valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

GRAFTECH INTERNATIONAL LTD (EAF) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$7.00 ComplexityAverage Updated
-$38.00 $76.00
bear -$38.00 base $4.00 bull $76.00 margin of safety $7.00 market price* $7.10
Business condition attached to the margin of safety Two consecutive quarters of positive operating cash flow (after interest) AND the December 2029 first-lien term loans and second-lien notes refinanced or extended to 2031 or later without creditors receiving a majority of the common equity.
GrafTech makes graphite electrodes, the consumable rods that conduct electricity into electric-arc furnaces that melt scrap steel. It runs three electrode plants in Monterrey (Mexico), Calais (France) and Pamplona (Spain) with about 178,000 metric tons of capacity, and it owns the Seadrift, Texas plant that makes petroleum needle coke, the critical raw material most competitors must buy. Sales in 2025 were $504 million: about 54% in the Americas, 39% in Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and 6% in Asia Pacific. This business swings with electrode prices. After a needle-coke shortage in 2017-2018, GrafTech signed three-to-five-year contracts at roughly $9,700-$10,000 per ton. That produced more than $900 million of cash in 2018 and $350-450 million a year through 2022. Those contracts have run out. The company now sells at spot prices: its average price was about $4,100 per ton in 2025, down 13% from 2024. Cheap capacity in China and India keeps pushing prices down. Management itself calls industry pricing "unsustainably low" and says competitors cut prices even harder in late 2025. Sales volume rose 6% to 109,000 tons and the plants ran at 63% of capacity, but owner earnings have been negative for three straight years: about -$3.48 a share in 2023, -$4.68 in 2024 and -$4.83 in 2025. Operating cash flow was another -$84 million in the first half of 2026. How we measure earnings: we start with operating cash flow, take out working-capital swings and stock pay, and subtract capital spending. We treat all capital spending as upkeep because capacity has not grown in ten years. A 2023 goodwill write-off of $171 million is not cash and is ignored. Before interest, the business turned out about -$32 million of cash in both 2024 and 2025. That is roughly break-even at the operating level, and the roughly $90 million a year of interest is what turns it into a large loss. The debt decides the outcome for shareholders. At the end of 2025 GrafTech owed $1.125 billion: a $175 million first-lien term loan, $498 million of 4.625% second-lien notes, $446 million of 9.875% second-lien notes, and about $6 million of leftover 2028 notes. Almost all of it comes due in December 2029. In the first half of 2026 it drew the $100 million delayed-draw term loan to fund losses, which pushed debt to about $1.23 billion against $145 million of cash. The term loans cost about 9.9% and the 9.875% notes cost well above what long-term money costs. Even after crediting the cheap 4.625% notes, the debt is worth more to its holders than its face value. And a company this leveraged would almost certainly pay more than today's blended rate to refinance in 2029. Counting that, we treat what shareholders owe ahead of them as about $1.29 billion. Liquidity was $340 million at the end of 2025, and at 2025-2026 burn rates the cushion runs out around the 2029 maturity unless prices recover first. The revolving credit line also has a 4.0x first-lien leverage covenant that limits how much more the company can borrow. Base case: the business is worth about $1.4 billion, owes about $1.29 billion, which leaves about $4 a share. We assume the trough lasts through 2027, with cash before interest of about -$45 million in 2026 and -$20 million in 2027. After that, prices recover partway, and by 2030 the business earns about $100 million a year before interest and holds that level. We think that recovery is supported by three facts. The industry has had price cycles before; the 2015-2016 collapse was followed by a recovery. Today's prices are below what management says competitors can sustain. And since the end of 2023 GrafTech has cut its cash production cost per ton by 31%, so a price of about $5,000-$5,200 per ton, below what it earned on the spot market in 2023, would produce that $100 million. We do not credit market-share gains, battery-anode needle-coke demand, or the 5-10% volume growth management expects for 2026. None of these is contracted, though 65% of 2026 volume was already in the order book in February. The plants and Seadrift do not wear out on any schedule, so we let that level continue indefinitely. Even so, almost all of the business value is used up by the debt. That is why the base value is so small and so sensitive: every $10 million a year of lasting cash flow is worth about $5 a share. Bear case: the business is worth about $300 million, owes about $1.29 billion, which leaves about -$38 a share. Prices stay near today's levels through the 2029 maturities because Chinese and Indian capacity stays in the market and the U.S. and EU anti-dumping duties the company relies on are cut back at a periodic review, a risk the company flags itself. On top of that comes one steel downturn of the kind seen in 2008-2009 or 2015-2016, when electric-arc steel output and electrode prices fell together. The business settles at about $30 million a year before interest. On that path the company owes far more than it is worth, by roughly $1 billion, and the 2029 debt cannot be refinanced as it stands. Creditors would take most or all of the company in a restructuring. In practice the shares would be worth little or nothing; the negative figure shows how far short the business falls of covering its debt. Bull case: the business is worth