valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

Crimson Wine Group, Ltd (CWGL) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$1.60 ComplexityAverage Updated
$1.20 $5.50
bear $1.20 base $3.55 bull $5.50 margin of safety $1.60 market price* $4.23
Crimson Wine Group owns seven wine estates and brands, including Pine Ridge, Archery Summit, Chamisal, Seghesio Family Vineyards, Double Canyon and Seven Hills, with about 720 plantable acres (455 planted). Sales run through wholesale distributors (54% of 2025 sales), direct-to-consumer channels such as wine clubs and tasting rooms (41%), and other sources (5%). Sales have hovered between roughly $63 million and $74 million for a decade, and fell 11% to $65.1 million in 2025 as wholesale dropped 14% on lower volume and heavier discounting. How we measured earnings. We start from operating cash flow, remove swings in working capital, and deduct stock compensation and the capital spending needed to keep the vineyards and wineries running. Removing working capital matters here: Crimson has spent heavily on building up wine inventory (about $7.0 million in 2025 and $4.9 million in 2024) while sales were flat to falling, which is why operating cash flow was only $1.4 million in 2025. On our measure, owner earnings per share ranged from about $0.03 to $0.47 over 2018 to 2025. We use the median of those eight years, about $0.25 per share (roughly $5 million a year), and set aside 2016 and 2017 because heavy build-out spending in those years does not describe today's business. We do not use 2025's $0.47: it includes about $4.1 million of one-time settlements related to the 2017 and 2020 wildfires, and it depends on excluding a $12.2 million working-capital outflow. Growth check: owner earnings rose about 73% in 2025, but for the reasons above we start the first year at the anchor level with no growth, because nothing in the filings secures growth. Base case, about $3.55 per share. Owner earnings stay at about $0.25 per share for ten years, then drift down 2% a year, reflecting the decline in wholesale volume and in wine club and tasting room traffic that the 2025 filing reports. No growth is credited: revenue has been flat for ten years and there is no contract or backlog to point to. Our judgement is that the brands, owned vineyards and club customer base persist, but not that they grow. Bear case, about $1.20 per share. Owner earnings settle near $0.10 per share, roughly halfway between the weak 2019 result ($0.03) and 2022 ($0.16), and erode 5% a year after year ten. Named pressures: wholesale sales fell 14% in 2025, inventory write-downs rose to $2.1 million from $0.9 million, and inventory has kept building rather than selling through. Leverage also belongs here: the company carries term loans on its Pine Ridge and Double Canyon subsidiaries and, in February 2026, paid about $35.2 million for the Raeburn wine brand using cash and its revolving credit facility. In this case the brand does not earn back its financing cost. Bull case, about $5.50 per share. Owner earnings return to about $0.33 per share, the level reached in 2018 at similar sales ($67.8 million), and hold flat with no growth. We credit nothing beyond a level the business has already achieved. What we left out. The Raeburn acquisition is treated as neutral: we credit no earnings from it because the filing gives no financial results for the brand, and we charge no financing costs in the base case for the same reason. Interim results show first-half 2026 sales of $38.7 million versus $31.5 million a year earlier, but the company reported a small net loss in both periods, so it is not evidence of higher earnings. Growth from new products, share gains or a recovery in wine demand is not included in any case. We also do not subtract debt or add cash separately, since owner earnings are already after interest. What would make this wrong: if inventory keeps building without selling through, the working-capital exclusion overstates true earning power and value is closer to the bear case; if Raeburn earns well above its cost of funds, value is higher than shown. Not fully reconciled from the filings: the split of the 2025 wildfire settlements between operating cash flow and other income, and Raeburn's stand-alone profitability.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $0.47 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$1,419K; WC cash effect=$(12,194)K (inventory build $6,980K, AR $2,781K, other current assets $78K, AP & accrued (2,355)K) removed; SBC=$109K; capex=$3,921K; revenue declined ($65,085K vs $72,985K) so maintenance capex=$3,921K; OE=1,419+12,194-109-3,921=$9,583K; diluted shares=20,593K; OE/sh=$0.4654. Reconciliation: NI 613 + D&A 8,042 + other non-cash (ex-SBC) 4,737 - capex 3,921 = $9,471K, within 1.2% of OE. Includes ~$4.1M of one-time wildfire insurance/utility settlements; not used as anchor. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001628280-26-018796.
