valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

HOME DEPOT, INC. (HD) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$115.00 ComplexityAverage Updated
$207.80 $319.10
bear $207.80 base $255.80 bull $319.10 margin of safety $115.00 market price* $309.63
Home Depot is the largest US home-improvement retailer: 2,359 stores across the United States (including Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam), Canada and Mexico, with online orders making up 15.9% of its $164.7 billion of fiscal 2025 sales. Since 2024 it has also been building a distribution arm for professional contractors: SRS Distribution (roofing, bought in June 2024 for about $17.6 billion) and GMS (wallboard and ceilings, bought in September 2025 for about $5.4 billion). In March 2026 SRS agreed to buy Mingledorff's, a 42-location HVAC distributor in the southeastern states; terms were not disclosed. All values below are per share, in today's dollars. HOW WE MEASURE EARNINGS. We start from operating cash flow and take out swings in working capital (inventory, payables, receivables, taxes payable), the cost of stock compensation ($522 million in fiscal 2025) and the capital spending needed to keep the existing business running ($3.6 billion of the $3.7 billion spent in fiscal 2025; only about $0.1 billion is treated as growth spending). Removing working-capital swings matters here: inventory absorbed $5.4 billion of cash in fiscal 2021 and $2.8 billion in fiscal 2022, then released $4.1 billion in fiscal 2023, which made reported cash flow lurch. On this basis owner earnings per share were $16.10, $17.07, $15.20, $15.45 and $15.39 in fiscal 2021 through 2025 (and $6.74 in fiscal 2016). The calculation reconciles to the company's cash flow statement to the million in every year; in fiscal 2025, net earnings $14,156M + depreciation and amortization $3,514M + intangible amortization $607M + stock compensation $522M + deferred taxes $418M + other $192M = $19,409M, which equals operating cash flow of $16,325M with the $3,084M working-capital outflow added back. Amortization of acquired customer relationships ($607 million in fiscal 2025, up from $186 million in fiscal 2023) is a non-cash charge and is added back; because those relationships wear out, we give the acquired businesses no growth credit and carry a permanent haircut for them in the downside case. DEBT AND THE EARNINGS LEVEL. Shareholders own what is left after lenders, so we value the whole business on the cash it produces before interest (owner earnings plus cash interest paid, $2.42 per share in fiscal 2025) and then subtract what is owed. Cash flow before interest was $17.30, $18.48, $17.01, $17.67 and $17.81 per share in fiscal 2021 through 2025. We use the median, $17.67, as the earnings level. That five-year window includes both the pandemic-era boom and three years of weak home-improvement demand, and the level stayed between $17.0 and $18.5 through both; earlier years describe a smaller business that predates SRS and GMS. We do not use the latest twelve months. First-half fiscal 2026 results (sales up 5.3% to $89.6 billion including acquisitions; net earnings $8.06 billion versus $7.98 billion, up 0.9%, with the first quarter down 4.2% and the second up 4.7%) are consistent with that level and did not move it. At the latest balance sheet (August 2, 2026) the company owed about $46 billion of senior notes, $4.2 billion of commercial paper and $3.1 billion of finance leases, against $2.1 billion of cash (we treat $0.7 billion as surplus; the rest is needed to run the stores). Total borrowings were $52.9 billion, down from $55.8 billion at the start of the fiscal year. As of February 1, 2026, scheduled note repayments were roughly $4.7 billion in the next twelve months, then $3.6, $3.1, $3.9 and $2.1 billion in the following four years, and $32.0 billion beyond that. The notes carry an average fixed interest rate of about 3.9%, locked in for decades in many cases; we credit that saving, which lowers the $46.0 billion of face value to about $40.3 billion, and we add $0.6 billion for the company's interest-rate swap liability. Net debt used is $47.5 billion, or $47.65 per share. Store and equipment operating leases are not subtracted because their payments are already inside operating cash flow. The company has paused share buybacks since March 2024 and has said it does not plan to resume them in fiscal 2026 while it reduces debt, so we credit nothing for buybacks. We could not confirm from the filings whether the Mingledorff's purchase has closed or what it cost; first-half fiscal 2026 acquisition spending was $1.3 billion and the balance sheet we used is after that spending. BASE CASE: $255.8 (business worth $303.5, less $47.65 of net debt, leaving $255.8). Cash flow before interest stays near $17.67 per share. The only growth credited comes from a proven, self-funded program: since fiscal 2023 the company has been executing a plan to open about 80 new stores over five years (finishing in fiscal 2027) and then 15 to 20 a year; it opened 12 in fiscal 2025 on a base of 2,359 stores. Because new stores partly relieve crowded existing ones, and acquired customer relationships wear out, we credit only 0.3% a year for ten years, 0.15% a year