about $3.2 billion, owes about $1.19 billion, which leaves about $76 a share. Prices recover to about $6,000 per ton by 2028, the spot level reached in 2022. The shift of volume toward U.S. customers keeps going, utilization rises toward 75-80%, and the lower cost base holds. Cash before interest reaches about $220 million a year by 2029, below 2021-2022 levels because no premium contracts are assumed. The 2029 debt then refinances on ordinary terms without issuing shares. Previous figures: our earlier estimate assumed a large share issue in the base case and did not subtract the debt the way it is done here, so those figures are not directly comparable. What has changed in the business since then: the first-half 2026 results confirmed that the cash burn is continuing, and the company has now used its $100 million delayed-draw loan to fund it. How sure are we of the earnings level? Not very. For four years the business has not earned enough before interest to cover its interest, and the 2018-2022 boom came from contracts that cannot be repeated. The worst plausible outcome is a 2029 restructuring in which creditors take the company, and given the size of the debt the equity would not survive that. What we are most likely to be wrong about: the recovered price (each $500 a ton is roughly $55-60 million of cash a year, or about $25 a share), how long the trough lasts, and the terms of the 2029 refinancing. Nothing is paid out while waiting. There is no dividend, and dilution is a real risk. As things stand, the shares are a call option on an industry recovery arriving before 2029, and price alone does not justify a margin-of-safety price. If cash flow turns positive for two straight quarters and the 2029 debt is pushed out without handing most of the company to lenders, the equity would be worth roughly $12-16 on the base recovery, with real upside if prices return toward 2022 levels. From $7 under those conditions, the base recovery alone implies roughly doubling over an assumed holding period of about four years, and the bull path implies several times that. That is why the margin-of-safety price is $7, applying only once those conditions are met. Items we could not fully reconcile: stock pay was not separately reported before 2019 and was treated as zero for those years. The working-capital build in the first half of 2026 could not be separated from the operating loss in the data available, so we used the full-year 2025 run rate rather than that half-year. GrafTech also owes its former private-equity owner, Brookfield, 85% of certain tax savings under a tax receivable agreement. This only costs money once the company is profitable enough to use its tax losses, and we did not deduct it, which slightly flatters the bull case.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 -$4.83 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=-$81.616M; net change in working capital=+$0.025M (removed, subtracted); SBC=$4.952M; capex=$38.885M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat ~178,000 MT capacity; capacity utilization only 63% in 2025 vs 55% in 2024, so no capacity expansion). OE = -81.616-0.025-4.952-38.885 = -$125.478M. Diluted shares=26,004,964 (post 1-for-10 reverse split effective 8/29/2025). OE/sh=-$4.83. Cash fell from $256.2M to $138.4M during 2025 (total liquidity incl. revolver/delayed-draw availability $340.0M at YE2025, down from $464.2M at YE2024); interim H1-2026 data shows the operating cash burn continuing at a similar-to-worse pace. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0000931148-26-000017.
2024 -$4.68 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=-$40.093M; net change in working capital=+$40.254M (removed, subtracted); SBC=$6.035M; capex=$34.309M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat capacity; revenue also declined y/y, which independently implies zero growth capex). OE = -40.093-40.254-6.035-34.309 = -$120.691M. Diluted shares (restated for 1-for-10 reverse split)=25,766,825. OE/sh=-$4.68. Source: FY2024 10-K, accession 0000931148-25-000028.
2023 -$3.48 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$76.561M; net change in working capital=+$107.562M (removed, subtracted); SBC=$4.433M; capex=$54.040M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat capacity). OE = 76.561-107.562-4.433-54.040 = -$89.474M. CFO also reflects a $171.117M non-cash goodwill impairment, correctly added back automatically via the CFO-based approach (economic read-through carried in the growth path/bear case, not the earnings level). Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split, restated)=25,710,929. OE/sh=-$3.48. First full year of pure spot-market (post-LTA) pricing. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000931148-24-000021.
2022 $13.52 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$324.628M; net change in working capital=-$99.575M (removed, added back +99.575M); SBC=$2.311M; capex=$72.165M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat capacity). OE = 324.628+99.575-2.311-72.165 = $349.727M. Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split, restated)=25,879,123. OE/sh=$13.52. Last year with residual LTA-era benefit before full reversion to spot pricing. Source: FY2022 10-K, accession 0000931148-23-000035.
2021 $14.44 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$443.040M; net change in working capital=-$16.377M (removed, added back +16.377M); SBC=$16.631M; capex=$58.257M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat capacity). OE = 443.040+16.377-16.631-58.257 = $384.529M. Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split, restated)=26,631,719. OE/sh=$14.44. Independent reconciliation check (NI+D&A+other non-cash-maint capex) landed within ~2% of this CFO-based figure. Source: FY2021 10-K, accession 0000931148-22-000027.
