized. - TRCC keeps absorbing land at its long-run pace. It has used 8.2 million of its 19.3 million square feet of industrial approvals, and the Majestic ventures added five buildings in about seven years. We credit about $0.35M a year of added venture cash flow each year through year 10, the equivalent of one new building every two years at roughly $0.7M each, plus $1M a year of land-sale profit. Against that we charge $1M a year for infrastructure and venture equity the company must fund after public-financing reimbursements. - The Pastoria lease is assumed renewed in 2030 and to run until 2045, California's deadline for fully clean electricity. - The charge: about $2.6M a year that the company itself describes as required to preserve the Mountain Village and Centennial approvals and defend them in court. No value is credited for building homes at Mountain Village, Grapevine or Centennial. None of them has development capital, Centennial must be approved again, and after more than two decades of planning no homes have been built on any of them. On this path the business is worth about $19M against $81M of net debt. That leaves about negative $61M, or negative $2.27 a share: the company owes more than its operations are worth. Bear case. Several named risks arrive together: - A repeat of the 2022-2024 almond and pistachio slump costs about $3M a year for two years. - The Pastoria plant does not renew its ground lease when it expires in 2030, removing $4.7M a year. - Travel-plaza earnings keep eroding, falling $0.2M a year until they are $2M lower. Fuel volumes fell 8.9% in 2025. - Centennial re-approval and Mountain Village and Grapevine permitting continue at the 2025-2026 pace of about $8M a year for three years, then drop to the $2.6M preservation level, and are shelved after year 10. - The company keeps buying 6,693 acre-feet a year under its Nickel water contract through 2044, but wet years leave about $2M a year of it unsold. - Terra Vista stabilizes lower, at $1.3M. - The 2029 refinancing costs about one point more, a cost worth about $6M today. Under these conditions the operations consume cash, and the business is worth about negative $104M. Add $81M of net debt and the refinancing cost, and the shares come to about negative $191M, or negative $7.07 a share. The operations could not carry the debt, and the company would have to sell land or issue shares. This case says the operations would leave nothing for shareholders. It does not say the land is worthless. Bull case. The company's own levers work: - Overhead returns to its 2023 level. - Terra Vista stabilizes at $2.4M. - TRCC adds about $0.5M a year of new venture cash flow every year for 19 years, at roughly the pace of the Majestic ventures, starting with the planned 510,385-square-foot building with Dedeaux Properties. - Land sales match their 2016-2025 average profit of about $3M a year. - The Pastoria lease continues indefinitely. The business is then worth about $149M against $81M of net debt, or about $68M ($2.51 a share). Even in this case, cash flow only overtakes interest on the credit line in about the third year. What the cases leave out. None of the cases puts a price on the land itself: the undeveloped acreage, the approvals at Mountain Village and Grapevine, the remaining TRCC approvals beyond the pace credited, or the banked water, carried at $59M at cost. The filings show no sale price for that land, and its value as housing depends on capital and approvals the company does not yet have. That is the central question for this company. The operations do not cover overhead and debt, and anything the shares are worth beyond that depends on turning land into cash. Margin-of-safety price. We are fairly sure of the earnings level. Eight years of filings show the operations rarely produce more than a few million dollars a year after overhead, and the swings come from farm prices and water years, not from anything hidden. The worst plausible outcome is losing the Pastoria lease in 2030 during a farm slump, while the credit line comes due in 2029. In that event the land, which is not pledged and could be sold or borrowed against, is what protects shareholders, not the operations. If we are wrong, it is most likely about three things: how fast TRCC absorbs land, whether Grapevine's first 620-acre phase attracts capital, and whether overhead falls after the 2025 board contest. The company pays no dividend, so shareholders receive nothing while these questions resolve, and the record shows they can take decades. Because the value of the shares rests on land whose worth the filings do not establish, we cannot name a price at which a 20% annual return is reasonably assured from the business as it stands. No margin-of-safety price is set. Since our previous analysis. The earlier figures were built on a different basis and are not comparable. Two facts differ. Company borrowing, which the earlier note described as essentially repaid, stands at $95.9M on the revolving line. And the Centennial approvals have since been formally set aside, sending that project back through the approval process.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $0.03 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$6,132K; working-capital cash effect=$(2,802)K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $2,271K, current liabilities $(5,073)K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$8,934K; SBC=$1,711K; maintenance capex = reported property & equipment expenditures $6,543K (farm equipment, orchard replacement); real estate development, held-for-lease construction and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment, not maintenance; OE=$680K; diluted shares=26.949M; OE/sh=$0.0252. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001628280-26-019685. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2024 $0.04 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$14,314K; working-capital cash effect=$3,209K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $261K, current liabilities $2,948K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$11,105K; SBC=$4,182K; maintenance capex = reported property & equipment expenditures $5,822K (farm equipment, orchard replacement); real estate development, held-for-lease construction and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment, not maintenance; OE=$1,101K; diluted shares=26.823M; OE/sh=$0.0410. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001628280-26-019685. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2023 $0.35 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$13,655K; working-capital cash effect=$(4,608)K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $(4,476)K, current liabilities $(132)K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$18,263K; SBC=$3,252K; maintenance capex = reported property & equipment expenditures $5,625K (farm equipment, orchard replacement); real estate development, held-for-lease construction and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment, not maintenance; OE=$9,386K; diluted shares=26.707M; OE/sh=$0.3514. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001628280-26-019685. