valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

First Guaranty Bancshares, Inc. (FGBI) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$2.60 ComplexityAverage Updated
$2.00 $14.50
bear $2.00 base $5.30 bull $14.50 margin of safety $2.60 market price* $8.22
Business condition attached to the margin of safety Non-performing assets keep falling from $95.5M (Dec 2025) with quarterly credit provisions running well below the 2025 level (about $10M a year or less), and no formal regulatory action or new capital-raising at a discount emerges.
First Guaranty Bancshares is the holding company for First Guaranty Bank, a Hammond, Louisiana bank with about $4.1 billion of assets and 30 branches across Louisiana, North Central Texas, Kentucky and West Virginia. It earns money on the spread between what it charges on loans and securities and what it pays on deposits, plus modest fees. Why the numbers look the way they do. 2025 was a bad year: a net loss of $56.0 million, driven by an $81.7 million credit provision (of which $43.4 million related to one commercial lease relationship, with total charge-offs of $77.2 million) and a $12.9 million goodwill write-down. Non-performing assets were $95.5 million (2.3% of assets), down from $120.4 million a year earlier, but still well above the bank's own history. The bank reported and remediated a control weakness in loan oversight during 2025, and its new auditor flagged the company's ability to stay adequately capitalized as an area of special audit attention, though it found no substantial doubt. Regulatory capital was still above 'well capitalized' at year-end, but the parent's leverage ratio (5.9%) is thin and the company has been paying part of its debt interest in shares and raising small amounts of equity privately, which dilutes owners. The first half of 2026 was profitable again ($6.2 million net income, roughly $0.31 per share), but the second-quarter 10-Q was not in our document set, so we lean on the annual report for the valuation. How we measured earnings. For a bank we start from operating cash flow, strip out swings in other assets and liabilities, and subtract the cost of new premises. Unlike a normal business, we also subtract the annual provision for credit losses: cash flow adds it back as 'non-cash', but for a lender it is the ordinary cost of loans going bad, so leaving it out would flatter every year. Preferred stock dividends of about $2.3 million a year are then deducted because they rank ahead of common owners. Stock-based pay is negligible and the goodwill write-down is a sunk acquisition cost, so both are left out of ongoing cost. Over 2016-2025 this owner-earnings measure ranged from about -$41 million (2025) to +$32 million (2022); the median year was about $7.6 million, or roughly $5.3 million to common owners after preferred dividends. That ten-year window covers two credit-stress episodes (2020 and 2024-25) and the balance-sheet doubling since 2019, so we treated it as a full cycle and did not exclude 2025. About $0.32 per current share (16.5 million shares) is our normal level; the recent quarters of modest profit are consistent with that or better, but we did not raise the level on three quarters of evidence. Base case, about $5.3 per share. Owner earnings to common holders of about $5.3 million a year, with no growth, valued at our fixed 6% rate. Latest-year owner earnings fell sharply (2025 versus 2024), so we assume no growth at all in year one; the step from a 2025 loss to a normal year is a return to earnings the bank has already produced, not growth. We credit no loan growth, margin recovery or acquisitions: net interest margin actually slipped to 2.28% in 2025 and nothing signed or under way secures an improvement. What persists after year ten is the 90-year deposit franchise across about 30 branches; we assume it keeps producing this level but not more. Bear case, about $2.0 per share. Credit costs absorb essentially all earnings for three more years (2023 and 2024 owner earnings were only about $1 million even before the 2025 blow-up; non-performing assets include $35 million of foreclosed property whose sale values are uncertain), followed by a permanently weaker level of about 60% of normal as deposit costs tied to Treasury-indexed public funds keep margins tight. Share count rises about 10% from continued private placements and interest paid in stock. The bank owes more than it can quickly repay on a stressed basis only if losses run far beyond this, which we do not build in. Bull case, about $14.5 per share. Non-performing assets keep shrinking as they did in 2025 (property already sold in January 2026), provisions return to the $2-4 million a year seen in 2021-2023, and owner earnings return to about $17 million a year before preferred dividends, well under the $28-32 million achieved in 2021-2022 on a smaller balance sheet. This is roughly one times the current common book value of about $12 per share. Margin-of-safety price. The margin-of-safety price is set with a very large margin (about half of the base value, close to the bear case) because of the thin capital ratios, ongoing dilution, unresolved problem assets and the size of the recent loss. Price alone is not enough: it applies only while the problem assets and provisions keep falling. What could make this wrong: the $51 million working-capital outflow in 2025 was not fully explained in the filing text we searched; if it reverses or was truly one-off, historic owner earnings are understated. Conversely, a second large loss on the remaining problem loans, or a formal regulatory capital requirement, would push value toward or below the bear case.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 -$2.90 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=-$8.280M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=-$51.116M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$42.836M); SBC $0; capex=$1.696M, revenue declined so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$1.696M; provision=$81.729M (of which $43.4M one commercial lease relationship); goodwill impairment $12.9M is non-cash and stays added back via CFO; OE=-$40.589M; diluted shares 13.99M; OE/sh=-$2.901. The $51.1M working-capital outflow was not fully explained in the filing text checked. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001408534-26-000021.
