valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

Embassy Bancorp, Inc. (EMYB) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$16.00 ComplexitySimple Updated
$15.00 $33.00
bear $15.00 base $27.00 bull $33.00 margin of safety $16.00 market price* $21.25
Embassy Bancorp is the holding company for Embassy Bank for the Lehigh Valley, a community bank with ten branches in eastern Pennsylvania (about $1.8 billion of assets). It earns money on the spread between what it charges on loans, largely to local businesses and real-estate owners, and what it pays for deposits. Its results are tied to one region and to the interest-rate cycle. How we measured earnings: we started from operating cash flow, removed swings in accrued interest and other working-capital items, and subtracted a maintenance level of capital spending on branches and equipment (small, about $0.5 to 2 million a year). The company reports no meaningful stock compensation. Per-share owner earnings over 2016 to 2025 rose from about $1.07 to $1.66, with a peak of $2.39 in 2022 and a trough of $1.20 in 2024, when funding costs rose and squeezed margins. We anchor on the median of 2021 to 2025, about $1.65 per share, because that window covers both the low-rate and high-rate environments. 2023 was flattered by a large rise in interest owed to depositors that had not yet been paid in cash, which we removed as a working-capital effect. Last year's owner earnings grew about 39% from the depressed 2024 base; we do not extend that rebound, and year one of the base case starts at 3% growth from the anchor, below that rate. Base case (about $27 per share): earnings grow 3% in year one, tapering to zero by year ten. That growth is the steady retention of profit in a bank that has grown net income from $7.1 million (2016) to $13.7 million (2025) through a full rate cycle, funded from its own capital. We give no credit for new markets, acquisitions or margin expansion. After year ten we let earnings decay 2% a year, since nothing specific guarantees a local franchise lasts forever. Bear case (about $15): earnings stay at the 2024 trough level of about $1.20 and never recover, then decay 3% a year after year ten. The named risks are a single-region loan book concentrated in local real estate, and deposit-cost pressure as seen in 2023 and 2024. Bull case (about $33): earnings return to roughly the 2021 level of $1.90 and grow about 4% tapering to zero, using the bank's own demonstrated record; 2022 showed $2.39 is reachable. Anything beyond that would be speculation. What could make this wrong: a credit loss cycle in Lehigh Valley commercial real estate, or a prolonged margin squeeze, would push results toward or below the bear case. Our figures rely on per-share counts that are approximate for 2016 to 2020, which has little effect on the anchor. Reported half-year 2026 cash flow ($8.0 million) is running ahead of 2025's first half, supporting the anchor, but is not used to set it. Because the outlook depends on one local economy and rates, the margin-of-safety price carries a substantial cushion to the bear case.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $1.66 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$12,833K; WC cash effect (accrued interest receivable, other assets, interest payable, other liabilities)=$(344)K so removed adds back; SBC not separately reported (immaterial, $0); capex=$632K, growth capex ~$130K (capex/interest-income ratio ~2.0% x revenue growth) so maintenance capex=$502K; OE=$12,675K; diluted shares=7.633M; OE/sh=$1.66. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001449794-26-000003.
2024 $1.20 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$9,944K; WC cash effect=$240K; SBC=$0 (not reported); capex=$739K, growth capex ~$156K so maintenance capex=$583K; OE=$9,121K; diluted shares=7.614M; OE/sh=$1.20. Source: FY2024 10-K, accession 0001449794-25-000002.
2023 $1.60 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$19,498K; WC cash effect=$6,682K (mostly $6,858K rise in interest payable as deposit rates rose); SBC=$0; capex=$806K, growth capex ~$135K so maintenance capex=$671K; OE=$12,145K; diluted shares=7.600M; OE/sh=$1.60. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0001449794-24-000003.
2022 $2.39 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$19,911K; WC cash effect=$1,164K; SBC=$0; capex=$719K, growth capex ~$58K so maintenance capex=$661K; OE=$18,086K; diluted shares=7.571M; OE/sh=$2.39. Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0001449794-23-000007.
2021 $1.90 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$15,249K; WC cash effect=$(569)K; SBC=$0; capex=$1,512K, growth capex ~$64K so maintenance capex=$1,448K; OE=$14,370K; diluted shares=7.555M; OE/sh=$1.90. Source: FY2021 10-K, accession 0001449794-22-000005.
2020 $1.69 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$13,634K; WC cash effect=$(1,025)K; SBC=$0; capex=$1,983K, growth capex ~$29K so maintenance capex=$1,954K; OE=$12,705K; diluted shares ~7.50M (approx.); OE/sh=$1.69. Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0001449794-21-000005.
2019 $1.53 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$14,303K; WC cash effect=$2,163K; SBC=$0; capex=$778K, growth capex ~$83K so maintenance capex=$695K; OE=$11,445K; diluted shares ~7.50M (approx.); OE/sh=$1.53. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0001449794-20-000002.
2018 $1.51 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$12,838K; WC cash effect=$568K; SBC=$0; capex=$1,019K, growth capex ~$92K so maintenance capex=$927K; OE=$11,343K; diluted shares ~7.50M (approx.); OE/sh=$1.51. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0001449794-19-000002.
2017 $1.28 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$10,421K; WC cash effect=$395K; SBC=$0; capex=$491K, growth capex ~$75K so maintenance capex=$416K; OE=$9,610K; diluted shares ~7.50M; OE/sh=$1.28. Source: FY2017 10-K, accession 0001449794-18-000002.
2016 $1.07 ▼
OE = CFO - dWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$9,203K; WC cash effect=$659K; SBC=$0; capex=$581K, growth capex ~$41K so maintenance capex=$540K; OE=$8,004K; diluted shares ~7.50M (approx.); OE/sh=$1.07. Source: FY2016 10-K, accession 0001449794-17-000005.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania (Northampton and Lehigh Counties), United States Northeast
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.