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2022 -$0.06 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$8,531K; working-capital cash effect=$1,836K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $3,244K, current liabilities $(1,408)K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$6,695K; SBC=$2,877K; maintenance capex = $5,323K, estimated as 1.1501x D&A $4,628K (property & equipment expenditures not separately reported before 2023; 1.1501 = mean ratio of P&E expenditures to D&A 2023-2025); real estate development and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment; OE=$(1,505)K; diluted shares=26.653M; OE/sh=$-0.0565. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2022 10-K accession 0000096869-23-000006. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2021 -$0.25 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$2,816K; working-capital cash effect=$(96)K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $(814)K, current liabilities $718K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$2,912K; SBC=$4,271K; maintenance capex = $5,284K, estimated as 1.1501x D&A $4,594K (property & equipment expenditures not separately reported before 2023; 1.1501 = mean ratio of P&E expenditures to D&A 2023-2025); real estate development and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment; OE=$(6,643)K; diluted shares=26.414M; OE/sh=$-0.2515. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2022 10-K accession 0000096869-23-000006. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2020 $0.07 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$15,481K; working-capital cash effect=$3,423K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $5,427K, current liabilities $(2,004)K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$12,058K; SBC=$4,494K; maintenance capex = $5,679K, estimated as 1.1501x D&A $4,938K (property & equipment expenditures not separately reported before 2023; 1.1501 = mean ratio of P&E expenditures to D&A 2023-2025); real estate development and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment; OE=$1,885K; diluted shares=26.346M; OE/sh=$0.0715. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2022 10-K accession 0000096869-23-000006. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2019 $0.37 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$16,045K; working-capital cash effect=$(2,561)K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $154K, current liabilities $(2,715)K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$18,606K; SBC=$3,198K; maintenance capex = $5,792K, estimated as 1.1501x D&A $5,036K (property & equipment expenditures not separately reported before 2023; 1.1501 = mean ratio of P&E expenditures to D&A 2023-2025); real estate development and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment; OE=$9,616K; diluted shares=26.149M; OE/sh=$0.3677. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2019 10-K accession 0000096869-20-000007. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2018 $0.20 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$14,354K; working-capital cash effect=$(242)K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $(2,888)K, current liabilities $2,646K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$14,596K; SBC=$3,248K; maintenance capex = $6,238K, estimated as 1.1501x D&A $5,424K (property & equipment expenditures not separately reported before 2023; 1.1501 = mean ratio of P&E expenditures to D&A 2023-2025); real estate development and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment; OE=$5,110K; diluted shares=25.976M; OE/sh=$0.1967. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2019 10-K accession 0000096869-20-000007. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2017 $0.05 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$9,830K; working-capital cash effect=$(1,388)K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $522K, current liabilities $(1,910)K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$11,218K; SBC=$3,552K; maintenance capex = $6,543K, estimated as 1.1501x D&A $5,689K (property & equipment expenditures not separately reported before 2023; 1.1501 = mean ratio of P&E expenditures to D&A 2023-2025); real estate development and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment; OE=$1,123K; diluted shares=21.718M; OE/sh=$0.0517. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2019 10-K accession 0000096869-20-000007. Reconciliation: net income + D&A + other non-cash items (JV equity earnings vs distributions, deferred tax, SBC, land/water sale profits) equals CFO ex-WC with 0% gap.
2016 -$0.09 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$5,585K; working-capital cash effect=$(3,702)K (receivables/inventories/prepaids $(1,603)K, current liabilities $(2,099)K) removed so CFO ex-WC=$9,287K; SBC=$4,585K; maintenance capex = $6,506K, estimated as 1.1501x D&A $5,657K (property & equipment expenditures not separately reported before 2023; 1.1501 = mean ratio of P&E expenditures to D&A 2023-2025); real estate development and water-asset purchases treated as growth/investment; OE=$(1,804)K; diluted shares=20.785M; OE/sh=$-0.0868. Interest is capitalized into real estate development (investing), so this CFO-based figure is effectively before interest. Land-sale and water-sale profits reported in investing are excluded by CFO. Source: FY2016 10-K accession 0000096869-17-000002 (D&A as restated in FY2018 10-K 0000096869-19-000004). Reconciliation: net income + D&A + SBC + JV distributions - JV equity earnings = $8,401K vs CFO ex-WC $9,287K; the ~$0.9M difference is the small unlisted non-cash items (retirement plan expense, deferred tax, securities premium amortization) in that year's statement; CFO-based figure used.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States: West, California (Kern County and Los Angeles County, along the Interstate 5 corridor at Tejon Ranch Commerce Center); farm crops (almonds, pistachios, wine grapes) sold through California handlers into domestic and export markets.
Historical growth strategy
Monetize a century-old land holding slowly: entitle land for industrial, commercial and residential use, develop the Tejon Ranch Commerce Center through 50/50 joint ventures (TravelCenters of America travel plaza, Majestic Realty industrial buildings, Rockefeller outlets) and occasional land sales, and pursue large master-planned communities (Mountain Village, Grapevine, Centennial) through long entitlement and litigation processes; funded by rights offerings, a farm-credit revolving line and public infrastructure (CFD) bonds, with farming, mineral royalties and water sales as base income.
Chart analysis
A chartist would describe TRC as a long-term laggard: after trading in the $30s around 2013-2014 the stock broke down into the high teens and low $20s by 2016-2018 and has since spent most of its time in a broad sideways range of roughly $13-$22, with rallies repeatedly failing near the top of that band. The pattern is a multi-year base with no sustained trend; a decisive close above the low-$20s would be read as a breakout from that base, while a break below the low teens would signal a new leg down.
Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of TRC. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.