-$4.75
$1.00
bear -$4.75
base -$1.48
bull $1.00
margin of safety $0.40
market price* $3.02
Business condition attached to the margin of safety
A full fiscal year of positive owner earnings after interest (roughly $70 million or more of cash before interest after sustaining capital spending), together with the March 2028 credit facility being refinanced or extended on terms that do not require new share issuance.
Krispy Kreme makes and sells fresh doughnuts through company-owned Hot Light Theater shops, "Hub and Spoke" production hubs that supply fresh shops and grocery, convenience and club-store delivery doors, and a franchise business. In 2025 the U.S. segment brought in $913 million of revenue, International (United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, Canada and, until its March 2, 2026 sale, Japan) $535 million, and franchise-led Market Development $75 million. The brand is nearly ninety years old and clearly durable. The problem is the economics of the company that owns it. What the business has actually earned. We measure owner earnings as cash from operations, stripped of working-capital swings, minus stock-based pay (a real cost) and minus the capital spending needed to keep the business as it is. On that basis Krispy Kreme lost money for shareholders every year from 2019 through 2025: from about -$0.03 per share (2022) to -$0.49 (2020), and -$0.43 in 2025. Before interest, which is how we value the business before its lenders, cash generation ranged from about -$27 million to +$30 million a year. The median over 2019-2025 was about $6 million, on revenue of $1.0-1.7 billion. Heavy spending on the Hub and Spoke build-out and the McDonald's USA rollout absorbed nearly everything the shops produced. Much of that spending was later written off. In 2025 the company recorded a $356 million goodwill impairment and $76 million of asset impairment and lease-termination charges. We add those non-cash charges back, since they record money already spent. The repeated destruction of capital is carried in the bear case instead. What has changed. 2025 and 2026 are a genuine reset, so earlier years describe a different company. The majority of Insomnia Cookies was sold in 2024 and the rest for $75 million in 2025. The McDonald's USA agreement ended July 2, 2025; the company puts that partnership's 2025 drag at $13-15 million. The Japan business was sold in March 2026. The minority partners in KK Canada exercised their right to be bought out, for about $20-25 million. U.S. deliveries are moving to third-party carriers. Capital spending fell from $120.8 million in 2024 to $97.9 million in 2025 and $16.1 million in the first half of 2026. New vehicle and equipment finance leases fell from $47.8 million in 2025 to $4.1 million in the first half of 2026. By our estimate the first half of 2026 produced about $42 million of cash before interest, capital spending and working capital, after charging stock pay. The first half is seasonally the weaker one. So the loss-making McDonald's program and much of the growth spending are gone. But revenue is still shrinking: first-half 2026 revenue was $698 million, down 7.5%, and some of that decline is sales that went out with the divested businesses. The cases. Each is valued at a 6% rate before debt, then the debt is subtracted. We credit no growth in any case. The company plans at least 100 new shops and three new countries a year through franchising, but revenue declined in 2024, in 2025 and again in the first half of 2026, and there is no multi-year record of self-funded growth to lean on. - Base: about $45 million a year of cash before interest (about $35 million in the first year). This is roughly $110-115 million of pre-capital-spending cash, consistent with the first half of 2026 plus a normal holiday-season second half, less about $65-70 million a year of sustaining capital spending and vehicle leases. That is above the $50-60 million of capital spending management plans for 2026, because depreciation running at about $90 million a year in 2026 shows what the asset base actually consumes. Business worth about $741 million. It owes about $996 million: $865 million of bank debt and finance leases at June 28, 2026, $92 million of card-based "structured payables" (bank credit the company reports as financing, at the last disclosed year-end balance), a small minority interest, and about $37 million for the extra cost of refinancing a leveraged borrower above 6%. Result: about -$256 million, or -$1.48 per share. On this path the company appears to owe roughly a quarter of a billion dollars more than the business is worth, and $45 million a year does not cover an interest bill of about $60 million. - Bull: the cost program works. The move to third-party delivery, fuller use of existing hubs and capital-light refranchising lift pre-interest cash to about $70 million a year, just enough to carry the debt. Business worth about $1.15 billion against about $979 million owed (a smaller refinancing penalty). Result: about $173 million, or $1.00 per share. - Bear: door and revenue losses continue, and deferred capital spending comes back. Cash before interest settles near $15 million a year, close to the 2019-2025 median. Business worth about $250 million against about $1.07 billion owed. That includes about $110 million for refinancing at distressed rates, since the bank leverage ratio was 4.4 times at the end of 2025 against a 5.0 times covenant, and the whole 2023 credit facility matures in March 2028. Result: about -$819 million, or -$4.75 per share. The company would owe far more than the business is worth, and a debt restructuring could leave shareholders with nothing. The shares appear to be worth nothing in the base case. They are worth about $1 only if the turnaround delivers roughly $70 million a year of cash before interest, a level this business has never reached. Two things would prove this view wrong: a full year of positive owner earnings after interest, or a refinancing of the March 2028 maturity on reasonable terms. Accounting notes. The company does not disclose cash interest paid, so we used reported net interest expense ($65.8 million in 2025) as the pre-lender add-back. We removed interest-rate swap settlement receipts from operating cash in 2022 and 2023 because they are financing items. We also removed a one-time 2019 tax receivable collected from a related party. We count structured payables and finance leases as debt, because the company presents them outside ordinary supplier payables. The Japan sale price was not disclosed in the annual report. The debt reduction it helped fund is reflected in the June 2026 balance sheet.