for the next ten, and none after that; the earnings then simply persist, because maintenance spending is already charged in full. Growth check: actual growth in fiscal 2025 was a decline of 0.4% in owner earnings per share ($15.39 versus $15.45) and a rise of 0.8% in cash flow before interest per share (1.0% in total dollars); year one of this case assumes 0.3%, below that. Left out: a recovery in home sales or remodeling, rising prices, better margins, buybacks, and any profit from GMS or Mingledorff's beyond what is already in results. GMS contributed about $2.0 billion of sales in its first five months, so a full year would add roughly $3 billion more, but its profit is not disclosed, so nothing is credited. BULL CASE: $319.1 (business worth $366.7, less $47.65 of net debt). Cash flow before interest grows 2.0% a year for ten years and 1.0% a year for the next ten: the store program on its announced schedule plus the ability to pass on cost inflation shown in fiscal 2021 and 2022, when owner earnings per share rose to $16.10 and $17.07, plus $0.30 per share for a full year of GMS sales at the company's own average cash margin. No housing recovery is assumed. BEAR CASE: $207.8 (business worth $255.4, less $47.65 of net debt). We replay the housing downturn of 2007 to 2010, when comparable-store sales fell 6.7%, 8.7% and 6.6% in three straight years and earnings from continuing operations fell from $4.2 billion in fiscal 2007 to $2.3 billion in fiscal 2008, about 45%. The same shape starts next year: owner earnings at 95%, 79% and 56% of today's level in years 1 to 3, then recovering to 59%, 68%, 76%, 84%, 88% and 90% in years 4 to 9, and staying about 10% below today's level afterwards (roughly 4% for the wearing-out of acquired customer relationships, the rest for another cycle later). No growth is credited. Cash flow before interest falls from $17.67 to about $11.0 per share at the trough (about $10.9 billion), still about 4.5 times annual interest of roughly $2.4 billion, so the debt stays serviceable and the maturities could be refinanced; but the $9.20 dividend would exceed owner earnings in years 3 and 4 and would likely be cut. HOW WE TESTED IT. The case rests on the earnings level holding through soft housing. In fiscal 2025 sales rose $5.2 billion, but acquisitions contributed $6.3 billion and the 53rd week in fiscal 2024 took away $2.5 billion; excluding both, sales rose about $1.4 billion, under 1%, which points to a flat level rather than erosion. MARGIN-OF-SAFETY PRICE: $115. We are fairly sure of the earnings level: five years of cash flow before interest inside a $17.0 to $18.5 range, reconciled to the cash flow statement, with underlying sales flat rather than falling. We are least sure of the depth and length of the next housing slump and of whether the company keeps buying businesses (three acquisitions in two years, each adding debt). The worst plausible outcome is a 2007-to-2010 style downturn on top of $52.9 billion of borrowings; the business would survive it because even trough cash flow covers interest 4.5 times and maturities are spread over decades, but the dividend would probably be cut and the shares would be worth about $208 on our bear case. If we are wrong that the level holds by 10%, value falls to about $225; if earnings instead erode 1% a year permanently, to about $200. The price assumes a holding period of about five years, during which the business pays a dividend: the $9.20 annual dividend is about 60% of owner earnings and would be 8% a year on $115. From $115, five years of dividends of about $46 plus an ending value equal to our bear case imply roughly 17% a year; with an ending value equal to our base case, roughly 21% a year. That is why the margin-of-safety price is $115 and not higher: at that price even the bear case comes close to the 20% target. CHANGE SINCE OUR LAST ESTIMATE. Our August 31, 2026 figures (bear $104, base $199, bull $319, margin-of-safety price near $118) were built on a different basis and are not comparable with these; nothing in the business has changed materially since.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $15.39 ▼
Fiscal 2025 (52 weeks ended February 1, 2026). OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$16,325M; working capital cash effect=$-3,084M (receivables 107; merchandise inventories -1,498; other current assets 124; accounts payable and accrued expenses -1,058; deferred revenue -61; income taxes payable -698; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$522M; capex=$3,679M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $164,683M vs prior $159,514M so growth capex=$105M; maintenance capex=$3,574M. OE=$15,313M; diluted shares=995M; OE/sh=$15.39. Cash interest paid=$2,405M ($2.42/sh) is added back only when valuing. The GMS acquisition ($5,410M) is acquisition spend, not capex, and is excluded. UPDATED from $12.19: prior figure used total capex and did not remove the $3.1B working-capital build (a different basis); recomputed for a consistent series. Reconciliation: net earnings 14,156 + D&A 3,514 + intangible amortization 607 + SBC 522 + deferred taxes 418 + other 192 = 19,409 = CFO less working-capital effect (16,325 + 3,084). Source: 0001628280-26-019436 (FY2025 10-K).