2024 $0.27 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$2,677K; WC cash effect=$(8,087)K (inventory build $4,942K, AR $1,544K, AP & accrued (1,914)K) removed; SBC=$(124)K reversal so +124K; capex=$5,369K; growth capex=10.96% x ($72,985K-$72,402K)=$64K so maintenance capex=$5,305K; OE=2,677+8,087+124-5,305=$5,583K; diluted shares=20,794K; OE/sh=$0.2685. Source: FY2025 10-K accession 0001628280-26-018796 (comparative).
2023 $0.18 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$5,953K; WC cash effect=$(7,365)K (inventory build $7,298K) removed; SBC=$497K; capex=$9,048K; revenue declined ($72,402K vs $74,244K) so maintenance capex=$9,048K; OE=5,953+7,365-497-9,048=$3,773K; diluted shares=21,307K; OE/sh=$0.1771. Source: FY2023 10-K accession 0001562151-24-000011.
2022 $0.16 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$7,493K; WC cash effect=$(3,520)K removed; SBC=$364K; capex=$7,573K; growth capex=10.96% x ($74,244K-$68,918K)=$584K so maintenance capex=$6,989K; OE=7,493+3,520-364-6,989=$3,660K; diluted shares=22,294K; OE/sh=$0.1642. Source: FY2022 10-K accession 0001562151-23-000004.
2021 $0.26 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$18,702K (restated figure in FY2022 10-K); WC cash effect=+$8,633K removed; SBC=$169K; capex=$4,506K; growth capex=10.96% x ($68,918K-$64,108K)=$527K so maintenance capex=$3,979K; OE=18,702-8,633-169-3,979=$5,921K; diluted shares=22,807K; OE/sh=$0.2596. Source: FY2022 10-K accession 0001562151-23-000004.
2020 $0.24 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$13,591K; WC cash effect=+$4,822K (inventory drawdown/other items net inflow) removed; SBC=$28K; capex=$3,103K; revenue declined ($64,108K vs $67,135K) so maintenance capex=$3,103K; OE=13,591-4,822-28-3,103=$5,638K; diluted shares=23,243K; OE/sh=$0.2426. Source: FY2020 10-K accession 0001562151-21-000031.
2019 $0.03 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$3,642K; WC cash effect=$(2,425)K (AR, inventory, other current assets, AP & accrued); SBC=$2K; capex=$5,355K; revenue declined ($67,135K vs $67,766K) so maintenance capex=$5,355K; OE=3,642+2,425-2-5,355=$710K; diluted shares=23,513K; OE/sh=$0.0302. Source: FY2020 10-K accession 0001562151-21-000031.
2018 $0.33 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$8,667K; WC cash effect=$(4,891)K (AR +3,304, inventory (2,364), other current assets +627 [inflow], AP & accrued +1,404 -> shown net; -(3,304+2,364+627)+1,404 per XBRL sign convention = -4,891); SBC not reported (0); capex=$6,087K; capex/revenue mean 2016-2025=10.96%; growth capex=10.96% x ($67,766K-$63,222K)=$498K so maintenance capex=$5,589K; OE=8,667+4,891-5,589=$7,969K; diluted shares=23,897K; OE/sh=$0.3335. Source: FY2018 10-K accession 0001562151-19-000011.
2017 $0.00 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$6,420K; WC cash effect=$(7,687)K (AR (1,073), inventory (8,856), other current assets (401), AP & accrued (305) -> net of signs); SBC not reported (0); capex=$13,995K; revenue declined ($63,222K vs $64,621K) so growth capex=$0, maintenance capex=$13,995K; OE=6,420+7,687-13,995=$112K; diluted shares=23,997K; OE/sh=$0.0047. Source: FY2018 10-K accession 0001562151-19-000011 (comparative), FY2017 10-K 0001562151-18-000013.
2016 $0.00 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$10,173K; WC cash effect=$(4,790)K (AR +1,292 inflow, inventory (7,279), other current assets +122, AP & accrued +1,075) so ΔWC removed adds back $4,790K; SBC not reported (0); capex=$14,929K; 2015 revenue not pulled so no growth capex carved out, maintenance capex=$14,929K (heavy build-out year, likely overstates maintenance); OE=$34K; diluted shares=24,124K; OE/sh=$0.0014. Source: FY2016 10-K accession 0001562151-17-000004 and FY2018 10-K 0001562151-19-000011.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States (all states, through nearly 40 distributors, plus direct-to-consumer wine clubs, tasting rooms and ecommerce); export to approximately 40 countries, including Canada and Europe
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis

We don't have chart analysis for this company yet.

Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.