2024 -$0.08 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=$33.729M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=+$14.266M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$19.463M); SBC $0 (stock grants $0.334M non-cash in equity, treated as immaterial); capex=$3.044M, growth capex=$2.632M so maintenance capex=$0.412M; provision=$20.034M; OE=-$0.983M; diluted shares 12.50M; OE/sh=-$0.079. Sale-leaseback gain of $14.5M already excluded in CFO. Source: FY2024 10-K, accession 0001408534-25-000015.
2023 $0.13 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=$21.714M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=+$4.011M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$17.703M); SBC $0; capex=$14.855M (premises purchases), growth capex=$2.291M so maintenance capex=$12.564M; provision=$3.714M; OE=$1.425M; diluted shares 11.17M; OE/sh=$0.128. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0001408534-24-000021.
2022 $2.95 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=$36.865M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=+$0.179M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$36.686M); SBC $0; capex=$2.643M, growth capex=$1.240M so maintenance capex=$1.403M; provision=$3.656M; OE=$31.627M; diluted shares 10.72M; OE/sh=$2.950. Preferred dividends ($2.328M/yr from 2021) not deducted in the series (deducted from the anchor instead). Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001408534-23-000018.
2021 $2.67 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=$26.520M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=-$6.347M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$32.867M); SBC $0; capex=$2.204M, revenue declined so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$2.204M; provision=$2.055M; OE=$28.608M; diluted shares 10.72M; OE/sh=$2.669. Source: FY2021 10-K, accession 0001408534-22-000022.
2020 $0.66 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=$23.759M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=-$3.268M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$27.027M); SBC $0; capex=$6.313M, growth capex=$1.221M so maintenance capex=$5.092M; provision=$14.877M (pandemic reserve build); OE=$7.058M; diluted shares 10.72M; OE/sh=$0.658. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001408534-21-000014.
2019 $0.63 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=$29.078M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=+$6.349M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$22.729M); SBC $0; capex=$11.933M (branch/premises build-out and Union Bank acquisition year), growth capex=$0.810M so maintenance capex=$11.123M; provision=$4.860M; OE=$6.746M; diluted shares 10.67M (split-adjusted); OE/sh=$0.632. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001408534-20-000009.
2018 $1.69 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision. CFO=$26.889M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=+$4.184M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$22.705M); SBC $0 (immaterial); capex=$3.787M, growth capex=$0.388M so maintenance capex=$3.399M; provision=$1.354M; OE=$17.952M; diluted shares approx 10.6M (split-adjusted estimate); OE/sh=$1.694. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0001408534-19-000012.
2017 $0.77 ▼
Bank adaptation of OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex - provision for loan losses. CFO=$12.275M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=-$6.199M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$18.474M); SBC immaterial/not reported ($0); capex=$6.814M, growth capex=$0.393M (4.98% x revenue change $7.899M) so maintenance capex=$6.421M; provision=$3.822M; OE=$8.231M; diluted shares approx 10.7M (split-adjusted estimate); OE/sh=$0.769. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0001408534-18-000010.
2016 $1.06 ▼
Bank-holding-company adaptation of OE = CFO - working-capital movement - SBC - maintenance capex, with provision for loan losses ALSO deducted (a lender's recurring credit cost; CFO adds it back as non-cash). CFO=$22.212M; other-assets/liabilities cash effect=+$3.563M so removed (CFO less ΔWC=$18.649M); SBC not separately reported (immaterial, treated as $0); capex=$4.109M, capex/revenue mean(2016-25)=4.98% on revenue proxy (interest+noninterest income) $67.987M, growth capex=$0.147M so maintenance capex=$3.962M; provision=$3.705M; OE=$10.982M; diluted shares approx 10.4M (split/stock-dividend adjusted estimate); OE/sh=$1.056. Preferred dividends not deducted (none outstanding). Source: FY2016 10-K, accession 0001408534-17-000022 (share and figures cross-checked to later filings).

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
Louisiana (Southeast, Southwest, Central and North Louisiana), North Central Texas, Kentucky and West Virginia; South region of the United States
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.