2024 $15.45 ▼
Fiscal 2024 (53 weeks ended February 2, 2025). OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$19,810M; working capital cash effect=$679M (receivables 174; merchandise inventories -743; other current assets 86; accounts payable and accrued expenses 518; deferred revenue -165; income taxes payable 809; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$442M; capex=$3,485M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $159,514M vs prior $152,669M so growth capex=$139M; maintenance capex=$3,346M. OE=$15,343M; diluted shares=993M; OE/sh=$15.45. Cash interest paid=$2,199M ($2.21/sh) is added back only when valuing. The SRS acquisition ($17,644M) is acquisition spend, not capex, and is excluded. UPDATED from $16.00: prior figure used total capex and did not remove working-capital movement (a different basis); recomputed for a consistent series. Source: 0000354950-25-000085 (FY2024 10-K; line items per FY2025 10-K 0001628280-26-019436).
2023 $15.20 ▼
Fiscal 2023. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$21,172M; working capital cash effect=$2,333M (receivables 134; merchandise inventories 4,137; other current assets -184; accounts payable and accrued expenses -1,411; deferred revenue -318; income taxes payable -25; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$380M; capex=$3,226M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $152,669M vs prior $157,403M so growth capex=$0M (revenue declined); maintenance capex=$3,226M. OE=$15,233M; diluted shares=1,002M; OE/sh=$15.20. Cash interest paid=$1,809M ($1.81/sh) is added back only when valuing. UPDATED from $17.53: the prior figure included the $2.3B working-capital release from the fiscal 2022 inventory reversal (a different basis); recomputed on the current basis for a consistent series. Source: 0000354950-24-000062 (FY2023 10-K; line items per FY2025 10-K 0001628280-26-019436).
2022 $17.07 ▼
Fiscal 2022. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$14,615M; working capital cash effect=$-6,240M (receivables 111; merchandise inventories -2,830; other current assets -311; accounts payable and accrued expenses -2,577; deferred revenue -526; income taxes payable -107; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$366M; capex=$3,119M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $157,403M vs prior $151,157M so growth capex=$127M; maintenance capex=$2,992M. OE=$17,497M; diluted shares=1,025M; OE/sh=$17.07. Cash interest paid=$1,449M ($1.41/sh) is added back only when valuing. UPDATED from $10.86: the prior figure used total capex and did not remove the large inventory-build working-capital swing (a different basis); recomputed on the current basis for a consistent series. Source: 0000354950-23-000059 (FY2022 10-K).
2021 $16.10 ▼
Fiscal 2021. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$16,571M; working capital cash effect=$-3,043M (receivables -435; merchandise inventories -5,403; other current assets -330; accounts payable and accrued expenses 2,401; deferred revenue 775; income taxes payable -51; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$399M; capex=$2,566M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $151,157M vs prior $132,110M so growth capex=$388M; maintenance capex=$2,178M. OE=$17,037M; diluted shares=1,058M; OE/sh=$16.10. Cash interest paid=$1,269M ($1.20/sh) is added back only when valuing. UPDATED from $12.86: the prior figure used total capex and did not remove working-capital swings (a different basis); recomputed on the current basis for a consistent series. Source: 0000354950-22-000070 (FY2021 10-K; line items per FY2022 10-K 0000354950-23-000059).
