valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

Select Water Solutions, Inc. (WTTR) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$1.50 ComplexityAverage Updated
-$0.40 $7.48
bear -$0.40 base $1.87 bull $7.48 margin of safety $1.50 market price* $18.58
Business condition attached to the margin of safety Trailing-twelve-month cash from operations before working-capital swings, minus stock-based pay and capital spending, is positive, showing the water-infrastructure build-out is finishing and spending is falling back toward maintenance levels.
Select Water Solutions serves oil and gas producers in the United States. It has three businesses. Water Infrastructure (22% of 2025 revenue, $313 million) owns the pipelines, water-recycling plants and saltwater disposal wells that handle the water that comes up with oil and gas. It is paid mostly by a fixed fee per barrel under long-term agreements that can include acreage dedications, minimum volume commitments and periodic price escalators. Water Services (56%, $787 million) is short-cycle fieldwork such as moving water between sites, water sourcing, fluids hauling, well testing and equipment rental, paid by day rate or job. Chemical Technologies (22%, $308 million) supplies fracturing and completion chemicals. How we measured earnings. We take cash from operations, remove swings in receivables, payables and prepaid items, subtract stock-based pay as a real cost, and subtract the capital spending needed to keep the business running. Growth spending is only separated out when revenue is rising, and revenue fell in 2024 and 2025, so all of that spending counts against earnings in those years. On this basis, owner earnings per share (about 120 million shares, including the roughly 16.2 million Class B shares because the cash flows we measure belong to the whole business, including the minority owners' share) were: 2018 $1.22, 2019 $0.36, 2020 -$0.28, 2021 $0.02, 2022 $1.27, 2023 $0.85, 2024 $0.27 and 2025 -$0.82. We start in 2018 because the 2017 share structure, with several classes of stock, is not comparable. Our starting level is the median of 2018 to 2025, about $0.32 per share. That window covers the 2019 to 2021 collapse, when revenue fell about 53% in 2020, the 2022 to 2023 recovery, and the recent heavy-spending years. The 2025 figure is weak because capital spending was $294.6 million (versus $173.2 million in 2024 and $135.9 million in 2023) against cash from operations of $214.7 million. About $205 million of the $277 million of segment-reported capital spending went into Water Infrastructure, and the company says it is continuing to drill new disposal wells and build new recycling facilities. Part of that is growth spending that our method cannot separate while revenue is falling, so the recent numbers likely understate ongoing earning power. We did not adjust for this, and the company does not disclose how much of the spending was maintenance. Year one versus the past. Owner earnings per share fell from $0.27 in 2024 to -$0.82 in 2025. We assume year one improves to -$0.59, not to the starting level, because the first half of 2026 shows a specific, measured improvement: cash from operations before working-capital swings was $159 million versus $116 million in the first half of 2025, net income was $29.6 million versus $18.9 million, and revenue was $762 million versus $739 million, while capital spending was $149 million versus $128 million. On our measure that half improved by roughly $14 million, or about $28 million a year, which is about $0.23 per share. What each case assumes. Base case, $1.87 per share: owner earnings of -$0.59 in year one, roughly break-even in year two, then $0.32 a year through year ten, fading straight-line to zero over years eleven to twenty. We credit the return to $0.32 because the business has cut spending sharply before when activity fell (capital spending went from $110 million in 2019 to $21 million in 2020 and $40 million in 2021) and has produced about this level of earnings across the cycle. We credit no growth on top. The Water Infrastructure agreements signed in 2025 that begin in 2026 are real, but the annual report gives no revenue or volume figures for them, so they are left out. The fade reflects that the annual report does not disclose how long the agreements run. Bull case, $7.48: the same year one, then spending falls to the 2023 maintenance level of $117 million and cash earnings hold at 2025's $217 million plus the first-half 2026 improvement of $43 million, less about $28 million of stock-based pay. That gives about $0.95 a year from year two, faded from year eleven. This is what happens if the current build-out finishes and the first-half 2026 gains stick. Bear case, -$0.40 (roughly $48 million below zero in total): a repeat of 2025 in year one (-$0.82), a 2020-style downturn in year two (-$0.28), a 2021-style year three ($0.02), then only $0.09 a year. That last figure is about $0.22 (the average of the weak-but-positive years 2019, 2021 and 2024) less about $0.13 for the higher interest bill: annual net interest cost has risen to $23.2 million from $7.0 million after the January 2025 refinancing into a $250 million term loan and a $300 million revolving facility, and the term loan begins to repay in quarterly installments of $15.6 million. E&P mergers and fewer fracturing crews, both cited in the annual report, hit Water Services first. In this case the business uses more cash than it earns for several years and the shares are worth about nothing on earnings alone. The company also holds about $912 million of net property and equipment, which we do not credit because we cannot name an acquirer or price. What we left out. We did not credit the $72.1 million investment in AV Farms (Colorado water rights and farmland, with up to $74 million more expected) because it has no earnings yet. The evaluation of strategic alternatives for the Peak Rentals equipment business is not assumed to produce anything. Acquisitions such as Omni (July 2025), a Bakken landfill and disposal platform, count only through results that have already arrived. What would make this wrong. Upside: if the 2025 investments start paying off faster than the first half of 2026 suggests, or the term loan is repaid from cash rather than borrowing, the bull case is nearer. Downside: first-half 2026 capital spending of $149 million is still running near 2025's pace, so spending may not fall as we assume, and about 56% of revenue is in short-cycle services, which shrank 12.8% in 2025 (partly from the sale of trucking operations in the Omni transaction). Margin-of-safety price. The margin-of-safety price is $1.50 per share, and it applies only once trailing cash from operations less capital spending (excluding stock-based pay) turns positive. If earnings restart at $0.32 immediately, our value is about $3.00, and the margin-of-safety price is half of that, reflecting a capital-hungry, leveraged, oil-cycle business.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 -$0.82 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=$214.673M; WC=-$1.856M (AR +16.113, prepaid +11.825, AP/accrued -29.794); SBC=$19.875M; capex=$294.562M; revenue declined ($1,407.344M) so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$294.562M; OE=-$97.908M; shares=120.005M (A 103.784M + B 16.221M); OE/sh=-$0.8159. Reconciliation: NI 21.467 + D&A 179.818 + other non-cash 15.244 + WC -1.856 = CFO 214.673 (exact). Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001104659-26-017085.
