valueequityanalysis.com

Independent, business-by-business valuations built from company filings — owner earnings, a ten-year outlook, and a bear / base / bull range. Search a ticker to see our estimate of what the business is worth.

Not investment advice. We are not registered investment advisers, and the people behind this site may hold or trade positions in companies analyzed here. Full disclosures.

Core Laboratories Inc. /DE/ (CLB) stock intrinsic value fair value estimate & owner earnings analysis

Margin of safety$3.50 ComplexityAverage Updated
$1.24 $8.62
bear $1.24 base $6.72 bull $8.62 margin of safety $3.50 market price* $10.00
Business condition attached to the margin of safety Operating income stops falling year over year for two consecutive quarters, showing the first-half 2026 margin drop was not the start of a lasting decline.
Core Laboratories (founded 1936) sells reservoir description and production enhancement services and products to oil and gas producers: core and reservoir-fluid analysis on rock and oil samples, well-completion diagnostic services and related products. It has over 70 offices in more than 50 countries and about 3,300 employees. No single customer is 10% or more of revenue. About two-thirds of revenue is earned outside the U.S. Services (roughly 76% of 2025 revenue of $526.5 million) follow international project activity; product sales ($127 million in 2025, down 6%) follow U.S. onshore well completions, which tracked a 6% fall in the U.S. land rig count. How we measured earning power. We started from operating cash flow, removed working-capital swings, subtracted stock compensation as a real cost, and subtracted maintenance capital spending (growth spending is tiny here, about 2.3% of revenue in total). Two judgements matter. First, the cash-flow statement shows credit-loss provisions and inventory write-offs as separate add-backs, while their offsetting effect sits inside the working-capital lines; we netted these so they are not counted twice (this lowers 2025 by about $5.7 million). We could not do the same for 2021-2022, where the split is not disclosed, so those years may be slightly generous. Second, capital spending excludes the insurance-funded rebuild of the Aberdeen, U.K. facility damaged by a 2024 fire. Owner earnings per diluted share were $0.53 (2021), $0.69, $0.58, $0.61 and $0.59 (2025). Because lenders are valued separately, we add back cash interest ($8.2 million in 2025) to get the cash the business produces before its lenders: $0.75, $0.89, $0.82, $0.84 and $0.76 per share. The median of 2021-2025 is $0.82, which we use as the normal level (the five years span the post-2020 recovery and two years of falling U.S. rig counts without a large distorting event; 2023-2025 alone gives the same median). Growth check: owner earnings per share fell about 3.6% in 2025; the base case does not assume a rebound in year 1 and starts lower. What has changed. Both quarters of 2026 have been weak: first-half revenue slipped 2.9% ($246.4M vs $253.7M) but operating income fell about 44% ($11.0M vs $19.7M), and first-half operating cash flow was $11.8M vs $20.6M. Two consecutive quarters of this kind is enough that we no longer treat the past level as safe. The annual report itself says the trend in industry activity is uncertain and that 2026 investment levels were undecided. We could not trace the cause of the margin drop to a specific disclosure, so the cases treat it as a partial, unexplained deterioration rather than assuming it reverses. What each case assumes (per-share business cash flow before interest, discounted at 6%): - Base: about $0.48 in the next twelve months, $0.60 the year after, then $0.70 a year (about 86% of the normal level, since the recent margin loss is not fully explained) held flat with no growth for 20 years, then fading to zero over another 20 years. The staying power rests on a 90-year record, global network and diversified customer base; no growth is credited because none is contracted. Business worth about $9.16 per share, owes about $2.43, leaving roughly $6.72. - Bear: about $0.42 then $0.38, holding at $0.38 (near the first-half 2026 pace) for 10 years with no recovery, then fading over 15 years, and debt refinanced about 1.5 points above today's cost. This reflects the disclosed U.S. rig-count declines (-13% in 2024, -6% in 2025) and the current margin trend. Business worth about $3.94 per share, owes about $2.70 including the refinancing cost, leaving roughly $1.24. - Bull: about $0.52 then $0.72, then a return to $0.85 (the level actually achieved in 2022-2024) held flat for 20 years and fading over 20. It requires nothing beyond the business re-earning its own recent record. Business worth about $11.05, owes about $2.43, leaving roughly $8.62. Left out: new-technology and carbon-capture-storage revenue, share gains, market recovery, and the effect of share buybacks ($12.4 million in 2025), none of which is contracted or an established repeating process. Debt. At June 30, 2026 the company had about $116.4 million of borrowings against $22.7 million of cash, and paid about $8.2 million of cash interest in 2025. A $45 million 2021 note was repaid on January 12, 2026 using a delayed-draw term loan. Remaining senior notes come due January 2028 ($15M) and June 2028 ($25M), and the credit facility matures July 2029 with earlier springing maturities in October 2027 and March 2028 unless liquidity covers those notes; roughly $136 million of borrowing capacity was available at the end of 2025. Year-end leverage was 1.1x and interest coverage 7.8x, both compliant. Effective borrowing cost is a little above 6%, which adds about $0.09 per share to the debt figure. We deduct about $0.13 per share for the minority owners of subsidiaries and treat about $10 million of cash as needed for operations. Even the bear case earns well over its interest bill. What would make this wrong: a quick return of margins to 2024-2025 levels (upside), a longer downturn in international project spending, or a further fall in the U.S. rig count. The 2025 working-capital outflow was larger than balance-sheet changes explain; we excluded it from the earnings figure, so weak cash conversion (receivables were about $109M at mid-2026) would lower value. Prior period accounting corrections disclosed in the 2025 annual report were described as immaterial and did not affect debt covenants.
Fiscal yearOwner's earningsMethodology
2025 $0.59 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$37,031K; WC movement per cash-flow statement=$(14,530)K, adjusted +$5,678K for credit-loss provision ($3,416K) and inventory write-off ($2,262K) that are added back separately in CFO, so net WC movement=$(8,852)K; SBC=$7,137K; capex=$11,209K (normal operations; excludes $3,380K insurance-funded Aberdeen rebuild), growth capex=2.29% x $2,672K=$61K so maintenance capex=$11,148K; OE=$27,598K; diluted shares=47,028K; OE/sh=$0.587. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001193125-26-118177.
2024 $0.61 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$56,388K; WC movement per cash-flow statement=+$7,879K, adjusted +$4,136K for credit-loss provision ($1,203K) and inventory write-off ($2,933K), so net WC movement=+$12,015K; SBC=$3,755K; capex=$11,888K (normal operations; excludes $1,140K insurance-funded Aberdeen rebuild), growth capex=2.29% x $14,058K=$322K so maintenance capex=$11,566K; OE=$29,052K; diluted shares=47,685K; OE/sh=$0.609. Source: FY2025 10-K, accession 0001193125-26-118177.
2023 $0.58 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$24,789K; WC movement per cash-flow statement=$(28,772)K, adjusted +$1,898K for credit-loss provision ($179K) and inventory write-off ($1,719K) that are added back separately in CFO, so net WC movement=$(26,874)K; SBC=$13,971K; capex=$10,579K, growth capex=2.29% x $20,055K=$459K so maintenance capex=$10,120K; OE=$27,572K; diluted shares=47,523K; OE/sh=$0.580. Source: FY2025 10-K (recast comparatives), accession 0001193125-26-118177.
2022 $0.69 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$24,956K; WC movement=$(25,019)K; SBC=$7,756K; capex=$10,216K, capex/revenue mean(2021-25)=2.29%, growth capex=2.29% x $19,483K revenue increase=$446K so maintenance capex=$9,770K; OE=$32,449K; diluted shares=46,813K; OE/sh=$0.693. Provisions/write-offs inside WC lines not separately disclosed for FY2022 and not adjusted. Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000950170-24-015483.
2021 $0.53 ▼
OE = CFO - WC movement - SBC - maintenance capex. CFO=$36,579K; WC movement (AR, inventories, prepaid, other assets, AP, accrued, unearned revenue, other liabilities per cash-flow statement)=$(20,563)K; SBC=$19,093K; capex=$13,539K (prior-year revenue not in filings so growth capex=$0; maintenance capex=$13,539K); OE=$24,510K; diluted shares=46,690K; OE/sh=$0.525. Provisions/write-offs inside WC lines not separately disclosed for FY2021 and not adjusted (may modestly overstate). Source: FY2023 10-K, accession 0000950170-24-015483.

Owner's earnings per share by fiscal year, most recent first. Tap a row to see how that figure was calculated, including the source filing.

Sales geography
United States (about 34% of revenue; services are booked where performed, including Houston, Texas work on projects located abroad) and about 66% outside the United States: Europe, Africa and the Middle East; Asia Pacific; Canada; the former Soviet Union region; and Latin and South America.
Historical growth strategy

We don't have historical growth strategy information for this company yet.

Chart analysis
We did not review a price history for this company, so this is a generic read. Core Laboratories is a cyclical oilfield-services stock, and a chartist would expect its price to follow the broad energy-services trend and swing with oil-price and drilling-activity sentiment. They would look at whether the shares are above or below the 200-day moving average and where prior lows have acted as support and prior highs as resistance. Sustained closes below long-term support would be read as a bearish break; a base of higher lows would be read as constructive.
Competitors

We don't have competitor information for this company yet.

Circle of competence

We don't have circle of competence information for this company yet.