2020 $11.98 ▼
Fiscal 2020. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$18,839M; working capital cash effect=$3,592M (receivables -465; merchandise inventories -1,657; other current assets 43; accounts payable and accrued expenses 5,118; deferred revenue 702; income taxes payable -149; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$310M; capex=$2,463M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $132,110M vs prior $110,225M so growth capex=$445M; maintenance capex=$2,018M. OE=$12,919M; diluted shares=1,078M; OE/sh=$11.98. Cash interest paid=$1,241M ($1.15/sh) is added back only when valuing. Source: 0000354950-21-000089 (FY2020 10-K).
2019 $10.29 ▼
Fiscal 2019. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$13,687M; working capital cash effect=$-488M (receivables -170; merchandise inventories -593; other current assets -135; accounts payable and accrued expenses 32; deferred revenue 334; income taxes payable 44; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$251M; capex=$2,678M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $110,225M vs prior $108,203M so growth capex=$41M; maintenance capex=$2,637M. OE=$11,287M; diluted shares=1,097M; OE/sh=$10.29. Cash interest paid=$1,112M ($1.01/sh) is added back only when valuing. Source: 0000354950-21-000089 (FY2020 10-K comparative column, restated presentation; original FY2019 10-K 0000354950-20-000015).
2018 $9.75 ▼
Fiscal 2018. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$13,165M; working capital cash effect=$-560M (receivables 33; merchandise inventories -1,244; other current assets -257; accounts payable and accrued expenses 870; deferred revenue 80; income taxes payable -42; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$282M; capex=$2,442M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $108,203M vs prior $100,904M so growth capex=$149M; maintenance capex=$2,293M. OE=$11,150M; diluted shares=1,143M; OE/sh=$9.75. Cash interest paid=$1,035M ($0.91/sh) is added back only when valuing. Source: 0000354950-21-000089 (FY2020 10-K comparative column, restated presentation; original FY2018 10-K 0000354950-19-000010).
2017 $7.97 ▼
Fiscal 2017. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$12,031M; working capital cash effect=$554M (receivables 139; merchandise inventories -84; other current assets -10; accounts payable and accrued expenses 352; deferred revenue 128; income taxes payable 29; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$273M; capex=$1,897M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $100,904M vs prior $94,595M so growth capex=$128M; maintenance capex=$1,769M. OE=$9,435M; diluted shares=1,184M; OE/sh=$7.97. Cash interest paid=$991M ($0.84/sh) is added back only when valuing. Source: 0000354950-18-000019 (FY2017 10-K; working-capital lines from comparative columns of FY2019 10-K, accession 0000354950-20-000015).
2016 $6.74 ▼
Fiscal 2016. OE = CFO - working capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$9,783M; working capital cash effect=$-301M (receivables -138; merchandise inventories -769; other current assets -48; accounts payable and accrued expenses 446; deferred revenue 99; income taxes payable 109; cash-flow-statement signs, deferred income taxes and other operating activities left in); SBC=$267M; capex=$1,621M; capex ratio (mean capex/revenue FY2016-FY2025)=2.036%; revenue $94,595M vs prior $88,519M so growth capex=$124M; maintenance capex=$1,497M. OE=$8,320M; diluted shares=1,234M; OE/sh=$6.74. Cash interest paid=$924M ($0.75/sh) is added back only when valuing. Source: 0000354950-17-000005 (FY2016 10-K).

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States (South, West, Midwest and Northeast; all 50 states plus Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam), Canada (all provinces) and Mexico
Historical growth strategy
Grew by steadily opening big-box stores (about 2,359 today, with a plan for roughly 80 more by fiscal 2027 and 15 to 20 a year after), by investing in supply chain, online ordering and tool rental, and by buying businesses that serve professional contractors (Interline Brands, HD Supply, SRS Distribution, GMS and, announced March 2026, Mingledorff's). Funded from its own cash flow, paid a rising dividend, and repurchased shares heavily until pausing in March 2024 to pay down acquisition debt.
Chart analysis
A chartist would see a stock in a clear downtrend: it peaked near $358 in mid-August 2026 and has since fallen about 20%, making a series of lower highs and lower lows, and it sits roughly 29% below its level a year ago. The price is below both its 50-day average (about $321) and its 200-day average (about $339), with the shorter average under the longer one, a bearish alignment. Momentum is deeply oversold (RSI about 24), which often produces a bounce, but the recent low near $277 is the line that matters: a close below it would extend the decline with no nearby prior support, while a bounce would likely meet resistance first around the 50-day average near $320 and then the August high near $358. A durable reversal would need a close back above the 200-day average and a higher low.
Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of HD. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.