2024 $0.27 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=$234.886M; WC=+$3.459M (AR +46.883, prepaid -14.590, AP/accrued -28.834); SBC=$26.358M; capex=$173.153M; revenue declined ($1,452.075M) so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$173.153M; OE=$31.916M; shares=118.415M (A 102.194M + B 16.221M); OE/sh=$0.2695. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001104659-26-017085.
2023 $0.85 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=$285.355M; WC=+$49.254M (AR +102.300, prepaid -6.729, AP/accrued -46.317); SBC=$17.369M; capex=$135.866M; revenue $1,585.353M vs $1,387.420M so growth capex=$18.479M, maintenance capex=$117.387M; OE=$101.345M; shares=119.586M (A 103.365M + B 16.221M); OE/sh=$0.8475. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001104659-26-017085.
2022 $1.27 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=$33.231M; WC=-$138.323M (AR -162.257, prepaid +1.229, AP/accrued +22.705); SBC=$15.570M; capex=$71.884M; revenue $1,387.420M vs $764.620M so growth capex=$58.146M, maintenance capex=$13.738M; OE=$142.246M; shares=112.210M (A 95.989M + B 16.221M); OE/sh=$1.2677. Sources: FY2023 10-K 0001558370-24-001437; FY2022 10-K 0001558370-23-001765.
2021 $0.02 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=-$16.248M; WC=-$52.535M (AR -80.127, prepaid -15.154, AP/accrued +42.746); SBC=$9.469M; capex=$39.994M; revenue $764.620M vs $605.105M so growth capex=$14.893M, maintenance capex=$25.101M; OE=$1.717M; shares=103.497M (A 87.275M + B 16.221M); OE/sh=$0.0166. Sources: FY2023 10-K 0001558370-24-001437; FY2022 10-K 0001558370-23-001765 (shares).
2020 -$0.28 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=$105.810M; WC=+$107.658M (AR +142.873, prepaid +14.886, AP/accrued -50.101); SBC=$5.764M; capex=$21.239M; revenue declined ($605.105M) so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$21.239M; OE=-$28.851M; shares=101.380M (A 85.159M + B 16.221M); OE/sh=-$0.2846. Sources: FY2020 10-K 0001558370-21-001620; FY2022 10-K 0001558370-23-001765 (shares).
2019 $0.36 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=$203.948M; WC=+$40.190M (AR +57.908, prepaid +11.321, AP/accrued -29.039); SBC=$15.485M; capex=$110.143M; revenue declined ($1,291.589M) so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$110.143M; OE=$38.130M; shares=104.478M (A 80.671M + B 23.807M); OE/sh=$0.3650. Sources: FY2020 10-K 0001558370-21-001620; FY2019 10-K 0001558370-20-001327.
2018 $1.22 ▼
OE = CFO - WC - SBC - maintenance capex. Capex ratio = mean(capex/revenue) over 2018-2025 = 9.34%; growth capex = ratio x (revenue_t - revenue_t-1) if positive. WC = cash effect of receivables, prepaid/other assets, and payables/accrued liabilities per cash-flow statement. CFO=$232.409M; WC cash effect=+$6.651M (AR +36.537, prepaid -9.115, AP/accrued -20.771); SBC=$10.371M; capex=$165.360M; revenue $1,528.930M vs $692.491M so growth capex=$78.092M, maintenance capex=$87.268M; OE=$128.119M; diluted shares=104.629M (Class A 72.642M + Class B 31.986M); OE/sh=$1.2245. Sources: FY2020 10-K accession 0001558370-21-001620 (cash flow), FY2019 10-K accession 0001558370-20-001327 (shares).

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States only. Oilfield water and chemical services sold to oil and gas producers in the Permian Basin (West Texas and southeastern New Mexico), the Bakken (North Dakota and Montana), the Haynesville (including East Texas), the Northeast (including Ohio), the Rockies, the Eagle Ford (South Texas) and the Mid-Continent.
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.