2020 $16.37 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$563.646M; net change in working capital=+$86.438M (removed, subtracted); SBC=$2.665M; capex=$36.075M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat capacity). OE = 563.646-86.438-2.665-36.075 = $438.468M. Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split, restated)=26,793,064. OE/sh=$16.37. LTA contracts still provided meaningful pricing support this year (partial roll-off). Source: FY2020 10-K, accession 0000931148-21-000035.
2019 $27.22 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$805.316M; net change in working capital=-$47.687M (removed, added back +47.687M); SBC=$2.146M; capex=$64.103M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat capacity). OE = 805.316+47.687-2.146-64.103 = $786.754M. Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split, restated)=28,907,460. OE/sh=$27.22. Still substantially LTA-pricing driven; treated as non-recurring for anchor purposes. Source: FY2019 10-K, accession 0000931148-20-000024.
2018 $31.78 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$836.603M (peak of the graphite-electrode long-term-agreement pricing supercycle, contract prices ~$9,700-10,000/MT); net change in working capital=-$177.754M (removed, added back +177.754M); SBC=$0 (not separately broken out; some minor post-IPO equity comp may sit within 'other charges, net' of $15.761M, immaterial to this scale); capex=$68.221M, treated fully as maintenance capex (capacity flat at ~178,000 MT; no capacity expansion occurred). OE = 836.603+177.754-0-68.221 = $946.136M. Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split, restated)=29,775,377. OE/sh=$31.78. Note: this year's earning power reflects locked-in long-term contract (LTA) pricing that has since fully rolled off and is treated as non-recurring for anchor purposes; excluded from consideration as a normal run rate. Source: FY2018 10-K, accession 0000931148-19-000009.
2017 $0.73 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$36.573M; net change in working capital (reconciliation line)=-$20.004M (removed, i.e. added back +20.004M); SBC=$0 (not separately disclosed pre-2019); capex=$34.664M, treated fully as maintenance capex (flat ~178,000 MT capacity throughout 2016-2025, so capex-ratio growth-capex split would misattribute price-driven revenue swings as capacity growth). Also embedded in CFO: a $122.75M non-cash long-lived asset impairment, correctly added back automatically via the CFO-based approach. OE = 36.573+20.004-0-34.664 = $21.913M. Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split, restated)=30,222,592. OE/sh=$0.73. Source: FY2018 10-K (accession 0000931148-19-000009), FY2017 comparative column.
2016 -$2.44 ▼
OE = CFO - ΔWC - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$22.815M; Net change in working capital (as reported in CFO reconciliation)=+$68.630M (removed); SBC=$0 (not separately disclosed pre-2019, immaterial pre-IPO); capex=$27.858M. Judgment call: GrafTech's graphite electrode production capacity (~178,000 MT) has been essentially unchanged across the entire 2016-2025 period per the FY2025 10-K capacity-utilization disclosure, so revenue swings in this business are price-driven, not volume/capacity driven; the standard capex-ratio growth/maintenance split would misattribute price-driven revenue growth as needing proportional new capacity, so all reported capex is treated as maintenance capex. Maintenance capex=$27.858M. OE = 22.815 - 68.630 - 0 - 27.858 = -$73.673M. Diluted shares (post 1-for-10 reverse split effective 8/29/2025, as retroactively restated)=30,222,592. OE/sh = -$2.44. Source: FY2018 10-K (accession 0000931148-19-000009), FY2016 comparative column.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
North America (United States - Northeast, Midwest, South and West; Mexico; Canada), Latin America (Brazil), Europe (Spain, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Turkey), Middle East, Africa, Asia Pacific (Japan, South Korea). 2025: Americas about 54% of sales, Europe/Middle East/Africa about 39%, Asia Pacific about 6%.
Historical growth strategy
Grows mainly through the commodity cycle rather than adding capacity: graphite electrode capacity has been held at roughly 178,000 metric tons for a decade, and earnings rise and fall with electrode prices. In the 2018 shortage it locked customers into 3-5 year take-or-pay contracts at peak prices, using the cash to pay a special dividend to its private-equity owner and buy back shares. It relies on vertical integration into petroleum needle coke at its Seadrift, Texas plant for cost and quality advantage, shifts volume toward higher-priced regions (especially the United States), cuts production cost, and leans on U.S. and European anti-dumping duties against Chinese and Indian imports. Acquisitions have not been a meaningful part of its growth in recent years.
Chart analysis
A chartist would describe a multi-year primary downtrend: after the 2018 IPO the shares peaked within months, then made a long series of lower highs and lower lows through 2024 as electrode prices collapsed, eventually falling far enough that a 1-for-10 reverse split was needed in August 2025 to keep the NYSE listing. Since then the stock has traded in a choppy, range-bound base near multi-year lows on heavy dilution and leverage concerns. A technician would want to see a breakout above the post-split range highs and the 200-day moving average on rising volume before calling a trend change; until then the long-term trend remains down.
Competitors

Companies we consider competitors of EAF. Tap a ticker to open our analysis of that company in a new tab.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.